|⦵ Hannes Schunk Venture-Agent, Online aka bakamono|
Tallow wrote:Why is nobody actually responding to the issue of the language in the summoning rule. It doesn't say equipment doesn't return with a summoned creature. It says summoned objects don't return. Gear you hand your eidolon is not summoned the first time you give it to them.
That text seems to apply to spells like instant summons which unhelpfully is also a conjuration (summoning) spell, even though calling might make more sense here.So it might just apply to spells that have an object as target (instead of a creature like many summoning spells).
Unfortunately the description of the sub school is not stellar and could really benefit from a FAQ somewhere down the line.
I think so too, that the line was mostly intended for spells with objects as targets.
Regarding the summoner we also have the issue that the summoning ritual of the Eidolon is neither a normal summoning spell, nor a calling spell. It's something in between that does not have clear rules on all matters and more faqs would certainly be helpful.
Just to make things less complicated I usually let players do what they want with their Eidolon items. Exceptions only come in if the game context calls for it.
If the mission is to smuggle an item from A to B and the summoner wants to use his Eidolon to circumvent the issue completely the item might just have something like a permanent dimensional anchor on it.