| MyTThor |
Question here:
Would an ability score boost from a temporary source grant additional uses of a "3/day + ability modifier" type of ability? The specific situation I'm wondering about is Eagle's Splendor and having it grant extra uses of channeling positive. Anyone who knows could you also please give a source? I'd like something to show my DM if I'm going to go against his initial ruling.
Thanks
| leo1925 |
leo1925 wrote:Pathfinder PHB Page 554-555 = Ability Score bonuses = Permanent Bonuses.Name Violation wrote:I agree with you but i can't find it in the book can you help me find it?temp boost - no
item that gives boost - yes, after 24 hours typically (once its onsidered permenent)
Thanks.
| Majuba |
leo1925 wrote:Pathfinder PHB Page 554-555 = Ability Score bonuses = Permanent Bonuses.Name Violation wrote:temp boost - no item that gives boost - yes, after 24 hours typically (once its onsidered permenent)I agree with you but i can't find it in the book can you help me find it?
More precisely, the bonuses listed under the Temporary Bonuses (for effects lasting 1 day or less) do not include increasing the number of uses for anything based on an ability score.
FWIW, in 3.5 there was a Sage Advice on the topic, that did say it would grant additional uses (the question was specifically on Turn Undead). The Sage made the careful note that when the additional uses went away, that didn't mean the *usage* went away.
In other words, if you normally had 3 uses, and had used them all up, the spell would give you two additional uses. If you used those, you couldn't cast the spell again after it faded to get two *more* uses - you've already fully exhausted uses up to 2 more than your normal allotment. Also, if you had 3 uses, *hadn't* used them, and cast the spell, you could not use 2 uses "for free" and still have 3 left after the spell ends.
The temporary vs. permanent bonuses section solves a *LOT* of problems, including this question. I, however, prefer the Sage's method and continue to use that in my games. It is not directly valid under Pathfinder, but neither is it particularly broken (though it does make a scroll of eagle's splendor much better for a cleric than a scroll of cure moderate wounds).