
Atracious |
When recurring effects happen depends on where in the initiative it started. For example if a troll(with fast healing 5) is in the combat, it will heal whenever the initiative counter reaches his initial position in the initiative, regardless if it's position in the initiative changes. Ie- if the troll rolls a natural 20 on initiative then delays action till after the first PC attacks him, he will still heal BEFORE any of the pcs act in subsequent rounds even though he now acts after the person that attacked him. But other GM's might rule differently.

BillyGoat |
When recurring effects happen depends on where in the initiative it started. For example if a troll(with fast healing 5) is in the combat, it will heal whenever the initiative counter reaches his initial position in the initiative, regardless if it's position in the initiative changes. Ie- if the troll rolls a natural 20 on initiative then delays action till after the first PC attacks him, he will still heal BEFORE any of the pcs act in subsequent rounds even though he now acts after the person that attacked him. But other GM's might rule differently.
Barring a citation of where this interpretation comes from, I believe the RAW is as Zhayne says:
A round is composed of every combatant's turn. The regenerating/fast healing creature will regain HP on its turn, which occurs once per round.
The only rule I can find efficiently as to when to apply ongoing effects is the Bleed rules:
Bleed: A creature that is taking bleed damage takes the listed amount of damage at the beginning of its turn.
As it stands, though, I could see an FAQ question out of this:
FAQ Question: At what point during a round does a recurring effect get applied if it is not specified in the effect?

BillyGoat |
Basically, at the start of each of your turns, you gain x health back.
Okay, I'm with you...
You always resolve bleed damage(and other ongoing effects) and regen at the start of every round. It's a general rule.
Same for dealing with Saving from abilities, as long as the ability doesn't say otherwise.
Until you reverse your previous statement. bear in mind that regeneration references fast healing, so they should occur at the same point in the round, unless stated otherwise (start of round, start of affected creature's turn, etc).
While I acknowledge that the round represents everyone's actions handling simultaneously and thus in one sense round & turn begin at the same time, at the table turns are handled sequentially. Thus, start of round & start of turn are not the same thing.
In either case, since the question is "what is the RAW solution", please provide a link to the PRD or a page number we can look up in the CRB to find said rule. I readily believe it's there, but Legacyblade & I have not located it (as noted by his asking the question, and my not having a RAW answer).