Extra Channel and Multiclassed Channelers


Rules Questions


I've run across and interesting dilemma and have not found anything in any of the books so far as a resolution goes. When you are a multiclassed character who has two different classes that grant the ability to channel (such as a cleric/paladin) or a class that grants an ability that the Extra Channel feat effects (such as a cleric/necromancy wizard who has the ability to Turn Undead from his specialized school) and you take the Extra Channel feat, does it apply to both classes for uses or do you have to select one? It does not specify in the book.


Wow. That is actually a really good question. MOST of the time you see things say "If you have more then one class .... please select one."

That is a really hard one. But based on the wording of the feat, I would say you have to pick one class.


Cleric and paladin use the same channel energy class feature. Paladin's text says "like a cleric". A paladin has an effective cleric level when using channel energy. That level stacks with real cleric levels.

The necromancer wizard's channel energy is a similar ability, but it's not really the same thing. For one thing, you use your Int score to determine number of charges per day. If I got Extra Channel and was a cleric/necromancer multiclass, I'd allow 2 extra charges of channel energy that can be used either for the Wizard's channel energy or the cleric's channel energy (your choice per usage).

Contributor

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

It doesn't say you have to specify one, so you shouldn't have to specify one.

I don't think it hurts anything for a cleric/necromancer to get the feat and use its extra two channels as needed on any particular day, whether that's +2 cleric, +2 necromancer, or +1 cleric/+1 necromancer.


meabolex wrote:
If I got Extra Channel and was a cleric/necromancer multiclass, I'd allow 2 extra charges of channel energy that can be used either for the Wizard's channel energy or the cleric's channel energy (your choice per usage).

That seems like the most literal interpretation and not overpowered.


It appears that if you have two "channel pools" to draw from (ex: cleric and pally) than it applies to each independently. It would have stated so otherwise.

SImilar to if you're a wiz/Sor and you take Spell Penetration it applies to both your wizard and Sorcerer spells independently. It's not a perfect parallel, but the same basic logic applies.

Multiple classes can benefit from the same feat independently unless otherwise stated.

Contributor

Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:
It appears that if you have two "channel pools" to draw from (ex: cleric and pally) than it applies to each independently. It would have stated so otherwise.

Your statement could be interpreted that you think the feat would add +2 channels per day for EACH class that had that class feature, so the cleric/necromancer would get +4 channels per day total, which I don't think is the intent or the obvious interpretation of the text.


Benefit: You can channel energy two additional times per day. Not four. And certainly not six (paladin/cleric/necromancer).


meabolex wrote:
Cleric and paladin use the same channel energy class feature. Paladin's text says "like a cleric". A paladin has an effective cleric level when using channel energy. That level stacks with real cleric levels.

They actually don't stack (as they did in 3.5). This was ruled because they have have separate pools. I would personally allow them to stack, as long as both pools were "used" simultaneously (1 channel used from the cleric, 2 lay on hands from the paladin).


I always wondered what would happen if a Paladin multi-classed into a cleric... My best guess was that you would just add together the Cleric levels and Paladin levels to determine the effective Cleric level for # of Channel dice. In my opinion, it just wouldn't make sense to have two different levels of channel energy.

note...:
Just as an added aside, prestige classes with spellcasting ability can increase your CL in your base class, and other prestige classes with Sneak Attack stack the sneak dice together, so why wouldn't you stack the channel dice?

As far as the Extra Channel feat is concerned... if you are adding together the effective levels as I suggested, then it wouldn't matter which class you applied the Extra Channel towards. The end result would still be only 2 extra channels per day.


Majuba wrote:
meabolex wrote:
Cleric and paladin use the same channel energy class feature. Paladin's text says "like a cleric". A paladin has an effective cleric level when using channel energy. That level stacks with real cleric levels.
They actually don't stack (as they did in 3.5). This was ruled because they have have separate pools. I would personally allow them to stack, as long as both pools were "used" simultaneously (1 channel used from the cleric, 2 lay on hands from the paladin).

I guess that makes sense. Otherwise a splash level of cleric gets you a sudden 3 + large Cha number of channels per day at the same power as a regular cleric.

The complete lack of desire for my players to multiclass anything has prevented this from being an issue for me (:


meabolex wrote:

I guess that makes sense. Otherwise a splash level of cleric gets you a sudden 3 + large Cha number of channels per day at the same power as a regular cleric.

The complete lack of desire for my players to multiclass anything has prevented this from being an issue for me (:

The way I'd get around that is to say that the class with the highest ranks in it (paladin vs cleric) is the resource system used for the number of channels per day. Either that or set it so that you can no longer convert 2x LoH's into a channel. Last option would be to have the player pick which class's channel system he/she wishes to use.

Contributor

FAQ and FAQ!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Extra Channel and Multiclassed Channelers All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions