Warrior of the holy light clairification


Rules Questions


7 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ.

First off my apologies to those who don't have the APG yet, I've been pouring over the subscriber PDF for bit and my wife wants to take Warrior of the Holy Light archetype for her Paladin.

There's a portion of this class variant that really confuses me, I'm either being dense or there's an errata issue here.

Power of Faith (Su): At 4th level, a warrior of the holy
light learns to use the power of her faith to bolster her
defenses and aid her allies. This class feature replaces the
paladin’s spells class feature. A warrior of the holy light
does not gain any spells or spellcasting abilities, does not
have a caster level, and cannot use spell trigger or spell
completion magic items.
At 4th level, the warrior of the holy light gains one
additional use of her lay on hands ability per day. She gains
one additional use of lay on hands per day for every four
levels she attains beyond 4th. She can call upon the power
of her faith as a standard action. This causes a nimbus of
light to emanate from the warrior of the holy light in a
30-foot radius. All allies in this area (including the warrior
of the holy light) receive a +1 morale bonus to AC and on
attack rolls, damage rolls, and saving throws against fear
as long as they remain in the area of light. This power lasts
for 1 minute.

The book goes on to detail an 8th 12th 16th and 20th level ability tied to the nimbus of light.

It doesn't state that nimbus of light expends a use of lay on hands but it's in the same paragraph. I'm therefore reading this as:
A) The user get's extra uses of lay on hands at 4th,8th,12th,16th,20th
B) The user can use her lay on hands to power the nimbus of light abilities as a standard action.

Does this seem right to you guys based on the above text?

Liberty's Edge

Maugan22 wrote:


It doesn't state that nimbus of light expends a use of lay on hands but it's in the same paragraph. I'm therefore reading this as:
A) The user get's extra uses of lay on hands at 4th,8th,12th,16th,20th
B) The user can use her lay on hands to power the nimbus of light abilities as a standard action.

Does this seem right to you guys based on the above text?

Nope. As far as I can tell from my reading (and my GM's, since I'm getting ready to play one of these guys in a game), the aura of light ability just takes a standard action to use. It doesn't expend anything. You take a standard action, you get a 1-minute aura of light. Fin. Until the devs say otherwise about it, it's best to assume that's the way it works. It's not like any of those abilities are particularly broken, and you're giving up paladin spellcasting for them.

Jeremy Puckett


I am also very curious to hear a ruling on this. While I read it as no lay-hands charges required, my DM went the other way and said since its right there in the very same paragraph even... it should apply.


I read it like hida_jiremi reads it.


Judging by this ability and how they laid out presentations on other similar abilities, it does not take lay on hands usages to use this ability. They simply stated additional difference to other abilities in the stat block. A little confusing, to be sure, but they wanted to group together everything you'd be getting for trading out your spells.

There are a few other abilities that have similar LOH adjustments (usually in the opposite direction) within the same statblock, even though the ability has nothing to do with LOH.

Dark Archive

My reading agrees with the posters above. If we're correct it is a pretty shite layout decision as it's presence in the same paragraph could seem to imply just what the OP thought. They ought to be separate paragraphs.

If it does use a LoH, a standard action and only lasts a minute it's a wildly crappy trade for spells, especially since the APG included a few I actually want.


Just like everyone else, I read it as you give up spell casting so you can glow all day.

Grand Lodge

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Any further discussion around this topic?

I would like to know if the Power of Faith ability has per day limits or only requires the expediture of a standard action every 10 rounds? Has there been an official ruling anywhere?


Really bad at navigating, can someone link me to the FAQ to answer this question.


If it's the Help/FAQ link at the top of the paizo navigation bar. That has NOTHING to do with any threads I've seen with questions so in which case... where the flack are these answers...


Okay so it's confirmed in the APG errata but there is still one problem.

Do the granted uses of LOH stack with that of the Paladin's uses of LOH.

Meaning +1 use of LOH at 4th level from the warrior of the light, and general smite evil ability for

3 / day. at level 4.

And then one additional every three levels after from smite ability, and another +1 from warrior of light every 4 levels after.....

Would I have 2 uses or 3 uses at level 4 essentially... as this will answer my question for the rest of the uses.


Eyolf The Wild Commoner wrote:
If it's the Help/FAQ link at the top of the paizo navigation bar. That has NOTHING to do with any threads I've seen with questions so in which case... where the flack are these answers...

Its addressed in the latest errata for the APG.

http://paizo.com/download/pathfinder/AdvancedPlayersGuideErrata1_0.zip


daemonprince wrote:
Eyolf The Wild Commoner wrote:
If it's the Help/FAQ link at the top of the paizo navigation bar. That has NOTHING to do with any threads I've seen with questions so in which case... where the flack are these answers...
Its addressed in the latest errata for the APG.

Please read my newly posted above post prior to your own.


From the document everyone keeps talking about:

Page 118—In the Warrior of the Holy Light archetype, in the Power of Faith class feature, in the second paragraph, in the third sentence, change “She can call upon” to “She can spend a use of her lay on hands ability to call upon”.

Personally, I think this makes the Warrior of Holy Light pretty lousy. I like the flavor of it a lot, and I think that there should be a few Paladin subtypes that give up spellcasting. (ONLY give up spellcasting, so that they can potentially be mixed with other subtypes.)

Getting a few extra Lay on Hands per day isn't worth giving up spells. Spending a round and a LoH to give a +1 to the party will rarely be worth your action. Later your light can act as a Lesser Restoration, but if you had spellcasting you could have cast that anyway.


Blueluck wrote:

From the document everyone keeps talking about:

Page 118—In the Warrior of the Holy Light archetype, in the Power of Faith class feature, in the second paragraph, in the third sentence, change “She can call upon” to “She can spend a use of her lay on hands ability to call upon”.

Personally, I think this makes the Warrior of Holy Light pretty lousy. I like the flavor of it a lot, and I think that there should be a few Paladin subtypes that give up spellcasting. (ONLY give up spellcasting, so that they can potentially be mixed with other subtypes.)

Getting a few extra Lay on Hands per day isn't worth giving up spells. Spending a round and a LoH to give a +1 to the party will rarely be worth your action. Later your light can act as a Lesser Restoration, but if you had spellcasting you could have cast that anyway.

There is the oath of vengeance, which makes the extra lay on hands extra smites, although one could argue that since oathbound paladins gain "domain" spell slots then those archetypes can't be combined with an archetype that does give up spellcasting.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Warrior of the holy light clairification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions