| Aubrey the Demented/Malformed |
Sorry for the delay... hoping this was worth the wait...
Attack: 19+5=24 26 if i am flanking
Confirm: 15+5=20 22 if flankingDamage: 1+2=3 +3 if flanking
critical damage: 3+2=5 +3 if flanking
No probs - not trying to hurry you, more making sure the message didn't get lost in a load of posts.
Recap:
Dravite: 20+ (unconscious)
Vethran: 20- (unconscious)
Larken: 17++ (unconscious)
The Thing: 17+
Alwyn: 17-
Elisile: 15+
Lo'j: 15-
Illes: 11
Hudak: 8
Davos: 4
Lo'j hits the quivering column of slime with his sword, but it makes little impression.
I'm assuming you 5' step to C8. You can't get flanking as all potential flankers are lying unconscious on the floor. I'm also assuming that Alwyn is at B8.
Illes, then Hudak, then Davos.
| Davos Quaith |
Davos takes a step away from the slime demon and calls out to his goddess. A shimmering blade of force appears in front of him and strikes at the creature.
5ft-step away from the demon. Casts Spiritual Weapon.
Spiritual Weapon Attack (1d20+5=23)
Threat! I don't think the bardic music affects this roll, but if it does, add 2.
Spiritual Weapon Confirm (1d20+5=19)
Hope that hits.
Spiritual Weapon Damage (1d8+1=8)
Spiritual Weapon Crit Damage (1d8+1=3)
If it hits: 8 dmg
If it crits: 11 dmg
(Incase it has SR)
Caster Level Check (1d20 3=21)
The spiritual scimitar will continue to attack on my turn for 3 rounds.
| Davos Quaith |
"Nice," Hudak hisses through clenched teeth.
I got lucky. Usually the Invisible Castle dice roller hates me.
With the amount of healing I can do in one round vs. the amount of damage this slime demon can do in one round, I figure we should try to bring it down before we heal our dying comrades. Either that, or let it out, heal up, and then chase it down.
| Elisile Starbrow |
I just realised that Elisile missed her go this turn – she should have acted between Alwyn and Lo’j.
I’ll assume she was shocked by Dravite and Larken falling and delayed until the end of the round.
Shaking herself back into action, Elisile pushes through the press (to B6) and stabs at the monster with her rapier.
Attack:15+5+2 (bardic) = 22.
Damage: 6+1+2 (bardic) = 9
| Elisile Starbrow |
"That's right!!! Show that Jello-encrusted b@@%@ who's boss!"
There’s an excellent chance I didn’t punch through its DR. Was also hoping for a crit!
| Dravite Schorl |
Actually the creature can't 5'step, attack and then open the door.
5' step----Take 5-Foot Step
You can move 5 feet in any round when you don’t perform any other kind of movement. Taking this 5-foot step never provokes an attack of opportunity. You can’t take more than one 5-foot step in a round, and you can’t take a 5-foot step in the same round when you move any distance.
You can take a 5-foot step before, during, or after your other actions in the round.
You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn’t hampered by difficult terrain or darkness. Any creature with a speed of 5 feet or less can’t take a 5-foot step, since moving even 5 feet requires a move action for such a slow creature.
You may not take a 5-foot step using a form of movement for which you do not have a listed speed.
Opening a door counts as a move.
| Aubrey the Demented/Malformed |
My personal take is that it is a move-equivalent action, but not a move. As such, the reason for the rule is to prevent someone trying to get an additional 5' to their speed when they move - so you don't go "standard action, move 30', and then move another 5' because you can always fit in a 5' move", for a total of one standard action and 35' of movement.
However, I don't see opening a door as a problem with this, because you are not moving any distance. I don't see a big different between "full attack and move 5'" which is a bit like saying "use your standard action, together with your move action for something other than moving, and move 5'" and what my super slime did.
I also don't see this as incompatible with what you quoted. It hinges on whether they mean "a move" to be actually moving or a more general interpretation as "a move or move-equivalent action". I suggest the former, rather than the latter. In fact, if we go with the latter interpretation, it suggests you cannot perform any action at all with your move-equivalent action and get a 5' step, which could be contradictory with other bits of that description, like saying you can take a 5' step after you other actions (plural) in a round. And since you are allowed to 5' step in the middle of a full, iterative attack, I don't really see it as a problem to do something, move 5', and then have your other action.
