Can Arcane Caster Use Staff of Life?


Rules Questions


In description, it does not say anything about staves being limited to the spell's class. Could a wizard use a Staff of Life (which contains Heal)? Thanks.


Neverwynter wrote:
In description, it does not say anything about staves being limited to the spell's class. Could a wizard use a Staff of Life (which contains Heal)? Thanks.

Staves are spell-trigger items, which require the spell to be on your spell list. So under most circumstances, no, a wizard can't use a staff of life. Use Magic Device still works though.

Dark Archive

Lathiira wrote:
Neverwynter wrote:
In description, it does not say anything about staves being limited to the spell's class. Could a wizard use a Staff of Life (which contains Heal)? Thanks.
Staves are spell-trigger items, which require the spell to be on your spell list. So under most circumstances, no, a wizard can't use a staff of life. Use Magic Device still works though.

Thank you for the excellent help.

Grand Lodge

Some spell trigger items were obviously first created by multi-class types because they contain spells exclusive to arcane and divine lists.

In those cases, you are restricted to using the spells on the staff that are on your class list(s).


LazarX wrote:

Some spell trigger items were obviously first created by multi-class types because they contain spells exclusive to arcane and divine lists.

In those cases, you are restricted to using the spells on the staff that are on your class list(s).

Also staves that have both arcane and divine spells can be charged by both types of casters.

The staff of life is pretty limited, but for example, the staff of Healing could be partially used and charged by a bard since cure serious is on the bard spell list.

Grand Lodge

Charender wrote:


Also staves that have both arcane and divine spells can be charged by both types of casters.

The staff of life is pretty limited, but for example, the staff of Healing could be partially used and charged by a bard since cure serious is on the bard spell list.

A caster has to be able to cast the appropriate type of spell that matches the staff's highest level of spell as well as match the spell level. Otherwise the staff can not be recharged. If the highest level of spell on a staff is Raise Dead the would be charger has to be able to cast 5th level divine spells with Raise Dead being on the class list.


LazarX wrote:
Charender wrote:


Also staves that have both arcane and divine spells can be charged by both types of casters.

The staff of life is pretty limited, but for example, the staff of Healing could be partially used and charged by a bard since cure serious is on the bard spell list.

A caster has to be able to cast the appropriate type of spell that matches the staff's highest level of spell as well as match the spell level. Otherwise the staff can not be recharged. If the highest level of spell on a staff is Raise Dead the would be charger has to be able to cast 5th level divine spells with Raise Dead being on the class list.

That is incorrect. All you need to have is one of the staff's spells on your list, then sacrifice a slot when preping of the highest spell level in the staff.

-James

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
james maissen wrote:

That is incorrect. All you need to have is one of the staff's spells on your list, then sacrifice a slot when preping of the highest spell level in the staff.

-James

From the PFSRD:

but the caster must forgo one prepared spell or spell slot of a level equal to the highest-level spell cast by the staff.

The requirement is that the caster must sacrifice a spell or spell slot equal to the highest level spell in the staff. I would further rule that the caster's spell list must match that of the spell. if the highest level spell is divine, then you need to have a divine spell slot of that level available.


LazarX wrote:
james maissen wrote:

That is incorrect. All you need to have is one of the staff's spells on your list, then sacrifice a slot when preping of the highest spell level in the staff.

-James

From the PFSRD:

but the caster must forgo one prepared spell or spell slot of a level equal to the highest-level spell cast by the staff.

The requirement is that the caster must sacrifice a spell or spell slot equal to the highest level spell in the staff. I would further rule that the caster's spell list must match that of the spell. if the highest level spell is divine, then you need to have a divine spell slot of that level available.

You could further rule that they need the craft staff feat.

However neither is core rules on the issue.

Finally, only scrolls have 'arcane' vs 'divine' staves do not.

Is cure light wounds a divine spell? From a bard?

-James

Grand Lodge

james maissen wrote:


Finally, only scrolls have 'arcane' vs 'divine' staves do not.

Is cure light wounds a divine spell? From a bard?

-James

Depends on the original caster from everyone other than a bard it's divine, from a bard it's arcane. All bardic spells are arcane spells even if they mimic divine spells.

It does matter. Theoretically a bard with the right feats could craft a staff with his cure spells and other bard spells, by the rules, a cleric would not be able to do anything with that staff other than rapp you on the knuckles with it. Because the Bard Cure spells being arcane are NOT on the cleric spell list.


LazarX wrote:
It does matter. Theoretically a bard with the right feats could craft a staff with his cure spells and other bard spells, by the rules, a cleric would not be able to do anything with that staff other than rapp you on the knuckles with it. Because the Bard Cure spells being arcane are NOT on the cleric spell list.

LazarX, you usually have really good perspectives, but in this case you're mistaken.

James is right that only scrolls (as spell-completion items) are inherently arcane or divine. Anyone with a spell on their class list can activate that spell from a spell-trigger device, like wands or staves. In the case of staves, they are still limited to only activating the spells on their list, if there are others that they do not have.

I also agree regarding recharging - as long as you have one of the spells, and expend the appropriate level slot for the highest spell in the staff, you are covered. A somewhat different perspective is the case where a staff has a druid only spell as the highest, with a cleric recharging it. The cleric couldn't use that spell from the staff, but can recharge it (as long as they had another spell). As could a bard or wizard if they have a different spell in the staff.


LazarX wrote:


Depends on the original caster from everyone other than a bard it's divine, from a bard it's arcane. All bardic spells are arcane spells even if they mimic divine spells.

Actually, bardic spells never mimic divine spells. Because they're arcane spells from the bard spell list. Cure light wounds is not a divine spell. A cure light wounds cast by a cleric or druid or other divine caster is a divine spell. Because a divine caster casts it and its power comes from a divine source.

You could argue that spells that are only on divine spell lists are divine spells, but even that is not true, as you never know whether a future arcane class might get the spell on their list. For example, I could see a White Mage class that casts arcane spells and has all the healing stuff and stuff like true resurrection.

LazarX wrote:


It does matter. Theoretically a bard with the right feats could craft a staff with his cure spells and other bard spells, by the rules, a cleric would not be able to do anything with that staff other than rapp you on the knuckles with it. Because the Bard Cure spells being arcane are NOT on the cleric spell list.

That's not right: staves are not arcane or divine. They store raw magical power in the form of a captured spell effect. All you need in order to use it is to have the spell on your list.

If you want to recharge a staff, you must be capable of casting at least one of the spells in the staff (not just theoretically, like a wizard 1 using a staff of frost) and give up one spell slot equal to the highest-level spell in the staff.

That means that a bard with cure light wounds on his list of spells known could recharge a staff of healing with one of his 3rd-level slots


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Another interesting thing: can you recharge a staff with Use Magic Device, as long as you can actually spend a slot as required? Would a sorcerer be able to use Use Magic Device to pretend that he was able to cast heal or raise dead and then spend a 6th-level slot to recharge a staff of life? He can certainly pretend he could cast those spells to activate the staff.


Zaister wrote:
Another interesting thing: can you recharge a staff with Use Magic Device, as long as you can actually spend a slot as required? Would a sorcerer be able to use Use Magic Device to pretend that he was able to cast heal or raise dead and then spend a 6th-level slot to recharge a staff of life? He can certainly pretend he could cast those spells to activate the staff.

I think that's beyond the use of Use Magic Device.

He could, as you said, activate the staff. But so could a 1st level Wizard. The dual requirement of actually being able to cast a spell on the staff, as well as having the spell slot available pushes this pretty far away from just activation.

That said, it seems like a reasonable house rule, depending on the game. I'd use something like scroll DC for it though (20 + caster level to cast the spell), or higher (maybe 25+). Failure = lost slot for the day, no retry that day (since this is done throughout the time you are preparing spells).

Grand Lodge

Majuba wrote:
Zaister wrote:
Another interesting thing: can you recharge a staff with Use Magic Device, as long as you can actually spend a slot as required? Would a sorcerer be able to use Use Magic Device to pretend that he was able to cast heal or raise dead and then spend a 6th-level slot to recharge a staff of life? He can certainly pretend he could cast those spells to activate the staff.

I think that's beyond the use of Use Magic Device.

Use Magic Device by itself only covers what you need to do to activate a device, or to temporarily keep yourself save from alignment mismatch, It has no purview in item creation or the replenishment of staves.

Wands can not be recharged by any means... once you use them up, they're just pointy sticks.

In 3.x, the last was also true for just about all staves as well.


As far as I can tell UMD does not specifically let you recharge a staff that you normally couldn't.

However I don't see anything game-breaking about letting you use the "Use Wand" DC 20 use of UMD to pretend that a spell is on your class spell list. Like a 12th level Sorcerer spending a 6th level slot and a DC 20 UMD roll to recharge 1 charge on a staff of life. It's still an equivalent expenditure of party resources. You certainly couldn't use UMD to recharge a staff if you don't have a spell to recharge it with though.


meatrace wrote:

As far as I can tell UMD does not specifically let you recharge a staff that you normally couldn't.

However I don't see anything game-breaking about letting you use the "Use Wand" DC 20 use of UMD to pretend that a spell is on your class spell list. Like a 12th level Sorcerer spending a 6th level slot and a DC 20 UMD roll to recharge 1 charge on a staff of life. It's still an equivalent expenditure of party resources. You certainly couldn't use UMD to recharge a staff if you don't have a spell to recharge it with though.

I would probalby allow it only to cast a 6th level spell a cleric would need to be level 11. So they would need to duplicate a 11th level cleric (dc 31 20 +11).


Ughbash wrote:
meatrace wrote:

As far as I can tell UMD does not specifically let you recharge a staff that you normally couldn't.

However I don't see anything game-breaking about letting you use the "Use Wand" DC 20 use of UMD to pretend that a spell is on your class spell list. Like a 12th level Sorcerer spending a 6th level slot and a DC 20 UMD roll to recharge 1 charge on a staff of life. It's still an equivalent expenditure of party resources. You certainly couldn't use UMD to recharge a staff if you don't have a spell to recharge it with though.

I would probalby allow it only to cast a 6th level spell a cleric would need to be level 11. So they would need to duplicate a 11th level cleric (dc 31 20 +11).

Not unfair, someone dedicated to UMD will have a +21 around level 10 or 11 anyway.


Ughbash wrote:
meatrace wrote:

As far as I can tell UMD does not specifically let you recharge a staff that you normally couldn't.

However I don't see anything game-breaking about letting you use the "Use Wand" DC 20 use of UMD to pretend that a spell is on your class spell list. Like a 12th level Sorcerer spending a 6th level slot and a DC 20 UMD roll to recharge 1 charge on a staff of life. It's still an equivalent expenditure of party resources. You certainly couldn't use UMD to recharge a staff if you don't have a spell to recharge it with though.

I would probalby allow it only to cast a 6th level spell a cleric would need to be level 11. So they would need to duplicate a 11th level cleric (dc 31 20 +11).

Actually, they would only need to duplicate the lowest level spell on the staff. They only have to match one of the spells on the staff to recharge it, it doesn't have to the the highest level one.

If I make a staff that has cure light wounds and heal on it, and bard with cure light wounds can recharge it by giving up a level 6 spell slot.

A sorcerer would still need to be 12 level to have 6th level spell slot to give up.


Charender wrote:
Ughbash wrote:
meatrace wrote:

As far as I can tell UMD does not specifically let you recharge a staff that you normally couldn't.

However I don't see anything game-breaking about letting you use the "Use Wand" DC 20 use of UMD to pretend that a spell is on your class spell list. Like a 12th level Sorcerer spending a 6th level slot and a DC 20 UMD roll to recharge 1 charge on a staff of life. It's still an equivalent expenditure of party resources. You certainly couldn't use UMD to recharge a staff if you don't have a spell to recharge it with though.

I would probalby allow it only to cast a 6th level spell a cleric would need to be level 11. So they would need to duplicate a 11th level cleric (dc 31 20 +11).

Actually, they would only need to duplicate the lowest level spell on the staff. They only have to match one of the spells on the staff to recharge it, it doesn't have to the the highest level one.

If I make a staff that has cure light wounds and heal on it, and bard with cure light wounds can recharge it by giving up a level 6 spell slot.

A sorcerer would still need to be 12 level to have 6th level spell slot to give up.

A bard would have to give up a 6th level slot, so would a sorcerer...BUT a sorcerer can't cast any spells that are listed on the Staff of Life (nor can a Bard), which is what the question is in regards to.

A sorcerer would have to emulate the ability to cast one of those spells AND give up a 6th level spell, as you said. We were merely discussing, since it is not RAW, how we would adjudicate a UMD roll to emulate having a spell on your class list for the purposes of RECHARGING a staff.


meatrace wrote:
Charender wrote:
Ughbash wrote:
meatrace wrote:

As far as I can tell UMD does not specifically let you recharge a staff that you normally couldn't.

However I don't see anything game-breaking about letting you use the "Use Wand" DC 20 use of UMD to pretend that a spell is on your class spell list. Like a 12th level Sorcerer spending a 6th level slot and a DC 20 UMD roll to recharge 1 charge on a staff of life. It's still an equivalent expenditure of party resources. You certainly couldn't use UMD to recharge a staff if you don't have a spell to recharge it with though.

I would probalby allow it only to cast a 6th level spell a cleric would need to be level 11. So they would need to duplicate a 11th level cleric (dc 31 20 +11).

Actually, they would only need to duplicate the lowest level spell on the staff. They only have to match one of the spells on the staff to recharge it, it doesn't have to the the highest level one.

If I make a staff that has cure light wounds and heal on it, and bard with cure light wounds can recharge it by giving up a level 6 spell slot.

A sorcerer would still need to be 12 level to have 6th level spell slot to give up.

A bard would have to give up a 6th level slot, so would a sorcerer...BUT a sorcerer can't cast any spells that are listed on the Staff of Life (nor can a Bard), which is what the question is in regards to.

A sorcerer would have to emulate the ability to cast one of those spells AND give up a 6th level spell, as you said. We were merely discussing, since it is not RAW, how we would adjudicate a UMD roll to emulate having a spell on your class list for the purposes of RECHARGING a staff.

And I am saying that for consistancy, the sorcerer only needs to emulate one of the spells on the staff, not the highest level one, nor should the sorcerer have to emulate a certain caster level.

That is how I would handle it.

Scarab Sages

And a Bard1/Sor12 can recharge the staff because he has cure light wonds on his bard spell list and can forego a 6th level sorceror spell slot?


azhrei_fje wrote:
And a Bard1/Sor12 can recharge the staff because he has cure light wonds on his bard spell list and can forego a 6th level sorceror spell slot?

No because Cure Light Wounds isn't in a Staff of Life, I don't know what that guy is talking about lol.


Charender wrote:


And I am saying that for consistancy, the sorcerer only needs to emulate one of the spells on the staff, not the highest level one, nor should the sorcerer have to emulate a certain caster level.

That is how I would handle it.

Well emulating having a spell on your spell list is closest to the use staff/wand usage of UMD which is only a DC20. Personally I'm fine with this. I think the other gentleman was saying that DC20 seems too low for such a use, that DC 31ish would be more to his liking.

Consistency is great, but you're suggesting arbitrary things to a houserule OF a houserule to make them consistent with...what? What would be a fair DC to you, just the 20?


meatrace wrote:
Charender wrote:


And I am saying that for consistancy, the sorcerer only needs to emulate one of the spells on the staff, not the highest level one, nor should the sorcerer have to emulate a certain caster level.

That is how I would handle it.

Well emulating having a spell on your spell list is closest to the use staff/wand usage of UMD which is only a DC20. Personally I'm fine with this. I think the other gentleman was saying that DC20 seems too low for such a use, that DC 31ish would be more to his liking.

Consistency is great, but you're suggesting arbitrary things to a houserule OF a houserule to make them consistent with...what? What would be a fair DC to you, just the 20?

20 seem like a fair DC to me because you still have to have a level 6 slot available to give up.

I am trying to stay consistent with the existing rules. The existing rules for charging say you have to have the spell. There is nothing in the charging rules requiring your to match the caster level of the staff, so I simply don't see where the caster level requirement is coming from. The caster level requirement feels like something completely out of left field.

Sovereign Court

So... where did we land on this question?

In last night's game, an NPC Sorceress claimed she could raise the dead. I am in deep crap now if I don't figure out how this is possible. Thanks.
Pax


Pax Veritas wrote:

So... where did we land on this question?

In last night's game, an NPC Sorceress claimed she could raise the dead. I am in deep crap now if I don't figure out how this is possible. Thanks.
Pax

There are several ways:

1) If she is a Samsaran, she could have Raise Dead or Resurrection on her list because Witches get them.

2) If she is at least 14th level, she can cast Temporary Resurrection.

3) A Ring of Spell Knowledge could give her the ability to cast any of the above mentioned spells, albeit for a higher level slot.

4) There are several ways she could use UMD to cast it. A staff with Raise Dead or Resurrection in it would work with a DC 20 UMD check, as would a Page of Spell Knowledge (also a DC 20 UMD check to spoof having it on your class list).

5) She could be a double-talking b!+$* who was referring to any number of Necromancy spells like Animate Dead that she could cast to "raise" the dead.


mplindustries wrote:

3) A Ring of Spell Knowledge could give her the ability to cast any of the above mentioned spells, albeit for a higher level slot.

4) There are several ways she could use UMD to cast it. A staff with Raise Dead or Resurrection in it would work with a DC 20 UMD check, as would a Page of Spell Knowledge (also a DC 20 UMD check to spoof having it on your class list).

I thought Rings capped out at 4th level spells.

And, seeing as Pages of Spell Knowledge use your own spell slots and list, can you actually fake that? (I mean... you could I imagine, but it seems weird that it would actually do anything in that case.)


Pax Veritas wrote:

So... where did we land on this question?

In last night's game, an NPC Sorceress claimed she could raise the dead. I am in deep crap now if I don't figure out how this is possible. Thanks.
Pax

There are lots of ways.

There is the Razimirian(sp) Priest archetype for sorcerers, there is plain old limited wish/full wish, there are PrCs/races that let them have the raise dead spell, etc.

Are you the DM or a player?

-James

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can Arcane Caster Use Staff of Life? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.