Use magic device


Rules Questions


Does a rogue get a 12 bonus on her use magic device check to activate a wand if she has used that wand already?


ronald letourneau wrote:
Does a rogue get a 12 bonus on her use magic device check to activate a wand if she has used that wand already?

As far as I know, there are no bonuses that allow a PC to use a Wand regularly.

I'm probably wrong on this, but there is nothing to mention of a Wand needing a UMD check. I believe UMD checks apply to Staves and miscellaneous items related to them (such as, for example, a Stone with powers capable of granting the user Metamagic Feats).


Use a Wand, Staff, or Other Spell Trigger Item: Normally, to use a wand, you must have the wand's spell on your class spell list. This use of the skill allows you to use a wand as if you had a particular spell on your class spell list. Failing the roll does not expend a charge.

The DC is 20, and nothing gives you a bonus to using it if you've used it already. If you're activating something blindly (that is, you have no idea what it does), the DC is 25, but you get a +2 if you've managed to do it at least once before. That doesn't stack with itself, though.


No he gets no bonus if he is trying to emulate having the spell on his list. If he is using the activate blindly version of UMD he might get a +2 but i can't see why he would want to try at a DC 5 higher even witha +2 on the check.


Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
ronald letourneau wrote:
Does a rogue get a 12 bonus on her use magic device check to activate a wand if she has used that wand already?

As far as I know, there are no bonuses that allow a PC to use a Wand regularly.

I'm probably wrong on this, but there is nothing to mention of a Wand needing a UMD check. I believe UMD checks apply to Staves and miscellaneous items related to them (such as, for example, a Stone with powers capable of granting the user Metamagic Feats).

You just missed it, I think. Wands require a static DC 20 UMD check to activate. Failing has no penalties other than the wasted action, except that on a natural 1 the wand cannot be activated by that player for 24 hours. This "nat 1" rule only applies if the rolling a 1 failed the check though.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/skills/use-magic-device

ronald, what class feature do you think gives a rogue a +12 bonus? I'm not sure where the idea came from so I'm not sure if it's right or not.

EDIT: Oh never mind, the people above me got it.


Melissa Litwin wrote:

You just missed it, I think. Wands require a static DC 20 UMD check to activate. Failing has no penalties other than the wasted action, except that on a natural 1 the wand cannot be activated by that player for 24 hours.

Just wanted to make sure it was pointed out that the 24 hour lock out is only if you roll a nat 1 and still fail the check.


Talonhawke wrote:
Melissa Litwin wrote:

You just missed it, I think. Wands require a static DC 20 UMD check to activate. Failing has no penalties other than the wasted action, except that on a natural 1 the wand cannot be activated by that player for 24 hours.

Just wanted to make sure it was pointed out that the 24 hour lock out is only if you roll a nat 1 and still fail the check.

True true! Edited to fix it. Thanks for the catch.


So the only way to use a Wand is with a UMD check, even if you have the spell on your spell list?

That severely dumbs down the entire usage of wands, don't you think?


Read the section UMD is to convince the wand you have the spell on you list if you already have it on there the its a simply "Swish and Flick"


Darksol the Painbringer wrote:

So the only way to use a Wand is with a UMD check, even if you have the spell on your spell list?

That severely dumbs down the entire usage of wands, don't you think?

Use Magic Device wrote:
Use a Wand, Staff, or Other Spell Trigger Item: Normally, to use a wand, you must have the wand's spell on your class spell list. This use of the skill allows you to use a wand as if you had a particular spell on your class spell list. Failing the roll does not expend a charge.

This only applies to using wands when you don't have the spell on your class spell list.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Use magic device All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions