
Ravingdork |

"At 1st level, the magus gains a reservoir of mystical arcane energy that he can draw upon to fuel his powers and enhance his weapon. This arcane pool has a number of points equal to 1/2 his magus level (minimum 1) + his Intelligence modifier. The pool refreshes once each day when the magus prepares his spells."
It is clear you can only replenish your pool once per day. However, it is widely known that you can prepare your spells multiple times per day (by leaving some spell slots open).
Is there anything keeping me from NOT replenishing my arcane pool when I initially prepare my spells in the morning? (Say, for example, if I didn't use any of my arcane points the day before.)
That way I could prepare spells again later in the day, filling up an empty spell slot or two, after I've emptied my arcane pool. That would allow me to replenish my points, effectively doubling the number of points I have that day, seemingly without breaking any rules whatsoever.
This would be a big boon for those who aren't in a continual state of adventuring.
So, is it legal? Why or why not?

![]() |
It is clear you can only replenish your pool once per day. However, it is widely known that you can prepare your spells multiple times per day (by leaving some spell slots open).
You may be preparing more than once a day, but you aren't refreshing your slots save at that prep time at the beginning of the day. Pool generation is much more of that nature. Even if you did not use all your spell slots the day before, you still can't get more than your max on your morning prep.
Besides if you're not in a continual state of adventuring...you wouldn't need an unlimited pool.

Ravingdork |

The "once each day" bit restricts your frequency. The "when" clause only says in what part of that day you do it.
Which part of the day is that? When I prepare spells? That's any part of the day I want it to be.

Ravingdork |

Yes, but that can only be done once per day, at any part of the day. The second part does not invalidate the first.
Ah. So you are saying it resets the FIRST time I prepare spells in the day and I have no choice in the matter...?

![]() |
Synapse wrote:Yes, but that can only be done once per day, at any part of the day. The second part does not invalidate the first.Ah. So you are saying it resets the FIRST time I prepare spells in the day and I have no choice in the matter...?
That sir is correct. Think of it this way, it resets when you reset your spell slots which is something you ONLY do once a day. (You can assign spell to those reset spell slots whenever you get around to it of course, most mages do so when they reset their slots)

![]() |

Hi
I thought Arcanists could regain their spells more than once per day? After all, they just need 8 hours rest, plus one hour to prepare.
Eg. Start day adventuring at 9.00 am (after spell prep). Busy until late lunch at 1.0pm. 8 hours rest, 1 hour prep. Back ready for 10.00pm.
And what if the Magus hasn't used any spells, so doesn't need to prep? (But has used Arcane Pool). When does the Magus refresh his Arcane Pool? Arcanists are supposed to be more flexible than Divine Casters, surely?
Thanks
Paul H

HalfOrcHeavyMetal |

Hi
I thought Arcanists could regain their spells more than once per day? After all, they just need 8 hours rest, plus one hour to prepare.
Eg. Start day adventuring at 9.00 am (after spell prep). Busy until late lunch at 1.0pm. 8 hours rest, 1 hour prep. Back ready for 10.00pm.
And what if the Magus hasn't used any spells, so doesn't need to prep? (But has used Arcane Pool). When does the Magus refresh his Arcane Pool? Arcanists are supposed to be more flexible than Divine Casters, surely?
Thanks
Paul H
I think that got shot down a while ago, due to the insanity a caster can do with a Ring of Sustenance that drops their 'rest' time down to 2 hours per day. Thankfully they jumped on that and added ".... but this does not allow a spellcaster to prepare spells more than once per day."
I believe that the ruling is a little flexible, if the party is willing to only operate early-mornings and mid-afternoons, sleeping through the middle of the Night and again during the middle of the Day, Spellcasters could, under the right DM, get away with this, but I'm not certain it's entirely legal.