Elemental Body Questions


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

6 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the errata.

Hey,

the description of Elemental Body I tells me that I assume the form of a small elemental. However, it doesn't say that it changes my actual size to Small, nor that I get the appropriate size modifiers (e.g. to attack and defenses). So do I not change size, but merely "channel" certain aspects of a Small Elemental?

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/e/elemental-body-i

Also, as an Earth Elemental I'm supposed to gain the Push ability, but looking at the description of said elemental, that ability is nowhere to be found. Looking up the description, it says I get a free CMB check to bullrush an enemy, but the distance pushed must be given in the description of the creature. Since this is lacking, I am assuming it should be 5' for the Small Earth Elemental. Still, am I really supposed to get an ability that the elemental itself does not have?

http://sites.google.com/site/pathfinderogc/bestiary/monster-listings/outsid ers/elemental/elemental-earth/small-earth-elemental

Is this an oversight in the description of the elementals, or has that ability been removed recently?

Cheers


When you assume the form you get the size along with it. The size is a part of the form.

As for the push ability I might have to do some searching.


The push ability is not in the elemental entry even though it is in the spell. It seems you have round a typo. I would hit the FAQ button so that it can get errata'd in the next book that comes out. Nice catch.


Probably it should be burrow speed or earth mastery.

Liberty's Edge

Catharsis wrote:

Hey,

the description of Elemental Body I tells me that I assume the form of a small elemental. However, it doesn't say that it changes my actual size to Small, nor that I get the appropriate size modifiers (e.g. to attack and defenses). So do I not change size, but merely "channel" certain aspects of a Small Elemental?

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/e/elemental-body-i

Cheers

All size descriptions in elementals are their actual size. For all intents and purposes, look and feel like a small elemental (though your type does not change in regards to what spells effect you). So changing into a small fire elemental has you at small sized for defense and offense mechanics. You will gain +1 size bonus to AC and +1 size bonus to attack. This is not listed in any of the polymorph spells because it is not a function of the spell, but a function of core combat mechanics, which are elsewhere in the core rulebook.

As for the Push ability, there is no table to reference. I have had this problem with my druid. I just treat it as a free bull rush on slam attacks with a normal shift of 5 feet, but RAW, there is nothing.

Sovereign Court

concerro wrote:
The push ability is not in the elemental entry even though it is in the spell. It seems you have round a typo. I would hit the FAQ button so that it can get errata'd in the next book that comes out. Nice catch.

Odd, this is at least the third time people have looked for an answer on this. Must have slipped through the cracks because it's so situational.

Contributor

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I've notified Jason of this. The Core Rulebook or Bestiary 1 will be changed to fix this, thought I don't know which at this point (probably the Core Rulebook, as it's an easy matter to swap what ability the spell grants).

Liberty's Edge

I have looked at the other two (or three) threads on this, and the pattern is clear: Treat "push" as a free bull rush on a hit or deny the push ability.

As most players with internet access know there are multiple SRDs/PRDs/Spellbook programs/Charcter builders out there, and there is no consistency on the spell between them--d20pfsdrd.com (PFRPG SRD) has the spell without "push"; archivesofnethys.com (Archieves of Nethys SRD) and thegm.org/alpha/ (Perram's Spellbook PDF creator) both have it with "push."

I think that without an official ruling--though "push is not part of the spell in the 5th printing of PF Core (though it is not identified as an alchemist spell either)--it's going to have to remain on a DM-to-DM basis.

Grand Lodge

Actually no official ruling needing. As with all rules, the most current book is the legal ruling. The 6th edition of the Core Rulebook lists:

Earth elemental: If the form you take is that of a Small earth
elemental, you gain a +2 size bonus to your Strength and a +4
natural armor bonus. You also gain darkvision 60 feet and the ability to earth glide.

No push anymore. Its gone. Earth glide, however, is awesome.

If you want to house rule it fine, but by RAW its gone. You can also check the PRD which list this version as well.


Dorian Storm wrote:

I have looked at the other two (or three) threads on this, and the pattern is clear: Treat "push" as a free bull rush on a hit or deny the push ability.

As most players with internet access know there are multiple SRDs/PRDs/Spellbook programs/Charcter builders out there, and there is no consistency on the spell between them--d20pfsdrd.com (PFRPG SRD) has the spell without "push"; archivesofnethys.com (Archieves of Nethys SRD) and thegm.org/alpha/ (Perram's Spellbook PDF creator) both have it with "push."

I think that without an official ruling--though "push is not part of the spell in the 5th printing of PF Core (though it is not identified as an alchemist spell either)--it's going to have to remain on a DM-to-DM basis.

The PRD(not d20pfsrd) is the official online rules for Pathfinder and that site is maintained by Paizo.

Scarab Sages

Thanks for the update on this thread. I've corrected the Nethys version to mirror the PRD's version at this time (push is gone).

Grand Lodge

Thank you.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Elemental Body Questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions