| Kolokotroni |
A simple question on the rule with Glitterdust. Does it effect my team? So if I'm in a group of enemies with my team I use Glitterdust will it blind them too?
Yes, anyone within the areas of effect will be affected by the spell, it can even blind you if you cast it on an area you are in.
Raymond Lambert
|
| 1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
I've been meaning to ask about this also.
Am I correct that the instance of glitter only occupies the area the moment it is cast? Not the whole duration? That is to say it is like fireball and people stay blinded in or out of the area on later turns and it is not like black tenticales where walking into that area later makes a new victim.
| Majuba |
I've been meaning to ask about this also.
Am I correct that the instance of glitter only occupies the area the moment it is cast? Not the whole duration? That is to say it is like fireball and people stay blinded in or out of the area on later turns and it is not like black tenticales where walking into that area later makes a new victim.
You have it correct - it is a burst spell in that area. Nothing walking in later will have to make a save, and things leaving the area stay glittery (and blind if they have failed the save).
| reefwood |
I used to think that creatures were only glittered and blinded when the spell was cast, and that the glitter on them and blindness lasted until the duration ended.
But now that I re-read it, it looks like the glitter cloud itself also remains in place for the duration of the spell.
So, if you are caught in the glitter could when it is cast but leave the glitter cloud, you are still covered in glitterdust until the duration runs out, and if you were blinded, you are still blinded until you make the save or the duration runs out.
And if you enter the glitter cloud area after it was cast, you become exposed to its effects (just as if you were there when it was cast) until the duration runs out.
| Nixda |
| 1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
Glitterdust
School conjuration (creation); Level bard 2, sorcerer/wizard 2, summoner 2, witch 2
CASTING
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M (ground mica)EFFECT
Range medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level)
Area creatures and objects within 10-ft.-radius spread
Duration 1 round/level
Saving Throw Will negates (blinding only); Spell Resistance noDESCRIPTION
A cloud of golden particles covers everyone and everything in the area, causing creatures to become blinded and visibly outlining invisible things for the duration of the spell. All within the area are covered by the dust, which cannot be removed and continues to sparkle until it fades. Each round at the end of their turn blinded creatures may attempt new saving throws to end the blindness effect.
Any creature covered by the dust takes a -40 penalty on Stealth checks.
It may not be entirely clear, but I read (and play) this as everything in the area when the spell is cast is affected for its duration, even when leaving the area afterwards. But there's no glittercloud floating around to affect creatures entering the area after the spell was cast.
EDIT: So I'm siding with Majuba. It's a spread effect, though, which might help to confuse people (making them think of cloud spells).
| Quatar |
If you failed the save you get a new one each round. That's all.
You can't save against being all glittery though, so invisible creatures can't save against being visible, even if they run away.
Anyone who comes into the area later is totally unaffected. (even though an invisible enemy might leave footprints in the dust on the ground... doesn't say so, but the GM might rule it)
| Grumpus RPG Superstar 2014 Top 32 |
So to be clear. If a level 6 caster uses this spell, and a person in the spells range makes their first saving throw, do they have to make a save each of the remaining 5 rounds?
Or once you make the first save, you cannot be blinded again?
I did a search and it seems in 2 different threads it is explained to work both ways
| Moglun |
So to be clear. If a level 6 caster uses this spell, and a person in the spells range makes their first saving throw, do they have to make a save each of the remaining 5 rounds?
No.
Or once you make the first save, you cannot be blinded again?
Yes.
The glitter blast is an instantaneous explosion which only affects people who were hit by it when it was cast, the duration refers to how long those people are coated in glitter and possibly blinded by it.
The important thing in the spell description is "Area: Creatures and objects within a 10' radius spread". What that means is that the spell affects the creatures and objects in the area when it is cast and continues to affect those specific creatures and objects in subsequent rounds; it does not affect the area itself nor does it create a continuous cloud effect, so creatures remaining in the area and new creatures entering the area are not affected further (Prayer works the same way). To compare this to spells which actually continue to affect new creatures who enter the area or who pass their saves but stay in the area, take a look at Cloudkill (Effect: Cloud spreads in 20' radius) or Black Tentacles (Area: 20' radius spread).
EDIT: I think I misunderstood you. No, someone hit by the initial glitter blast who passes his save would not have to keep making saves to avoid blindness. The will save negates the blindness effect, meaning it's gone for good. Exceptions to that are specifically mentioned in the spell text (like Stinking Cloud).
| Moglun |
But is not an instantaneous duration, is it?
It says 1 rd/lvl, nothing about instantaneous.
You cast it and it creates a 10ft radius cloud that stays there until the end of the duration. Isn't that right?
No, if it did that it would say "Effect: 10ft radius cloud" like Stinking Cloud and Cloudkill. It instantaneously coats a group of people with magical dust, and that coating of magical dust is what has a duration.