| Abraham spalding |
Provided you have a means of having constant touch attacks then yes.
You couldn't for example full attack with touch of idiocy (since it's one touch per spell) but you could with chill touch (which just gives you a touch per caster level).
Some spells might limit how often you can use them in a round, or declare that the specific spell is a standard action to use but barring such things you can full attack with touch attacks.
Themetricsystem
|
Can they done as often in a round as a regular attack? Say +16 base attack means 4 touch attacks with full attack option?
You can touch up to 6 adjacent creatures per turn if the touch attack allows multiple targets regardless of your BAB, it is right there in the section on touch attacks :D
"Touch: You must touch a creature or object to affect it. A touch spell that deals damage can score a critical hit just as a weapon can. A touch spell threatens a critical hit on a natural roll of 20 and deals double damage on a successful critical hit. Some touch spells allow you to touch multiple targets. You can touch up to 6 willing targets as part of the casting, but all targets of the spell must be touched in the same round that you finish casting the spell. If the spell allows you to touch targets over multiple rounds, touching 6 creatures is a full-round action."| Glutton |
Chris Ballard wrote:Can they done as often in a round as a regular attack? Say +16 base attack means 4 touch attacks with full attack option?You can touch up to 6 willing targets as part of the casting, but all targets of the spell must be touched in the same round that you finish casting the spell..[/i]"
| DM_Blake |
Yes, as Glutton pointed out (and also Gorbacz who ninja'd me), touching up to 6 targets as part of the casting requires them to be willing.
On the contrary, touch attacks are almost universally delivered against the unwilling, and since they are attacks, they are limited by the number of attacks you are normally allowed to make as per your BAB, haste, etc.
Or, somehow convince your enemy that they want your touch. Say, a really good bluff check that you're going to heal them. Then cast your spell and start touching. However, unless they're blind, deaf, and stupid, after their first buddy suffers the obvious ill effects of your nasty touch attacks, the rest are likely to figure out they've been duped and immediately put themselves on the unwilling list...
| Blave |
There are VERY few offensive touch spells that can hit multiple times. In fact, I can only think of one right now: Elemental Touch from the APG. It states "You gain a melee touch attack". Then agin, it's not exactly a touch spell, but rather a buff spell which grants you this touch attack. That's indicated by the range "personal" instead of "touch". I don't see anything saying that you can't use this touch attack more than once per round.
So, as the others said, you CAN use multiple touch attacks per round if you have a "real" touch attack - such as one granted by a buff like Elemental Touch. Unfortunately, most offensive spells with range "touch" have only one charge, so you'd need to recast the spell somehow after the first hit. I can't think of many possible ways to do that. One would be casting a touch spell in round 1, hold the charge, touch the enemy in round with a full-attack action and recast the spell with Quicken metamagic before your next attack.
| Virgil RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32 |
There are VERY few offensive touch spells that can hit multiple times. In fact, I can only think of one right now: Elemental Touch from the APG. It states "You gain a melee touch attack". Then agin, it's not exactly a touch spell, but rather a buff spell which grants you this touch attack. That's indicated by the range "personal" instead of "touch". I don't see anything saying that you can't use this touch attack more than once per round.
There's chill touch and produce flame, off the top of my head.
| Abraham spalding |
Blave wrote:There are VERY few offensive touch spells that can hit multiple times. In fact, I can only think of one right now: Elemental Touch from the APG. It states "You gain a melee touch attack". Then agin, it's not exactly a touch spell, but rather a buff spell which grants you this touch attack. That's indicated by the range "personal" instead of "touch". I don't see anything saying that you can't use this touch attack more than once per round.There's chill touch and produce flame, off the top of my head.
flame blade
| Blave |
And many bloodline and domain abilities, like Gentle Rest.
Most (if not all) of those are spell-like abilities that require a standard action, which probably means you can't use them more than once per round - just like you can't cast more than one standard action spell per round.
| stringburka |
stringburka wrote:And many bloodline and domain abilities, like Gentle Rest.Most (if not all) of those are spell-like abilities that require a standard action, which probably means you can't use them more than once per round - just like you can't cast more than one standard action spell per round.
You may be right, but compare these two:
Gentle Rest (Sp): Your touch can fill a creature with lethargy, causing a living creature to become staggered for 1 round as a melee touch attack. If you touch a staggered living creature, that creature falls asleep for 1 round instead. Undead creatures touched are staggered for a number of rounds equal to your Wisdom modifier. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.Icicle (Sp): As a standard action, you can fire an icicle from your finger, targeting any foe within 30 feet as a ranged touch attack. The icicle deals 1d6 points of cold damage + 1 point for every two cleric levels you possess. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.
Note that with Icicle, it clearly states that it takes a standard action. In the former there's no such indicator at all, except that it's a spell-like ability. Now, spell-like abilities are standard actions to activate unless otherwise noted, but "as a melee touch attack" can surely be interpreted as an "otherwise note". If they all were standard actions, why would a lot of them point that out while a good number of others don't?
| DM_Blake |
Blave wrote:stringburka wrote:And many bloodline and domain abilities, like Gentle Rest.Most (if not all) of those are spell-like abilities that require a standard action, which probably means you can't use them more than once per round - just like you can't cast more than one standard action spell per round.You may be right, but compare these two:
[i]Gentle Rest (Sp): ...[i]Icicle (Sp): As a standard action, ...
