| Mauril |
So this alchemist discovery in Ultimate Magic has left me with some questions, particularly regarding using two-handed weapons while two-weapon fighting. For reference, here is the entirety of the discovery:
Vestigial Arm (Ex): The alchemist gains a new arm (left or
right) on his torso. The arm is fully under his control and
cannot be concealed except with magic or bulky clothing.
The arm does not give the alchemist any extra attacks or
actions per round, though the arm can wield a weapon
and make attacks as part of the alchemist’s attack routine
(using two-weapon fighting). The arm can manipulate or
hold items as well as the alchemist’s original arms (for
example, allowing the alchemist to use one hand to wield
a weapon, another hand to hold a potion, and the third
hand to throw a bomb). The arm has its own “hand” and
“ring” magic item slots (though the alchemist can still
only wear two rings and two hand magic items at a time).
An alchemist may take this discovery up to two times.
Okay, so for all intents and purposes, it's a fully functioning arms and hand. So, can I take this discovery once and then wield a two-handed weapon and a one-handed weapon for two-weapon fighting? If I take it twice, can I dual wield two-handed weapons? If so, what are the penalties? What about using two ranged weapons? Do you need four arms to do so, or just three (especially with crossbows)?
I like the possibilities of being able to wield a close weapon and a reach weapon without having to resort to dropping a hand on the reach weapon (thus not being able to actively attack with it) and punch them with a spiked gauntlet.
The black raven
|
1) Taken once, TWF with 2H-weapon and 1-H weapon : yes, you can. And the penalties are the usual penalties indicated on page 202 of the CRB, depending on whether the 1-H weapon is Light or not and whether you have the TWF feat (or rather the Multiweapon Fighting feat from the Bestiary, page 315 since you now have more than two hands).
2) Taken twice, TWF with two 2-H weapon : yes, you can. Penalties are -6 to primary attack and -10 to "off-hand" attack, unless you have the Multiweapon Fighting feat in which case the penalties are -4 to all attacks.
3) Using two ranged weapons : already possible with crossbows and only two hands (see page 202 of the CRB). Concerning bows, possible with 4 hands (as each bow requires 2 hands to use) and same penalties as 2) above, since Multiweapon Fighting makes no difference between ranged and melee attacks
4) Reach weapon and close weapon : armor spikes or Improved Unarmed Strike already allow you to effectively wield and use both a reach weapon and a close weapon at the same time with only 2 hands
| Phasics |
Can you cite a reference for your numbers for 2?
Also, what of wielding three or four weapons? How many extra attacks and at what penalties?
as per vestigle arm rules no extra attack for 3 and 4 weapon although if you have 3-4 weapons you can use all of them as part of a full attack action
i.e. if you have 4 attack total you could make one attack with each weapon
Not quite sure on what mixing with ferral mutagen would be though since you can mix natural and weapon attacks together
and with 2 extra arms you can be holding a 2h weapon and have 2 claws free to make those natural attacks ....
| Mauril |
With an extra arm would I be able to dual wield hand crossbows and with the proper reloading feats be able to fire both repeatedly?
Yes. I'm not certain you even need four hands to do that. I can see an interpretation that allows for one hand holding each crossbow and only needing a single free hand to reload both of them, only requiring three total hands. Not sure if that's intended, but I'm fairly certain that it is rules legal.