I've seen several threads on this issue but none of them seem to clear up my confusion. There seems to be a blatant contradiction in this paragraph from the Lycanthrope entry of the Bestiary:
"Ability Scores: +2 Wis, –2 Cha in all forms; +2 Str, +2 Con in hybrid and animal forms. Lycanthropes have enhanced senses but are not fully in control of their emotions and animalistic urges. In addition to these adjustments to the base creature's stats, a lycanthrope's ability scores change when he assumes hybrid or animal form. In human form, the lycanthrope's ability scores are unchanged from the base creature's form. In animal and hybrid form, the lycanthrope's ability scores are the same as the base creature's or the base animal's, whichever ability score is higher."
The contradiction is here:
Similar questions arise around STR and CON.
So, which is it? In human form, do they change or not?
I have a new Wizard with the Air School. One of the abilities is called Air Supremacy, which is a supernatural power. Su powers do not provoke AOOs: "Attack of Opportunity: Does using the ability provoke attacks of opportunity the way that casting a spell does? NO"
The text for Air Supremacy includes:
But it doesn't say how log it takes to "cast levitate on yourself". By the wording, it seems as if you can literally cast the spell, implying you are just casting it normally, but not using up a spell.
My problem is that doing that provokes an AOO. So does this mean you cast it without provoking an AOO, or is it more like you just will it to happen, and no casting is involved. If the latter, what kind of action is it (standard, immediate, swift, etc.)?
I'm a bit confused about Spell Resistance. If I cast Flames of the Faithful on a weapon (a bow in my case), does SR apply to the arrows shot from that bow (or in the case of a melee weapon)?
The spell says under Spell Resistance: yes (object, harmless)
What exactly does that mean? Since it can only be cast upon the Inquisitor's own weapon, in what circumstance would SR apply (or a saving throw, for that matter)?
I have a Tiefling Sorcerer who has Cold resistance from his race and also from his class (Sorcerer, Celestial bloodline: Celestial resistance, resist cold 5).
I can't find anywhere that says whether they stack or not. Of course I want them to stack, but the DM might not see it the same way :-)
Is there a definitive rule about this, or is it just going to be up to the DM?
For that matter, he is also an Inquisitor. He can also choose an Energy Resistance judgement....
How long does it take for a Sorcerer to cast Swift or Immediate Action spells with a metamagic feat?
The rules are given for Standard Action casting times and longer:
If a spell has a casting time of a Swift Action or an Immediate Action, should it be assumed they don't take any longer to cast? In many cases (i.e. Silent Feather Fall) taking a full round to cast it will not be helpful.
But the rules don't state or imply an answer, unless it is written somewhere else.
Just noticed this -- Under Shadowdancer:
It mentions 'assassin' twice:
"Improved Uncanny Dodge (Ex): At 5th level and higher, shadowdancer can no longer be flanked. This defense denies a rogue the ability to sneak attack the assassin by flanking him, unless the attacker has at least four more rogue levels than the target has assassin levels."
In the Core Rulebook, Getting Started, in the Wisdom section, it says, "Wisdom is the most important ability for clerics and druids, and it is also important for paladins and rangers."
How is Wisdom important for Paladins? A search for "Wisdom" on the Paladins page turns up a few skills that use it, and that's it. Rogues and Bards have the same number of class skills that use Wisdom.
Dread Bolt spell description
"You unleash a crackling missile of darkness from your unholy symbol at any one target in range as a ranged touch attack.
A good creature struck by dread bolt takes 1d8 points of damage per two caster levels (maximum 5d8). A good outsider instead takes 1d6 points of damage per caster level (maximum 10d6) and is sickened for 1 round. A successful Will save reduces the damage to half and negates the sickened effect. This spell deals only half damage to creatures that are neither good nor evil, and they are not sickened. The bolt has no effect on evil creatures."
(UM) Dread Bolt: (cleric 2) Duration says (1d4 rounds) but doesn't explain. It's otherwise instantaneous. What is 1d4 rounds?
There's nothing that looks like it might last 1d4 rounds.
It seems strange to me that my 1st level Wizard can't communicate with his familiar except via emotional urges and such. I can ask my group's Gnome to talk to him. If I knew a Druid, I could get him to convey my messages to my owl. But I can't. I could prepare Speak with Animals, but, alas, it is not on my spell list and therefore can't be in my book.
The best I can do, if my Gnome friend isn't around, or already used the ability today, is to cast Comprehend Languages on the owl, so that he at least can understand me.
When a monk uses Flurry of Blows with nunchaku, and gets, say, two attacks, if she wants to use the nunchaku for both attacks she'd have to use two nunchakus, just as if the attack is with kamas she'd need two kamas. If the nunchaku were a double weapon, she'd only need one in this case, which seems to make sense for nunchaku (i.e., the same as a quarterstaff).
Or am I mistaken about FoB, and a monk needs just one special monk weapon to use it for all blows? The rules are not clear on this - it simply says the monk needs to use unarmed attack or special monk weapons. It doesn't say she needs two for two attacks with that weapon.
This is probably a silly question, but according to the Core Rulebook, a Shuriken is included in the flurry of blows. Under FOB, it says, "When doing so [ed. FOB] he may make one additional attack using any combination of unarmed strikes or attacks with a special monk weapon (kama, nunchaku, quarterstaff, sai, shuriken, and siangham)..."
I think that is just a mistake in the book. Any other explanation doesn't make sense, really.
"he can spend 1 point to increase his speed by 20 feet for 1 round."
Does spending a Ki Pool point to increase a monk's speed by 20 increase his base speed or his total speed for the round.
In otherwords, does a 10th level monk (base speed 60) run at (60+20)x4 (=320), or does he run at 60x4 + 20 (=260)?
I posted this question earlier but I couldn't find it anywhere.