This is probably a silly question, but according to the Core Rulebook, a Shuriken is included in the flurry of blows. Under FOB, it says, "When doing so [ed. FOB] he may make one additional attack using any combination of unarmed strikes or attacks with a special monk weapon (kama, nunchaku, quarterstaff, sai, shuriken, and siangham)..."
I think that is just a mistake in the book. Any other explanation doesn't make sense, really.
shurikens have always been a flurry weapon. You dont melee with them, you throw them.
You're all right, I guess. I checked the WOTC site and found this "official" word:"Shuriken are on the list of special monk weapons, so a monk character can use the flurry of blows class feature to throw extra shuriken when using the full attack action."
Thanks, all, my monk O will be happy to start using these. With his STR bonus he can definitely make use of them!
|The black raven|
At one point the Sage commented that you could get up to 9 shuriken off in a round with Rapid Shot, Two-Weapon Fighting, and flurry. I wonder if they ever recanted that....
That would be cool, as 9 is historically the magic number of shuriken for ninjas.
But, IIRC, TWF is not cumulative with flurry anymore, though Rapid Shot seems to be by the RAW. Thus only 8 shuriken at 17th+ level.
This becomes impressive when you multiclass as a Rogue and get all those nice sneak attack damage on each and every attack you make.