Repulsion and repeated repositioning


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

A situation came up in my game last week. The Wizard cast Repulsion on himself and was approached by an opponent. The opponent made the save and got into melee range. The next round, the Wizard moved, so that the opponent was out of the range of the Repulsion aura, obligating the opponent to approach him once more.

In the players opinion, the opponent would have to make another save. I overruled that, saying that I saw the spell effect working more like a save vs. spell resistance: Once you've made it once, it doesn't work on you anymore. The spell text itself is inconclusive on the matter.

What do you guys think?


I believe that, in this instance, if it required a new save, it would say so. It gives the ruling on the change in position for those who HAVEN'T saved:

d20pfsrd.com wrote:
If a repelled creature moves away from you and then tries to turn back toward you, it cannot move any closer if it is still within the spell's area.

so logic asserts that those that HAVE saved are not affected.


magnuskn wrote:


In the players opinion, the opponent would have to make another save. I overruled that, saying that I saw the spell effect working more like a save vs. spell resistance: Once you've made it once, it doesn't work on you anymore. The spell text itself is inconclusive on the matter.

What do you guys think?

I'm not so sure, many ongoing spells if you enter the area, leave then re-enter you would need to make another save.

-James

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8

james maissen wrote:
magnuskn wrote:


In the players opinion, the opponent would have to make another save. I overruled that, saying that I saw the spell effect working more like a save vs. spell resistance: Once you've made it once, it doesn't work on you anymore. The spell text itself is inconclusive on the matter.

What do you guys think?

I'm not so sure, many ongoing spells if you enter the area, leave then re-enter you would need to make another save.

-James

Don't they call that out in the spell description?

Edit for clarification: Symbol of death calls out "A creature need save against the symbol only once as long as it remains within the area, though if it leaves the area and returns while the symbol is still active, it must save again."

On the other hand, mind fog calls out "(A creature that successfully saves against the fog is not affected and need not make further saves even if it remains in the fog.)"

So it's still clear as mud. Sorry.


Good question! Marked for FAQ.

Sczarni RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

magnuskn wrote:

In the players opinion, the opponent would have to make another save. I overruled that, saying that I saw the spell effect working more like a save vs. spell resistance: Once you've made it once, it doesn't work on you anymore. The spell text itself is inconclusive on the matter.

What do you guys think?

I would rule with you. If you make the will save the first time, you should not be affected for the rest of the spell duration. It seems areas with a Fort or Ref save are needed to make the save every time you enter or move. But most effects with a Will save don't require another save for the rest of the day or length of the spell.


james maissen wrote:
enter the area, leave then re-enter

I could see that being questionable, if they leave the area of effect. Range is 10'/Lvl though. Retreat action makes this a possibility, but a 5' step is more likely.

Matthew Morris wrote:
Don't they call that out in the spell description?

Nope.

d20pfsrd.com wrote:


An invisible, mobile field surrounds you and prevents creatures from approaching you. You decide how big the field is at the time of casting (to the limit your level allows). Any creature within or entering the field must attempt a save. If it fails, it becomes unable to move toward you for the duration of the spell. Repelled creatures' actions are not otherwise restricted. They can fight other creatures and can cast spells and attack you with ranged weapons. If you move closer to an affected creature, nothing happens. The creature is not forced back. The creature is free to make melee attacks against you if you come within reach. If a repelled creature moves away from you and then tries to turn back toward you, it cannot move any closer if it is still within the spell's area.


Matthew Morris wrote:
Don't they call that out in the spell description?

This line is the closest the spell description gets:

"If a repelled creature moves away from you and then tries to turn back toward you, it cannot move any closer if it is still within the spell’s area."

The spell does not specifically address someone anyone leaving the field and reentering (whether they make the save or not).

Edit: Ninja'd by Gruuu.

Liberty's Edge RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32, 2011 Top 16

Actually, it does address if you leave the field and re-enter, "Any creature within or entering the field must attempt a save." If you enter the field, either the first time, or subsequently, you must attempt a save. What's not clear is if you're in the field, make your save, then move away but still remain in the field. I'd say since it's not called out, that you don't need to re-save, unless you actually leave the field and re-enter it.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Thanks for the opinions. As I feared, it it a bone of contention.

The situation was a bit different, though, the Wizard repositioned himself in such a way that the opponent who made the save was out of the area of effect after the Wizard was done moving, forcing the opponent to enter again into the area of effect if he wanted to get into melee range. That is not the same as trying to force the effect against an opponent, actually the contrary, so the possible text application of Anti-Life Shell doesn't apply.

Sczarni RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

JoelF847 wrote:
Actually, it does address if you leave the field and re-enter, "Any creature within or entering the field must attempt a save." If you enter the field, either the first time, or subsequently, you must attempt a save. What's not clear is if you're in the field, make your save, then move away but still remain in the field. I'd say since it's not called out, that you don't need to re-save, unless you actually leave the field and re-enter it.

Good correction there.

magnuskn wrote:

Thanks for the opinions. As I feared, it it a bone of contention.

The situation was a bit different, though, the Wizard repositioned himself in such a way that the opponent who made the save was out of the area of effect after the Wizard was done moving, forcing the opponent to enter again into the area of effect if he wanted to get into melee range. That is not the same as trying to force the effect against an opponent, actually the contrary, so the possible text application of Anti-Life Shell doesn't apply.

Just remember, you are the DM and the final adjudicator. I would be inclined to give anyone who made the save a +2 to the next attempt to enter the field.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

That does sound like a good compromise.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Repulsion and repeated repositioning All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions