Oracle's Curse (Tongues) + Command


Rules Questions


What happens with the above mentioned combination in play? If the spell is cast on a subject that doesn't understand the language the Oracle is speaking.

Command spell says that spell ends if the subject can't carry out the specified command. Does it also applies if the subject doesn't understand it or no?


If the spell is language dependent and the target doesn't understand the caster's language, then it won't work. Or at least it won't work as easily. I think Hideous Laughter gives a +5 bonus to saves if they don't understand "the joke".


Toadkiller Dog wrote:

What happens with the above mentioned combination in play? If the spell is cast on a subject that doesn't understand the language the Oracle is speaking.

Command spell says that spell ends if the subject can't carry out the specified command. Does it also applies if the subject doesn't understand it or no?

Command: School enchantment (compulsion) [language-dependent, mind-affecting]

[Descriptor]: A language-dependent spell uses intelligible language as a medium for communication. If the target cannot understand or cannot hear what the caster of a language-dependant spell says, the spell fails.

Hideous Laughter is not language-dependent, just mind-affecting.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Oracle's Curse (Tongues) + Command All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions