richard develyn
|
In particular:
1) If I throw a two handed weapon, do I get 1.5 STR bonus on damage?
2) If I have a universalist wizard with Martial Weapon Proficiency (Glaive), say, does he get 1.5 STR bonus on damage when he does his Hand of the Apprentice with his Glaive?
3) Does point-blank shot to-hit *and* damage bonus apply to ranged touch attacks such as Disrupt Undead and Ray of Frost?
4) Does the above help in any way on non-hp-damaging ray attacks such as Ray of Enfeeblement?
Sorry if these have been asked before.
All the best
Richard
| grasshopper_ea |
In particular:
1) If I throw a two handed weapon, do I get 1.5 STR bonus on damage?
2) If I have a universalist wizard with Martial Weapon Proficiency (Glaive), say, does he get 1.5 STR bonus on damage when he does his Hand of the Apprentice with his Glaive?
3) Does point-blank shot to-hit *and* damage bonus apply to ranged touch attacks such as Disrupt Undead and Ray of Frost?
4) Does the above help in any way on non-hp-damaging ray attacks such as Ray of Enfeeblement?
Sorry if these have been asked before.
All the best
Richard
1) I'm not sure, I would be inclined to say no, as thrown weapons generally only get max 1X str if any. That and the fact that it's not meant to be a throwing weapon so is not being used to maximal efficiency leads me twoards no.
2) I would think yes here.
3) Yes certainly
4) It would help your attackroll but no extra -levels or str penalties etc.
| Dennis da Ogre |
1) If I throw a two handed weapon, do I get 1.5 STR bonus on damage?
Not by a strict reading of the rules.
"The wielder applies his Strength modifier to damage dealt by thrown weapons."
There is no exception for 2 handed thrown weapons.
2) If I have a universalist wizard with Martial Weapon Proficiency (Glaive), say, does he get 1.5 STR bonus on damage when he does his Hand of the Apprentice with his Glaive?
No, see above.
3) Does point-blank shot to-hit *and* damage bonus apply to ranged touch attacks such as Disrupt Undead and Ray of Frost?
By a strict reading of the rules no, but most GMs do let it apply to attack rolls.
This has been debated a bit, the feat says "with ranged weapons" and rays are weapon like spells... Talk to your GM or use your judgment.
4) Does the above help in any way on non-hp-damaging ray attacks such as Ray of Enfeeblement?
I've never heard anyone allowing PBS to boost damage. Regardless it wouldn't boost the STR drain.
richard develyn
|
Ok.
On a similar issue (i.e. w.r.t. range):
5) If a spell's range determines the maximum range from the caster at which a spell can take place, does that mean that a summoned monster cannot move outside of the spell's range (and do we measure from where the caster was when he cast the spell, or is the caster and his summoned creature always have to be within short range of each other)?
Cheers
Richard
| Hired Sword |
Ok.
On a similar issue (i.e. w.r.t. range):
5) If a spell's range determines the maximum range from the caster at which a spell can take place, does that mean that a summoned monster cannot move outside of the spell's range (and do we measure from where the caster was when he cast the spell, or is the caster and his summoned creature always have to be within short range of each other)?
Cheers
Richard
The Range only applies to the casting of the spell. The summoned creature could move any distance it wanted to away from the caster for the duration of the spell.
richard develyn
|
The Range only applies to the casting of the spell. The summoned creature could move any distance it wanted to away from the caster for the duration of the spell.
I always thought so, it's just this clause that made me wonder:
"A spell's range is the maximum distance from you that the spell's effect can occur"
w.r.t. PBS, I'm sure the +1 to hit should be there, since you can have Weapon Focus (Ray). I would also have thought the +1 to damage, for damaging spells, should be there too, since presumably the logic as to why you get it for weapons is the same (i.e. it's some sort of precision type damage).
Richard
| Hired Sword |
I always thought so, it's just this clause that made me wonder:
"A spell's range is the maximum distance from you that the spell's effect can occur"
Spells that limit the range an effect can move away from the caster (e.g. Flaming Sphere) generally specify this in the spell description. Summon Monster does not specify this restriction.
Cheers!
| BelGareth |
In particular:
1) If I throw a two handed weapon, do I get 1.5 STR bonus on damage?
2) If I have a universalist wizard with Martial Weapon Proficiency (Glaive), say, does he get 1.5 STR bonus on damage when he does his Hand of the Apprentice with his Glaive?
3) Does point-blank shot to-hit *and* damage bonus apply to ranged touch attacks such as Disrupt Undead and Ray of Frost?
4) Does the above help in any way on non-hp-damaging ray attacks such as Ray of Enfeeblement?
Sorry if these have been asked before.
All the best
Richard
The first two have been covered already and I agree with teh results. However the other two...
