Aduaitam's page

*** Pathfinder Society GM. 43 posts (44 including aliases). 5 reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 12 Organized Play characters.


RSS

Sovereign Court 2/5

Didn't see any specific language on it in the guide webpages

Sovereign Court

That's... Wow. Well, cheers all the same.

Sovereign Court

By that logic, none of the P-HH types can use *any* of the evolutions with prereqs. Seriously??

Sovereign Court

So the Plane-Hopper's Handbook introduces some eidolon types that my players wanna use in Organized Play. One of them wants to evolve a radiant eidolon to be a mount. This is troubling because the radiant eidolon isn't listed under the mount prereqs. In fact, none of the P-HH eidolons are listed under any of the unchained evolutions, likely because they came afterward. Who gets what?

Sovereign Court

Player's making a character, picks a background and a class feat that give him the same feat. Is it just useless at that level, or does he get a general feat or something?

Sovereign Court 2/5

NielsenE wrote:

Within any tier (a four level range), the lowest level of the tier is worth 2 points; second level within tier 3; third, 4; and highest level within tier 6 points.

The tier refers to the levels the adventure is written for, and the lowest level (for PC level bump purposes when playing high tier) is the lowest level allowed to play the adventure, not the lowest level in the party.

That makes so much more sense! Thank you!

Sovereign Court 2/5

So how do you calculate challenge points for a party comprising characters of equal level? Are they all the lowest? All the highest? How's that work?

Sovereign Court 2/5

Could anyone explain how the challenge points work with respect to party members of equal level? Let's say it's five first-level PCs. Are they all the lowest? All the highest? How's that work?

Sovereign Court

Sam Phelan wrote:

Hello Aduaitam,

I'm not sure what's going on with what you're seeing. It sounds like a technical issue may be involved. I have moved this thread to Website Feedback so that the tech team can have a look!

Thank you! How can I find that thread?

Sovereign Court 2/5

Good news and good to hear that Paizo really has a heart. This is why we're here, people.

Sovereign Court

Looks great! The chronicle sheet seems to have a "2" stuck in the Character Number field. Intentional or artifact?

Sovereign Court 2/5

Glen Parnell wrote:

@Aduait Assuming a scenario is not an Evergreen or Repeatable, in most cases you can only GM it once and Play it one (and GM and play in Core). If you spend a GM Star replay, you can Play or GM it (either, not both) only ONCE.

Other sources of replays (SS Jadnura, some strange chronicles, and the special replays that they have just granted us) bypass these restrictions.

You're a prince(ss)! In that case, how do I report it on Paizo.com? GM prestige zero, of course, but do I just apply it to a random character or leave it blank or what?

Sovereign Court 2/5

Forgive me for asking what I'm sure has already been clarified numerous times, but my search-fu is off today. Is it only once that you can GM a scenario and apply credit from it, or can you do that multiple times according to GM stars, or is it unlimited, or what?

Sovereign Court

Hi! So I just reported a session and found that my only prestige on any of my characters was for that session. It looks like becoming a three-star GM erased the rest of it? Sessions page is intact, but the characters page has a bunch of 0-XP characters... Oddly enough, "Show Sessions" for each character displays their sessions and credit, but it says Fame: 0 for each one with no Prestige counter.

Sovereign Court

Yo, know I'm a couple of years late to this one, but one of the items on the Chronicle sheet seems not to match the price I found in the Ultimate Equipment book. It's the

Spoiler:
cloak of elvenkind for 1500 rather than 2500 GP
.

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Need clarification on a statblock:

Spoiler:
Gold-clad mummies have mummy rot referenced in their SQ section and the blurb about it only being curable is in the entry for aurum death. So do they have both, or can their aurum death only be treated like mummy rot, or what?

Sovereign Court

Running this one soon. Anyone know what that thing on the cover is? Doesn't look like any of the referenced monsters...

Sovereign Court

Finally got around to running this, and it was brutal... on me, the GM. Players figured out the twist immediately and nailed the knowledge checks to bypass that challenging encounter. Still fun! But not a challenge for my party at all.

Sovereign Court 2/5

You GM for your kids? That's so cool!

Sovereign Court

"Changing a bardic performance from one effect to another requires the bard to stop the previous performance and start a new one as a standard action."

"Fascinate (Su): At 1st level, a bard can use his performance to cause one or more creatures to become fascinated with him.:

"Suggestion (Sp): A bard of 6th level or higher can use his performance to make a suggestion (as per the spell) to a creature that he has already fascinated (see above). Using this ability does not disrupt the fascinate effect, but it does require a standard action to activate (in addition to the free action to continue the fascinate effect)."

Both Fascinate and Suggestion are listed as Bardic Performances. RAI seems quite clear, but I was hoping for official clarification or at least strong group consensus. Is Suggestion used as part of the Fascinate performance, or is the "fascinate effect" distinct from the performance itself?

Sovereign Court 2/5

Wow, thanks! Deep dive is sincerely appreciated, graypark!

Sovereign Court 2/5

See, that's what I'm wondering as well. Campaign mode is outlined as distinct from scenarios in the Guide, well after the stipulations about legal table size.

Sovereign Court 2/5

Does a GM running a full Adventure Path in campaign mode need to stick to the party size for which the AP was built? What's the leeway on how many (or few) can join?

Sovereign Court

Spoiler:
I don't see the big revolt against non-CE goblins. Golarion's a massive place with incredibly diverse groups even within races, after all! My players have loved these little guys in recent scenarios. Besides, fantasy's a genre where one of the most popular and well-known characters is a Chaotic Good drow, y'know? Sure, we're a long way from We Be Goblins in several cases in this season, but I wouldn't go so far as to call it a retcon.

Treason's Chains:
All of my players have sworn fealty to Zig, man.

Sovereign Court 2/5

Cheers anew!

Sovereign Court 2/5

Follow-up. How do I number their sheet? Do I put it in the chronicle now and expect them to delay the XP, or make a note, or what?

Sovereign Court 2/5

You're a prince(ss), cheers!

Sovereign Court 2/5

Well, I ran it! Angazhani went down in a good three turns, the golem instantly breaking grapple and not even dropping to half health. The first golem. Of four. My player still had fun with the role, but felt it to be almost anticlimactic. "Like putting Gurren Lagann in Pacific Rim." Frankly, the wraiths were a larger threat... Still, suppose the final note is that my players had a good time and felt the intensity of breaking an epic siege.

Sovereign Court

The spell mad monkeys states that the "monkeys attempt one disarm or steal combat maneuver each turn as a free action against any creature that begins its turn in the swarm," which confuses me. Are they doing it when the creature begins its turn in the swarm? If so, that would have to be an immediate action, not a free action. If it truly is a free action that occurs on their turn, wouldn't it just say they attempt one check per turn for free on any creature within? Or is it meant to say that the swarm attempts one free disarm/steal check against any creature within the swarm once the swarm's turn begins?

Sovereign Court 2/5

Apologies if this has been answered before! So I just ran a tier 3-7 with my players, one of whom played a 4th-level pregenerated character. The PFS guide says that he "may apply credit for an adventure once [his] Roleplaying Guild character reaches the level of the pregenerated character." So that means that once a character of his reaches 4th, this chronicle can be applied to that character, if I understand correctly. Two questions.

1. Does it have to be applied to his first character to hit that level, or can he hold onto the chronicle until a character he prefers can take it?

2. When reporting the event on Paizo.com, how do I address this? Could put down a random character number for him, could leave it blank, could come back and add it in later, could create a new session later on specifically for this character... How does this work?

Sovereign Court 2/5

4 people marked this as a favorite.

Just ran S02-02 (Rescue at Azlant Ridge) with my home group.

Spoiler:
Forgot that we have a shaman who, in his backstory, is explicitly terrified of statues. So when they get to the Azlanti keep and wander into the statue room, the shaman immediately charges straight past into the complex and ends up with all four wraiths on him. Oddly enough, he shell of succors himself and ends up lasting without a hitch. The party's shouting at him. "We have to lure them into the sunlight!" "Shugur, we're coming!" He just hangs out in the corner, shaking his head. "These I can handle, but I'm not going back in there!"

Would you believe it? Once they dispatch the wraiths and the Angazhani starts to charge the camp, the party retrieves the control device and heads back outside. Whose consciousness is instantly shunted into it? Who picked it up while dancing around a bunch of wraiths? Shugur, of course, has now become a statue. I then had to rule on whether an iron golem could, in fact, have a panic attack.

Sovereign Court 2/5

Running it tonight, and I'm just not sure how the Angazhani is supposed to match even one monolith! The golem automatically hits unless rolling a 1, bypasses the boss's DR and has crazy damage, while the gorilla has a decent chance to hit only because its stat block seems to have been improperly calculated? At the very least, it has a maximum amount of ~16 non-crit damage on the golem per turn if it hits all attacks with maximum damage rolls for each.

Sovereign Court

Anyone else see an issue with the boss's statblock? The math in no way checks out.

Spoiler:
Seems like the advanced template wasn't applied, Dex mod is +3 but only 2 goes to AC, attack bonuses for bite and claw are identical even though it has weapon focus (claw), so on. But the numbers all get lower when you run the math from scratch, which makes it basically incapable of taking on its foe--an advanced iron golem with 15 DR who bypasses the Angazhani's DR with +36 to hit against ~25--let alone four of them in succession...