I guess, in summary, I rule that you can always have a 5' move, unless you are actually moving more than 5', to prevent an extra 5'movement being "slipped in". But if the character has not used their actions for moving anywhere, then an additional 5' adjustment is permissible.
| Alwyn Agnarrson |
"Hnnnng... Get back here. I'm not done with you!" Alwyn staggers after the slimy thing.
Move to C6 and attack. Attack roll 13+5+1(weapon)+2(bardic music)+2(flank via Illes)-2(power attack)=AC 21. Damage 9+3+1(weapon)+2(bardic music)+3(Master of tactics)+4(power attack)=22.
| Aubrey the Demented/Malformed |
The thing seems to burst like a particularly large pustule, coating the floor, ceiling and walls with green, catarrh-like ooze and drenching Alwyn in the stinking mess. Its glaring eye turns into a red puddle and runs away in an oily slick, and the fire pit hisses as the slow tide of mucous flows away in a large, inert pool. Silence descends on the room, broken only by the heavy breathing of the surviving combatants.
End of combat.
| Alwyn Agnarrson |
As the demon finally falls, Alwyn scrambles over to Larken's prone body.
Burning Remove paralysis to cast Cure moderate wounds on Larken, who regains 13 hit points.
Next is Dravite - I'll burn Remove fear and Shield of faith to cast two Cure light wounds on him. He regains 12 hit points.
Finally, I'll burn Divine favor to cast Cure light wounds on Gurney. The dog regains 10 hit points.
Anyone else down?
| Alwyn Agnarrson |
"Nothing natural about her, but I won't argue that point. I'll have to look this thing up once we get back to Sandpoint." Having made sure that nobody's dying, Alwyn limps over to Vethran's unconscious form. "What do we do with him? Is it safe to wake him up?"
The oily demon-glop isn't doing any Terminator-style re-combination?
| Dravite Schorl |
Thank ye, baldy, and to you, Father.
Dravite focuses on his healing belt momentarily and feels a rush of curative force. Dravite is up and at 16 of 23, good enough for now... 2d8=8. I be havin' two more hits off'n de healin' belt fer who be hurtin' most. Who be needin' it?
| Dravite Schorl |
Hudak, stand still, lad. Dravite allows the healing to flow from himself into Hudak then he turns to Alwyn and does the same. 2d8=3 for Hudak, sorry, 2d8=12 for Alwyn. No more belt charges for the day....
Father, 'ere, I be returnin' de favor.
| Aubrey the Demented/Malformed |
If we go by Alwyn's total, you should all squeak over by 10xp. Assume you all go up, and increase your xp to that amount (unless someone has more).
A cursory check of the doors with the skull motif shows that they open on to a descending chamber into the which the sea has penetrated. The room is otherwise empty except for one object - a disturbingly large helmet made of some bronzy, pitted metal, through which the waters swirl sluggishly as the waves pound the island outside. At a rough guess, the wearer of the headgear, if proportioned roughly the same as a human, would have been approximately 50' tall.
In the other unexplored room, to the north of the hallway, can be found the image of a man - tall, stern and clutching a glaive, and probably the original model for the statues in the hall. He mumbles words in an ancient tongue, repeating over and over a repetitive phrase, seemingly addressing a now-long dead audience.
If you speak Thassilonian:
And so on.
The rest of the complex is empty, except for the dust of ancient memories. The doughty heroes begin their homeward trek, reflecting on Nualia's sad, demented folly, and the madness of goblins.
| Aubrey the Demented/Malformed |
I logged back on to say......
Yes! We have finished Burnt Offerings. I guess you can have a read of it if you want (but DON'T read the Thassilon chapter, which is rife with spoilers for the rest of the campaign). Burnt Offerings contains some minor, relatively inconsequential spoilers for the next chapter, so if you don't want to see those, don't read the adventure.
And so begin.... The Skinsaw Murders (dun dun duuuuuun!).