| Purplefixer |
"Spellstrike (Su): At 2nd level, whenever a magus casts
a spell with a range of “touch” from the magus spell
list, he can deliver the spell through any weapon he is
wielding as part of a melee attack. If successful, this
melee attack deals its normal damage as well as the
effects of the spell. Instead of the free melee touch attack
normally allowed to deliver the spell, a magus can make
one free melee attack with his weapon as part of casting
this spell. If used with spell combat, this does not grant
an additional attack."
How does the Magus make an Off-Hand attack by striking through the only weapon he can carry, with the cost of somatic components being 'one free hand'. How often does it come into play that you can use Spellstrike and Spell Combat at the same time?
Suggestion: Give the Magus Somatic Weaponry at first level. Either as a feature or as a resurrection of the 3.5 feat. Allow them to use a weapon to cast somatic component spells.
| Shoga |
"Spellstrike (Su): At 2nd level, whenever a magus casts
a spell with a range of “touch” from the magus spell
list, he can deliver the spell through any weapon he is
wielding as part of a melee attack. If successful, this
melee attack deals its normal damage as well as the
effects of the spell. Instead of the free melee touch attack
normally allowed to deliver the spell, a magus can make
one free melee attack with his weapon as part of casting
this spell. If used with spell combat, this does not grant
an additional attack."How does the Magus make an Off-Hand attack by striking through the only weapon he can carry, with the cost of somatic components being 'one free hand'. How often does it come into play that you can use Spellstrike and Spell Combat at the same time?
Suggestion: Give the Magus Somatic Weaponry at first level. Either as a feature or as a resurrection of the 3.5 feat. Allow them to use a weapon to cast somatic component spells.
The "one free hand" for the somatic components requirement is assumed that the character is reaching over and touching the weapon prior to the actual attack. Thus "charging" the weapon.
In the description of Spell Combat it says "As a full round action, he can make all of his attacks with his melee weapon at a –4 penalty." so, based on that, anytime he chooses to make a full round action to attack and is using a light or one-handed weapon and casting a spell with "touch" as its target.
| Purplefixer |
So a 15th Level Magus with a +3 Rapier, 16 dexterity, and weapon finesse can now two-weapon-Fight with the following set:
+3 Rapier/ +15 to hit with rapier
+3 Rapier/ +15 to hit with rapier and shocking grasp
+3 Rapier/ +10 to hit with rapier
+3 Rapier/ +5 to hit with rapier
Doesn't that seem like too many attacks with the same weapon for a +11BAB?
Or is this suggesting that you can now attack:
+3 Rapier/ +17 to hit with rapier and shocking grasp
+3 Rapier/ +12 to hit with rapier
+3 Rapier/ +7 to hit with rapier
How do you use a standard action to cast a spell and channel it through the weapon WHILE using a spell to cast as an off-hand strike? Something isn't clicking for me...
| Purplefixer |
Then why the line: 'If used with spell combat, this does not grant
an additional attack'?
If Spellstrike is a standard action, and Spell Combat is a Full Round Action, when could they ever be used together? Or is this merely referring to the ability to deliver an ALREADY CAST touch spell through your first primary attack and then offhand a second spell?
| Simon Legrande |
Then why the line: 'If used with spell combat, this does not grant
an additional attack'?If Spellstrike is a standard action, and Spell Combat is a Full Round Action, when could they ever be used together? Or is this merely referring to the ability to deliver an ALREADY CAST touch spell through your first primary attack and then offhand a second spell?
Your second scenario above would be correct. The Magus uses Spell Combat to be able to cast a spell and make melee attacks in the same round. He then uses Spellstrike to, instead of making a touch attack with his off-hand, channel the spell through his weapon.
YuenglingDragon
|
OK, so when you use Spell Combat you can cast a spell and make your attack(s). Say the spell is Shocking Grasp. You have two choices. One, you can do the touch attack normally. Two, you can imbue one of your attacks with the spell. It won't give you an extra attack. That would be like free Haste as long as you have spells. But it will allow the spell the benefit from the crit range of your chosen weapon.
Is that any more clear?
| Patryn of Elvenshae |
OK, so when you use Spell Combat you can cast a spell and make your attack(s). Say the spell is Shocking Grasp. You have two choices. One, you can do the touch attack normally. Two, you can imbue one of your attacks with the spell. It won't give you an extra attack. That would be like free Haste as long as you have spells. But it will allow the spell the benefit from the crit range of your chosen weapon.
Is that any more clear?
Just to make sure I understand all the abilities correctly ...
Assuming I have three attacks with a sword (at BABs of +11 / +6 / +1), and Shocking Grasp, I can:
As a standard action:
Normal attack with my sword at +11; or ...
Cast Shocking Grasp and make a melee touch attack at +11; or ...
Cast Shocking Grasp and make a sword attack at +11 (sword damage + SG damage)
Right?
And then, as a full-round action, I can:
Normal attack with my sword at +11/+6/+1; or ...
Normal attack with my sword at +9/+4/-1, cast Shocking Grasp and make a melee touch attack at +11; or ...
Cast Shocking Grasp, attack with my sword at +9 (sword + SG damage) / +4 (sword damage) / -1 (sword damage)
I cannot, as a full-round action:
Normal attack with my sword at +9/+4/-1, cast Shocking Grasp and make a sword attack at +11 (sword damage + SG damage)
... because that would break the rules on Spellstrike.
Right?