PBS DOES affect any spells that you roll to hit as it is precision based. ALSO the damage from PBS is appllied as precision based, if the spell deals hitpoint damage it adds 1 hitpoint dmage if it is anything else (like ray of enfeeblement) it adds 1 negative energy HP damage. same goes for Eneravation and the like, just like sneak attack.For more clear rules check out "complete mage" and Also PFHB(regarding sneak attack)
Shar Tahl
|
I do not see anything in the sneak attack rules stating it adds extra arcane, divine or ability damage.
Sneak Attack
If a rogue can catch an opponent when he is unable to defend himself effectively from her attack, she can strike a vital spot for extra damage.
The rogue's attack deals extra damage anytime her target would be denied a Dexterity bonus to AC (whether the target actually has a Dexterity bonus or not), or when the rogue flanks her target. This extra damage is 1d6 at 1st level, and increases by 1d6 every two rogue levels thereafter. Should the rogue score a critical hit with a sneak attack, this extra damage is not multiplied. Ranged attacks can count as sneak attacks only if the target is within 30 feet.
With a weapon that deals nonlethal damage (like a sap, whip, or an unarmed strike), a rogue can make a sneak attack that deals nonlethal damage instead of lethal damage. She cannot use a weapon that deals lethal damage to deal nonlethal damage in a sneak attack, not even with the usual –4 penalty.
The rogue must be able to see the target well enough to pick out a vital spot and must be able to reach such a spot. A rogue cannot sneak attack while striking a creature with concealment.
Shar Tahl
|
This part of the board is for PFRPG rules questions. The complete mage is not part of the system
I do not see anything in the sneak attack rules stating it adds extra arcane, divine or ability damage.
Sneak Attack
If a rogue can catch an opponent when he is unable to defend himself effectively from her attack, she can strike a vital spot for extra damage.
The rogue's attack deals extra damage anytime her target would be denied a Dexterity bonus to AC (whether the target actually has a Dexterity bonus or not), or when the rogue flanks her target. This extra damage is 1d6 at 1st level, and increases by 1d6 every two rogue levels thereafter. Should the rogue score a critical hit with a sneak attack, this extra damage is not multiplied. Ranged attacks can count as sneak attacks only if the target is within 30 feet.
With a weapon that deals nonlethal damage (like a sap, whip, or an unarmed strike), a rogue can make a sneak attack that deals nonlethal damage instead of lethal damage. She cannot use a weapon that deals lethal damage to deal nonlethal damage in a sneak attack, not even with the usual –4 penalty.
The rogue must be able to see the target well enough to pick out a vital spot and must be able to reach such a spot. A rogue cannot sneak attack while striking a creature with concealment.
| Sprith |
Complete Mage is accepted as a good source for detailing 3.5 rules about weapon like spells. Since PF is based on 3.5 and hasnt changed those rules, complete Mage remains a good source for the clarification of those rules. There are plenty of threads detailing weapon like spells interaction with feats and sneak attacks.
Heres a good one:
Touch Spells And Sneak Attack
He's perfectly fine to refer them to Complete Mage or Complete Arcane.
| Dennis da Ogre |
The first two have been covered already and I agree with teh results. However the other two...
PBS DOES affect any spells that you roll to hit as it is precision based. ALSO the damage from PBS is appllied as precision based, if the spell deals hitpoint damage it adds 1 hitpoint dmage if it is anything else (like ray of enfeeblement) it adds 1 negative energy HP damage. same goes for Eneravation and the like, just like sneak attack.
For more clear rules check out "complete mage" and Also PFHB(regarding sneak attack)
I don't want to drag this into a big debate because I think it's fine either way. However...
If you read the feat:
Benefit: You get a +1 bonus on attack and damage rolls with ranged weapons at ranges of up to 30 feet.
It is pretty clearly limited to Ranged Weapons, not weapons and weapon like spells, etc.
I know Complete Arcane contradicts this and I know many (most) GMs use the feat the way it is in Complete Arcane. Which is why I said it was a strict reading of the rules. You are essentially quoting a frequently used optional/ house rule.
That's why I also said "Ask your GM or use your judgment."
| Maezer |
And pathfinder says:
You aim a ray as if using a ranged weapon
As the Pathfinder core book is appears to be quoting the SRD word for word about this topic, its pretty safe to assume WotC published stance on this rule is the same one applied to Pathfinder until they change or alter the text in some fashion regarding the topic.
| Dennis da Ogre |
And pathfinder says:
Quote:You aim a ray as if using a ranged weaponAs the Pathfinder core book is appears to be quoting the SRD word for word about this topic, its pretty safe to assume WotC published stance on this rule is the same one applied to Pathfinder until they change or alter the text in some fashion regarding the topic.
Whatever, dude, like I said, not gonna debate it.
richard develyn
|
Further to the above (I'm thinking about universalist wizards, as you can guess).
If my wizard has proficiency with a Greatsword (somehow).
1) Could I buy myself a LARGE greatsword. Drop it while I cast enlarge person on myself (or more elegantly just let go of it for a second after I've cast enlarge person), and then use it with Hand of the Apprentice and get 3d6 damage with it?
