Can a caster intentionally reduce the effect of a spell?


Rules Questions


I can think of a few examples (almost all would be for roleplaying purposes) where it would be useful to intentionally reduce the effect of a spell. For example...

Can a 6th level sorcerer intentionally cast Scorching Ray and have it only do 1 point of damage?

Can a cleric cast a Heal Light Wounds to only cure 1 point?

Can a Grease spell be cast to only cover a 5' square?

Could a 9th level wizard cast Magic Missile with only one missile?

What about abilities? Can an Aberrant sorcerer do his acid splash for only 1 point?

The Exchange RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

Under normal circumstances, no, but that sounds like a great MetaMagic feat.

Scarab Sages

PRD: Magic - Caster Level

PRD wrote:
You can cast a spell at a lower caster level than normal, but the caster level you choose must be high enough for you to cast the spell in question, and all level-dependent features must be based on the same caster level.

So, yes, to a dergee, based on RAW. As for choosing to do the minimum effect based on a die roll, I'd say that would be GM's perogative. (I.E. Rule 0)

If it were me, I'd probably allow it, especially if it were used in a good roleplaying situation, as you mentioned.


Arazyr wrote:

PRD: Magic - Caster Level

PRD wrote:
You can cast a spell at a lower caster level than normal, but the caster level you choose must be high enough for you to cast the spell in question, and all level-dependent features must be based on the same caster level.

So, yes, to a dergee, based on RAW. As for choosing to do the minimum effect based on a die roll, I'd say that would be GM's perogative. (I.E. Rule 0)

If it were me, I'd probably allow it, especially if it were used in a good roleplaying situation, as you mentioned.

Cool, thanks.

I was thinking about a 16th level wizard who came across a room of 1/2HD baddies. A 1d6 damage fireball would clear them out without destroying the room, but without the ability to do it he's kinda limited. Seems strange for a high-level wizard to not be able to do little things like that.

Or a Shocking Grasp to startle a horse without killing it.

Stuff like that...

Dark Archive

cany you lower your caster level? can a 8th level sorc thow out a fireball at caster level 6 for example?


Name Violation wrote:
cany you lower your caster level? can a 8th level sorc thow out a fireball at caster level 6 for example?
prd wrote:


You can cast a spell at a lower caster level than normal, but the caster level you choose must be high enough for you to cast the spell in question, and all level-dependent features must be based on the same caster level.

So, no 1d6 fireball. 5d6 is the lowest you can go.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can a caster intentionally reduce the effect of a spell? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.