Note that with Icicle, it clearly states that it takes a standard action. In the former there's no such indicator at all, except that it's a spell-like ability. Now, spell-like abilities are standard actions to activate unless otherwise noted, but "as a melee touch attack" can surely be interpreted as an "otherwise note". If they all were standard actions, why would a lot of them point that out while a good number of others don't?
You're logic was good but it led you to the wrong conclusion.
Spell-Like Abilities (Sp)
Usually, a spell-like ability works just like the spell of that name. A spell-like ability has no verbal, somatic, or material component, nor does it require a focus. The user activates it mentally. Armor never affects a spell-like ability's use, even if the ability resembles an arcane spell with a somatic component.A spell-like ability has a casting time of 1 standard action unless noted otherwise in the ability or spell description. In all other ways, a spell-like ability functions just like a spell.
Note that second paragraph that I quoted. It says that Spell-like Abilities require a Standard Action unless the specific ability says otherwise.
What it does NOT say is that you can assume your favorite Spell-like Ability uses whatever action you want it to use unless it tells you to use a specific action.
So, yes, Gentle Rest requires a melee touch attack. Activating Gentle Rest requires a Standard Action because it is a Spell-like Ability (Sp). Use your Standard Action to activate this ability then, as part of that action, make a melee touch attack to deliver it.
Unless otherwise noted - which it is not.
| Blave |
Yeah, that seems to make sense. The one thing I wonder about then, is why do a good number of them specifically state that they are standards while other do no not? It seems like bad design and asking for misinterpretations.
I had something similar in another RPG quite some time ago. I think one of the devs just replied that little differences like these make a rulebook less boring to read. And I must admid those things tend to repeat the same stuff over and over again so a little variation might not hurt.
Take that as you will.
| stringburka |
stringburka wrote:Yeah, that seems to make sense. The one thing I wonder about then, is why do a good number of them specifically state that they are standards while other do no not? It seems like bad design and asking for misinterpretations.I had something similar in another RPG quite some time ago. I think one of the devs just replied that little differences like these make a rulebook less boring to read. And I must admid those things tend to repeat the same stuff over and over again so a little variation might not hurt.
Take that as you will.
Ah, that's a valid reason. Not a good reason, but a valid one.
| Zag24 |
Thanks for the above. I'm pretty sure I know the answer to these followup questions, but I'll ask anyway.
My player has a 3rd level Magus, so his Spellstrike ability allows him to deliver touch attacks while thumping the poor bloke with his staff. I assume that it would work the same way for Chill Touch (and Frostbite, which has the same rules). He casts once and may make one attack that round including the thump plus one discharge of the spell. If he then invokes Cleave in the next round, he could strike twice and discharge the spell both times. Is that right?
Does anyone else find the low-to-mid level magus a little overpowered because of this? He's basically a fighter, but deals an extra d6+3 on nearly every blow. At 5th level, right before the fighters actually get an extra attack, he'll really be crushing them, with an extra d6+5 damage, and only a little bit behind them in attack roll.
Well, I guess, since he can't really afford to pump his strength that high, I guess it's not as bad as I thought at first. An 18-strength fighter with a greatsword is doing almost as much damage as he is.
Sorry to pile on, but a related question just occurred to me. Because he is now using the weapon to deliver the spell, he is no longer going against the touch AC of the opponent (as he would be if delivering the spell like a wizard), but the normal AC. Correct? Or does the only the weapon attack go against the normal AC and the magic attack still ignore armor?
| Arbalester |
Hello from the future! I'm digging up this thread to ask a question, this time about a class little-discussed when this thread was started: the Magus.
The Magus gets Spellstrike, which allows him to deliver touch attacks through his weapon, targeting regular AC and dealing weapon damage in addition to the touched spell's effects. My question is, how does this work with multi-touch spells like Chill Touch?
I know that Magi don't have Chill Touch on their spell list, but A) They have other one touch/CL spells, and B) They could pick it up as a wizard spell using the Spell Blending arcana. I'm using Chill Touch as an example.
Let's say we have Guy, an 8th level magus who picked up Chill Touch with Spell Blending as one of his two arcana. As a full attack, he gets two hits, since his BAB is +6. So, some questions:
Guy decides to cast Chill Touch right before the fight starts, and then move into melee. Next round, he unleashes a full attack. Can he use Chill Touch on both hits in this full attack? Or can he not use Chill Touch's pokes on a full attack, and instead he'd have to spend each round taking a standard action to make one Chill Touch Spellstrike, attacking once each round?
Or, Guy, caught unawares, finds himself already in melee after the surprise round. He uses his first round to use Spell Combat, making two attacks and casting a spell. He can cast the spell before or after his attacks; he opts to cast Chill Touch before making two attacks. Can he get the Chill Touch pokes on each attack? Or would that full attack deal normal damage, since he has to use Spellstrike as a separate action?
In short, can you do a full-attack Spellstrike?
I really like the multi-touch spells, as it sounds like they were written for the Magus; they're damage spells that keep on damaging. Problem is, they come with rule tangles like these. Has there been any FAQ about this?
Oh, to complicate things further, the Myrmidach (a Magus archetype in Ultimate Combat) can use Ranged Spellstrike to... oh wait, that only works on ranged touch attacks, so melee ones like Chill Touch don't apply. Just answered my own question. Still, if there were multi-touch ray attacks, could a Myrmidach use a ranged full attack to Ranged Spellstrike?