2) Does Vital Strike work with Hand of the Apprentice (in particular with the above scenario doing 6d6 on a hit)?
Richard
| Zairos |
Further to the above (I'm thinking about universalist wizards, as you can guess).
If my wizard has proficiency with a Greatsword (somehow).
1) Could I buy myself a LARGE greatsword. Drop it while I cast enlarge person on myself (or more elegantly just let go of it for a second after I've cast enlarge person), and then use it with Hand of the Apprentice and get 3d6 damage with it?
2) Does Vital Strike work with Hand of the Apprentice (in particular with the above scenario doing 6d6 on a hit)?
Richard
1) Yes, but I just don't understand why would you have to drop it in first place?
2) No, because using Hand of the Apprentice is a standard action (that includes an attack roll), and not an attack action (which is the kind of action required to use Vital Strike)
Zairos.
James Risner
Owner - D20 Hobbies
|
1) If I throw a two handed weapon, do I get 1.5 STR bonus on damage?
2) If I have a universalist wizard with Martial Weapon Proficiency (Glaive), say, does he get 1.5 STR bonus on damage when he does his Hand of the Apprentice with his Glaive?
3) Does point-blank shot to-hit *and* damage bonus apply to ranged touch attacks such as Disrupt Undead and Ray of Frost?
4) Does the above help in any way on non-hp-damaging ray attacks such as Ray of Enfeeblement?
1) 3.p p141 says straight str bonus, not 1.5 ever.
2) see answer to #1, so straight not 1.5 times.
3) Yes, any attack and any damage roll. Keep in mind the DM needs to interpret the spells as "weapon like" for this to work.
4) No, as there is no attack and no damage rolls (your DM may say you deal 1 HP negative energy damage if he wants to use shaky interpretations.)
5) Summoned monsters can go out of the range when cast, since the range is only for where to bring them into existence.
1) LARGE greatsword ... cast enlarge person ... use it with Hand of the Apprentice and get 3d6 damage with it?
2) Does Vital Strike work with Hand of the Apprentice (in particular with the above scenario doing 6d6 on a hit)?
1) Throwning a two handed weapon takes a full round, a Large weapon is one size harder to wield (which means you can't use a Large Greatsword because that becomes a what? 3 handed weapon?), and there isn't anything listed for how to throw a weapon that requires more effort than a two handed weapon. So you can neither throw a Large Greatsword (or spear) as a Medium (even at -2) and can not use HotA because it is simply a thrown weapon attack.
2) No, since Vital is an attack action (standard action) and so is HotA.
| Dennis da Ogre |
1) LARGE greatsword ... cast enlarge person ... use it with Hand of the Apprentice and get 3d6 damage with it?
Are you talking about using enlarge to enlarge yourself and a greatsword then using HotA or carrying around a large sized great sword all the time and using HotA with that?
Using enlarge person to enlarge self + sword:
The text of enlarge person says
"Any enlarged item that leaves an enlarged creature's possession (including a projectile or thrown weapon) instantly returns to its normal size. This means that thrown and projectile weapons deal their normal damage."
Since Hand of the apprentice says you treat a weapon as a thrown weapon it would similarly shrink.
Lugging around a large sized great sword to use with HotA:
So you put the sword so it doesn't enlarge (free action to drop), cast enlarge person (standard action), pick back up the sword (move action), and finally (assuming the fighter hasn't killed the creature by this time) use hand of the apprentice (standard action) to get 3d6 damage?
In that case then yes, you deal 3d6 damage. IMO not a very effective use of the spells/ class abilities.
PS: Note that HotA does not grant proficiency though so unless you took the feat or have a level in fighter you are taking a big non-proficiency penalty.
2) Does Vital Strike work with Hand of the Apprentice (in particular with the above scenario doing 6d6 on a hit)? 2) No, since Vital is an attack action (standard action) and so is HotA.
richard develyn
|
Lugging around a large sized great sword to use with HotA:
So you put the sword so it doesn't enlarge (free action to drop), cast enlarge person (standard action), pick back up the sword (move action), and finally (assuming the fighter hasn't killed the creature by this time) use hand of the apprentice (standard action) to get 3d6 damage?
That's what I meant, yes, but I would have thought that, once enlarged, resting the greatsword on the ground and letting go of it for a split second would be a free action - no need to drop the thing on the floor.
Richard
James Risner
Owner - D20 Hobbies
|
I would have thought that, once enlarged, resting the greatsword on the ground and letting go of it for a split second would be a free action - no need to drop the thing on the floor.
As your DM, I'd say you would need sufficient time to activate (3 seconds) that the weapon would be on the ground and need a move action to recover by RAW. So free = drop, move = pick up.
| Dennis da Ogre |
That's what I meant, yes, but I would have thought that, once enlarged, resting the greatsword on the ground and letting go of it for a split second would be a free action - no need to drop the thing on the floor.
I'll let you and your GM worry about whether it's a move action or not. How are you getting Weapon Prof greatsword? (just curious)