Not sure if there's been a fix on this somewhere.

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.

So I run this one with a group that has been invested OOC with the role of Valais Durant. Lining up the timing so they can all get their fifth-level characters through this at once is torture, but they won't have it any other way. So we come to this startling conclusion. Maybe I shoulda read it before putting them on this path. Why:

Entry:
is the only way for them to get into Heaven and gain the golden apple for everybody in the party to have Knowledge (Religion) trained?? This seems like a surefire way for one fighter or something to ruin an entire party's chance at not being treated like a piece of garbage by the archons from the get-go.

King of Strings:
is the combat with Laktharis so weak? He can get dropped by a bunch of tier 5s before they even get the message about Intimidation, Perform, etc. I played the halfling well, gave them every hint I could without outright requesting the aforementioned checks--even Akarah chimed in with, "Hey, that wasn't very funny!" and "The kids aren't laughing..." but she never got a third chance to speak thanks to our wizard's burning arc and our ranger's greatsword.

the Finale:
does every character have to roll Diplomacy at the end? I get that it's better than one party face removing any need for flexibility from the other characters, but DC 23 from everybody, and only one free miss before they never get to see Valais be reborn as an aasimar? Then our three charismatic characters whiffed, so all that work was for nothing and they were kicked out like mangy dogs.

Art:
is there so little art?? Neither of Valais's new forms, no puppet Laktharis, no Altha the Scrivener... Paizo, I'll commission your artists for you out-of-pocket if it prevents further missed opportunities.

Environment:
are the locales so underutilized? Granted, the Great Library of Harmonious Scripture can be a neat place if you describe it well enough, but giving the players a rowboat and forcing them to do the same stuff they do in a dungeon, just now it's on another plane and with bookshelves instead of caves, really underwhelmed my group.

This is the big one:
are the stakes. So. Low. Nothing short of murdering people in the pearly streets will keep this scenario from healing Valais. If the Pathfinders fail their ultimate checks, Kitarlo is forever BANNED from... vacationing in the market district of another plane? Granted, he needs those rituals for his arm, but there are plenty of divine beings who could help him out, and access to the library wasn't a regular thing for him either. The only real tragedy was the somewhat vague and never followed-up-on threat of the entire Society maybe being banned from teleporting to Heaven, a well-explored outer plane, which I'm sure they do not get the chance to do on a regular basis.

Man. I expected better of Heaven's Shore.

Sovereign Court

bump

Sovereign Court

On this, does Swallow Whole require the damage to be healed before it can be used again as in 1e? Didn't see anything to that effect, but it was a bit sad when our alchemist popped his mutagen in the lake, kept getting swallowed, chewing his way out, getting swallowed, chewing his way out, and then at some point one of the two died.

Sovereign Court

So I'm making a spreadsheet of all treasure in the Playtest Rulebook and found that the adamantine battleaxe is on the 9th-level treasure list but has an item level of 7. Are these numbers separate elsewhere, is this just a fluke, did I miss something, or what? It doesn't make sense to me to have those levels distinct from one another.

Sovereign Court 2/5

BigNorseWolf wrote:

Something that wasn't disposable wouldn't have a time limit.

Then again there's no penalty to not having a fire really.

See, I want to agree, but a time limit also means you can't turn it off until that time passes. That combined with all the items that specifically state the item is used up after the time period (lotta wondrous items, probably some gear too) really makes me doubtful, and I'll likely remain so until someone finds specific RAW or an analogous/direct dev ruling.

Sovereign Court 2/5

So two of my players bickered a bit over whether heatstones (20 GP, 1 lb, 24 hours of warm comfortable heat, etc.) are reusable. The more seasoned GM of the two insists that they shouldn't be because they're inexpensive and the gear description doesn't say they are. However, argues the other players, the description doesn't say they aren't. My take from a lore perspective is that Heatstones are described in Campaign Setting as needing replacement "every three years", with the alchemical treatment described in the entry allowing for 24-hour cycle activation rather than continuous radiation. I agree it seems a bit OP, but RAW needs clarification unless I missed something. Thoughts?

Sovereign Court

Bump-a-dee-bump bump. Server updates, maybe?

Sovereign Court 2/5

A noble of Cassomir, reduced to begging on the Paizo forums... Yet if need be, I shall supplicate myself to the overlords in exchange for sweet elemental flavor. Thanks, folks!

Sovereign Court 2/5

Cheers! So the only Suli boons extant are tradable, no way to generate new ones?

Sovereign Court 2/5

So I haven't found a post since 2014 about a Suli race option for PFS and one of my players has his heart set. How do we make this happen in the Year of Factions' Favor, if at all? And do you kind folks think the Concordance's emergence increases the likelihood of their being playable in Season 10?