Losing bonded items enchantments on death


Rules Questions


11 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

As written does the wizard loses all enchantments to his bonded item when he dies?

Also is this what was intended?

seems rather cruel, making it useless to enchant the bonded item at higher levels.

"If a bonded object's owner dies, or the item is replaced, the object reverts to being an ordinary masterwork item of the appropriate type."


demur wrote:

As written does the wizard loses all enchantments to his bonded item when he dies?

Also is this what was intended?

seems rather cruel, making it useless to enchant the bonded item at higher levels.

"If a bonded object's owner dies, or the item is replaced, the object reverts to being an ordinary masterwork item of the appropriate type."

It say no if he is resurrected. It could be just another safeguard to make sure that others cannot use the thing.

Reading RAW it would seem to stop working, but I wouldn't care about that.

Scarab Sages

Death is rather amorphous in a game where it's not permanent. ;)

I would read that as "permanently dies" since that's likely what was intended.


I think the spirit of that rule is that the item is supposed work for its owner and nobody else. So I say if the guy comes back, his magic ring/sword/whatever comes back.

Liberty's Edge

The question still seems worth clicking the FAQ button ...

Scarab Sages

(Oh sure, 5 clicks for the FAQ but only 4 clicks for my stealth/assassin/full attack/flat-footed/blind-fight question...)


... 6

:oP

Scarab Sages

Doh!

(This seems so clearly obvious to me but it's now at 9 FAQ votes!? I think others are doing this just to spite me. ;-) Oh well. )


Ok, thanks for the answers.

My DM will probably say that the enchantments come back with me, but an official clarification would indeed be nice.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Losing bonded items enchantments on death All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.