Kineticists and Rods and Staves


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

15 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

A Kineticist has to have all hands (and prehensile appendages) free to gather power, and requires at least one free to use a blast. So, how exactly does one use a Vril Staff? This also means they cannot gather power when using a Hollow Rod, and definitely not a Vril Staff.


I was wondering about that as well...


I was excited, and then disappointed by these items for that reason.


I would think that they were intended to be the exception to the common rule as their use is tied to the class specifically and you'll only likely see real issues in a Society game (which I find to be a PHENOMENAL waste of time and effort anyway).

If not... well... that's just more fuel to the pyre of Kineticist hate...

Silver Crusade

What kind of action is it to put a staff in your mouth and back to your hand?


Doesnt the Vril staff state something like "when wielded by a kineticist" i dont have the book in front of me but i thought it specified it had to be wielded which would seem to be saying it is a special exception to the needing a free hand rule.


You are required to have it in some limb capable of holding and using objects. Therefore, you do not have all hands free for Gather Power. Wielding requires using, whereas held does not.

But for those nova moments, I can see these being somewhat useful. The Vril Staff, maybe, for attacking something that has a resistance to your damage types.

For 200,000, it's unlikely I'll ever want to pick it up unless I have already picked up every other useful toys I want to play with and have the money to burn.


It seems to me that the mentioned objects would work with a Telekineticist who utilizes Kinetic Blade/Whip:

Kinetic Blade wrote:
You form a weapon using your kinetic abilities. You create a nonreach, light or one-handed weapon in your hand formed of pure energy or elemental matter. (If you're a telekineticist, you instead transfer the power of your kinetic blast to any object held in one hand.) The kinetic blade's shape is purely cosmetic and doesn't affect the damage dice, critical threat range, or critical multiplier of the kinetic blade, nor does it grant the kinetic blade any weapon special features. The object held by a telekineticist for this form infusion doesn't prevent her from using gather power.

I'm not entirely sure if you can apply an infusion without actually making it part of a blast, but if you can, you could easily take up Kinetic Blade and use Aether as either your primary or either expanded element and that'll allow you to Gather Power with an object in-hand as early as 5th level. Even if not, you can still become a telekineticist jedi of sorts, I'd assume, by focusing on using Telekinetic Blast with the Blade/Whip infusions and attacking with the Vril Staff or Hollow Rod?


Mark answered this question when I asked in his thread.

Mark Seifter wrote:
Protoman wrote:
Would a kineticist holding an overflowing rod or hollow rod or vril staff be unable to gather power as both hands/all appendages are no longer free?
Overflowing rod was intended to be one that you just carry on your person and not in hand to get passives, like rod of splendor. The other two do require being in hand, so you'll probably want gloves of storing or the like (which are pretty cheap compared to the two items in question); things that let you draw super-fast are also really helpful on that front.

Grand Lodge

Well, that makes the Overflowing Rod a must have for my Kineticist. The other two are unlikely due to the price.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Kineticists and Rods and Staves All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions