Question on attack nomenclature


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

This has to have been asked and answered at least once, but I apparently just suck at search-fu and there comes a time when it's simpler to just ask the question at large.

In the Bestiaries, when attacks are listed as being in numerical value, what does that exactly mean?

Example:
Tiger's melee is listed as: 2 claws, bite. (omitting the bonuses and damage)

So, if a tiger does NOT make a full attack, how many claw attacks does it make? 1 or 2?

Thanks to any and all for clarification to a stupid question. Equally appreciative to anyone who can point to where I didn't have the sense to look to see the answer in black and white for myself. :)


You only get one attack for a standard action. So you can get one claw or one bite.

It is in the combat chapter of the CRB. You only get one attack with a standard action.

NPC's and PC's follow the same rules in PF unless they have a special ability.


Pathfinder Adventure, Rulebook Subscriber

It's not a stupid question and I overlooked that rule myself in my early days as a GM (which were not so long ago). Because of the notation I even went with 2 claws as a standard action until I encountered a creature with 4 claw attacks and felt that something was off.

In any case, wraithstrike is right and here are the rules to back him up.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question on attack nomenclature All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.