Phalanx soldier


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hi guys,

I have one question,concerning Shield Ally(Ex),ability that Phalanx soldier gets on lvl 9 and after it is improving on 13th and 17th lvl.It say on 9th lvl he can provide partial cover(+2ac,+1ref) to himself and all adjacent allies.And on 13th lvl he can provide cover(+4ac,+2ref) to one adjacent ally until end of his turn.I see in some other posts there are similar opinions as my...there is no sense at all that he can provide it to adjacent ally and that he cant provide to himself..no logic in that at all.Or i missunderstood and he can actually provide it to himself?

Thanks in advance!!


It scales up.

It starts with being able to provide Partial cover to everyone. Then later, he gets the option to provide Cover(+evasion) to one guy. Then later still, he gets the option to provide Cover to everyone, or improved cover to one guy.

He can always provide total cover to himself as a standard action.


Grick wrote:

It scales up.

It starts with being able to provide Partial cover to everyone. Then later, he gets the option to provide Cover(+evasion) to one guy. Then later still, he gets the option to provide Cover to everyone, or improved cover to one guy.

He can always provide total cover to himself as a standard action.

Yea i know.But my point is,if he can provide improved cover to one guy,why couldnt he provide it to himself?Its not logical in my opinion.If you are that much skilled to effectively cover someone else,you should be able to do that to yourself even easier.

Because i tought it should be like-provide cover to himself or one adjacent ally at 13th lvl,and provide improved cover to himself or one ally at lvl 17.Much much more logical tbh.


You generally count as one of your allies. Unless an exception is specified, this could be of some help.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I´m pretty sure the point he´s bringing up is not based on some conflict between ´you´ and ´your allies´,
but rather ´ADJACENT allies´ specifically... And saying you are adjacent to yourself is just stretching it a bit too far.

I think JJ or somebody at Paizo clarified on the boards that ´allies´ by default includes yourself unless otherwise stated, though I´m not sure if i´ts in the FAQ or not....

EDIT: Here´s what the FAQ says: ^¨You count as your own ally unless otherwise stated or if doing so would make no sense or be impossible. Thus, "your allies" almost always means the same as "you and your allies." (SKR 10/12/10)¨. That doesn´t deal with adjacency... Adding such a limitation would by standard English reading exclude the Phalanx Fighter IMHO, though I agree with the OP that the INTENT probably isn´t to do so.)


Well, adjacent could just limit this to 1 square from the soldier, not necessarily exclude this.

I nevertheless see your point.


So you guys think that by adjacent ally he can consider himself as well and he can grant it to himself?Didn't know that everyone is counting as his own ally thou.But i guess its much more logical now...was kinda puzzled how on earth he can grant something like that to someone next to him,but not to himself..that was kinda pointless:)


By sense and good use of the class, yes, but Quandary should be right RAW, or at least he's right for sure in pointing out the "gap".


Yea i see your point.But after reading this few more times its very possible that rules mean he can always use for himself.And to all allies partial cover on 9th and cover on 17th and to one ally BESIDES him cover on 13th and improved on 17th.
I think that first sentence where rules mention himself counts every time for later purpose,just changing limitation form ALL adjacent to ONE adjacent.


Leongorance wrote:

Hi guys,

I have one question,concerning Shield Ally(Ex),ability that Phalanx soldier gets on lvl 9 and after it is improving on 13th and 17th lvl.It say on 9th lvl he can provide partial cover(+2ac,+1ref) to himself and all adjacent allies.And on 13th lvl he can provide cover(+4ac,+2ref) to one adjacent ally until end of his turn.I see in some other posts there are similar opinions as my...there is no sense at all that he can provide it to adjacent ally and that he cant provide to himself..no logic in that at all.Or i missunderstood and he can actually provide it to himself?

Thanks in advance!!


I have been playing a Phalanx Fighter in a campaign. He is actually a Greek Hoplite.
He's 6th level now and I really like the damage that I can get out of his Spear Power Attack/Furious Focus. The Shield Bash is sweet too.
I would like to get the benefits of Shield Focus to cover my allies a little but still be devastating with that Dory (Greek Spear).
Any suggestions?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Phalanx soldier All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.