Meta-magic Crafting


Rules Questions


So here's my problem. rods take up a hand I would prefer be free so I want to create a ring of (insert meta-magic feat)

It works just like a rod except no need to hold it.

The problem is, I can't seem to find how to find out the cost and what level's it will be able to do, so, help?

Liberty's Edge

...you want to take a magic item that
a) has limited uses per day
and
b) has limited situational value

and remove the flexibility of swapping it out for something else?

Sure, reduce the price by 50%. Same everything else (caster level, requirements, etc), but the Market Price drops by 50%, with a corresponding adjustment to the cost to create.

The item does not currently take up a slot, and you want to create one that does; there's no direct equation for it, but the solution seems rather intuitive if you read the item creation rules.


Well assume I'm an idiot since I'm sure you already came to that conclusion, but even reading the rules, I fail to see, that's why I asked. Because I've gone through the rules and can't figure out the caster level requirements, minus of course the fact I have to be high enough to make a ring.

And by the way, you can add properties to existing magical items so, guess what, since I'm a spell caster, I can double duty the ring.


halfawannabe wrote:

Well assume I'm an idiot since I'm sure you already came to that conclusion, but even reading the rules, I fail to see, that's why I asked. Because I've gone through the rules and can't figure out the caster level requirements, minus of course the fact I have to be high enough to make a ring.

And by the way, you can add properties to existing magical items so, guess what, since I'm a spell caster, I can double duty the ring.

There is no caster level requirement for crafting anything other than weapons and armor(other than the caster level requirements for the feats).


really? That seems kind of counter-intuitive to me, *smiles evilly* but this will make it all the more fun.


halfawannabe wrote:
really? That seems kind of counter-intuitive to me, *smiles evilly* but this will make it all the more fun.

Why?

Also remember that weapons, armors and shields do haverequirements.
Also the gp needed is the biggest requirement on crafting a magic item.


halfawannabe wrote:
really? That seems kind of counter-intuitive to me, *smiles evilly* but this will make it all the more fun.

Leo is correct, since the second Core Rule book errata there is no caster level requirement on any item save qualifing for the feats to make said item.

*EDIT* Sorry I should have mentioned weapons and armor are exlcude from my definition of items. I meant staves, wands, scroll, rings, wonderous item etc.

Obviously you will want to clear any thing with your GM (unless you are the GM) and you should remember that the pricing is only a guide line as opposed to a perfect formula that will allow you to generate balanced items all the time.

Liberty's Edge

halfawannabe wrote:
really? That seems kind of counter-intuitive to me, *smiles evilly* but this will make it all the more fun.

Besides the gold cost, there's also the various "multiple items in different slots" cost increase; multiple meta-magic rods (and 99% of all magic item combinations) are defined as "multiple different effects", even when you are adding multiples of the same thing.

For instance, a Rod of Lesser Silent Metamagic 6/day costs 7,500 gold: 3,000 for the base item + (3,000 * 1.5 = 4,500) for the "added" item, which just so happens to be identical.

Finally, while there's no rule against doing so, it's generally considered bad form to put more than 50% of your "above first level" starting wealth into magic items you've created.


Really, never heard that before.


halfawannabe wrote:
Really, never heard that before.

Don't forget that you also have to HAVE the metamagic feat you want to make the rod/ring/widget of. Also, all metamagic rods have a CL17, and it wouldn't be unreasonable for the GM to require you to have that for your widget as well.


Purplefixer wrote:
halfawannabe wrote:
Really, never heard that before.
Don't forget that you also have to HAVE the metamagic feat you want to make the rod/ring/widget of.

Cite?


leo1925 wrote:
Purplefixer wrote:
halfawannabe wrote:
Really, never heard that before.
Don't forget that you also have to HAVE the metamagic feat you want to make the rod/ring/widget of.
Cite?

Its one of the requirements. Empower spell as example:

Quote:
Requirements Craft Rod, Empower Spell; Cost 4,500 gp (lesser), 16,250 gp (normal), 36,500 gp (greater)

Would that mean that it's subject to the +5 rule?


dave.gillam wrote:
leo1925 wrote:
Purplefixer wrote:
halfawannabe wrote:
Really, never heard that before.
Don't forget that you also have to HAVE the metamagic feat you want to make the rod/ring/widget of.
Cite?

Its one of the requirements. Empower spell as example:

Quote:
Requirements Craft Rod, Empower Spell; Cost 4,500 gp (lesser), 16,250 gp (normal), 36,500 gp (greater)

Would that mean that it's subject to the +5 rule?

Yes it is.

But really i don't think that it is worth the feat, wands aren't that expensive so if you want to spend the feat somewhere else i don't think that you lose much.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Meta-magic Crafting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions