| seebs |
So, the d20pfsrd site, and the older d20srd site for the 3.5 rules, both refer to a general principle that bonuses from the same source don't stack.
However, I can't find this rule in the actual PRD rules.
The guts of this is in the introductory "how to play" section.
3.5E:
Stacking
In most cases, modifiers to a given check or roll stack (combine for a cumulative effect) if they come from different sources and have different types (or no type at all), but do not stack if they have the same type or come from the same source (such as the same spell cast twice in succession). If the modifiers to a particular roll do not stack, only the best bonus and worst penalty applies. Dodge bonuses and circumstance bonuses however, do stack with one another unless otherwise specified.
So, in Pathfinder, we don't have that. What we get is:
Bonus: Bonuses are numerical values that are added to checks and statistical scores. Most bonuses have a type, and as a general rule, bonuses of the same type are not cumulative (do not “stack”)—only the greater bonus granted applies.
[...]
Stacking: Stacking refers to the act of adding together bonuses or penalties that apply to one particular check or statistic. Generally speaking, most bonuses of the same type do not stack. Instead, only the highest bonus applies. Most penalties do stack, meaning that their values are added together. Penalties and bonuses generally stack with one another, meaning that the penalties might negate or exceed part or all of the bonuses, and vice versa.
There is no reference at all to the "same source" rule. A search of the PRD for the text "same source" produces a total of five results, all of which are moderately specific to particular rules; for instance, a wizard cannot try to learn a spell from the "same source" again after failing.
Is this even actually a rule anymore? If so, where is it?
| seebs |
Core p208 wrote:Bonuses without a type always stack, unless they are from the same source.
Huh. So the PRD search function is broken, because a search for "same source" in the PRD doesn't find this... Oh, because the same page also has the borrowed spellbooks rule, so it shows only one of those two results.
But, this gives us a new question:
Does this rule apply to bonuses from anything other than spells? This is the section for "special spell effects". It's the same section that redefines "attack" to mean "all offensive combat actions", which is not at all the definition used in the rest of the rules. This section says it is about the bonuses granted by spells.
What about non-spell bonuses? Why is this rule not found elsewhere? Or is it just that the PRD search is totally broken?
| Tacticslion |
For the full text, mine has:
Special Spell Effects
Many special spell effects are handled according to the school of the spells in question. Certain other special spell features are found across spell schools.<snip "Attacks">
Bonus Types: Usually, a bonus has a type that indicates how the spell grants the bonus. The important aspect of bonus types is that two bonuses of the same type don’t generally stack. With the exception of dodge bonuses, most circumstance bonuses, and racial bonuses, only the better bonus of a given type works (see Combining Magical Effects). The same principle applies to penalties—a character taking two or more penalties of the same type applies only the worst one, although most penalties have no type and thus always stack. Bonuses without a type always stack, unless they are from the same source.
<snip "Bringing Back the Dead" and the subheadings under it>
Combining Magic Effects
Spells or magical effects usually work as described, no matter how many other spells or magical effects happen to be operating in the same area or on the same recipient. Except in special cases, a spell does not affect the way another spell operates. Whenever a spell has a specific effect on other spells, the spell description explains that effect. Several other general rules apply when spells or magical effects operate in the same place:
Stacking Effects: Spells that provide bonuses or penalties on attack rolls, damage rolls, saving throws, and other attributes usually do not stack with themselves. More generally, two bonuses of the same type don’t stack even if they come from different spells (or from effects other than spells; see Bonus Types, above).
Different Bonus Types: The bonuses or penalties from two different spells stack if the modifiers are of different types. A bonus that doesn't have a type stacks with any bonus.
That hardly makes a solid argument one way or the other, though it certainly seems to lean against same-source stacking (which is the most common interpretation of the wording). Interesting.
EDIT:
Upon re-reading it, though, it's interesting. The second entry notes magical effects (applying more broadly than to just spells)... and then goes on to explicitly cite that bonuses without a type stacks with any bonus for magical effects which, based on normal English use would indicate that the latter (the second) over-rules the former (the first) by being more specific... except that the latter would invalidate the implication of the former and is (technically speaking) more broad than the former.
Thus, I suspect that the intent is that the same source does not stack, but the rules don't back that up at all. They kind of half imply it ("always stack unless they're from the same source") but they don't explicitly note that it's true, whereas they later explicitly note that bonuses without types always stack, by RAW.
| Matt2VK |
Do Luck Bonuses stack if they're from a different source?
Example -
Halfling +1 to all saves is a racial luck bonus.
Clerics Divine Favor (1st level spell) is a Luck Bonus.
Clerics Prayer (3rd level spell) is a Luck Bonus.
Then there's resistance bonuses -
Cloak of Resistance +1
Armor made from a special material that gives a +1 bonus vs Arcane spells and abilities.
Would these stack?
I always gotten confused on this type of stuff so I try and avoid anything that looks like it might not stack. Just getting to the point where I need to know.
| Tacticslion |
I'm almost positive the Divine Favor and Prayer do NOT stack.
I am curious on if the +1 to saves Halfling get as a racial feature would stack with Prayer as it is stated it's a Luck Bonus.
Again, I would suggest that RAW it does not, but RAI it's (probably? I'm not reading minds, just guessing) supposed to - or, quite possibly (and, even more likely, I suspect) it's supposed to according to some designers and not supposed to according to others.
| Tacticslion |
Stacking and same source are different things. Dodge and untyped bonuses stack, otherwise the don't (without some exception). This is more about the untyped bonuses and same source.
Agreed that they are definitely different, but also related.
"Same Source" doesn't matter without "Stacking Effect" (or bonus) being added. :)
EDIT: Also, I noted and read the thread that started this conversation - interesting, and very useful.
| seebs |
I am pretty sure that luck bonuses never stack because they are typed bonuses of a type which does not stack.
Typed bonuses of certain types, and untyped bonuses, stack with everything. Unless they are spell effects from the same source.
... Only it seems like it's almost certainly intended to apply to other bonuses. But then why is this wording buried in the magic chapter, rather than in the rules for bonuses or stacking in the main body of the rules? In particular, why is it buried in a section which unambiguously offers at least some rules which are specific to the interpretation of spells?
| Tacticslion |
Heh. Funny, guys. :)
Clarifying what I mean by,
Upon re-reading it, though, it's interesting. The second entry notes magical effects (applying more broadly than to just spells)... and then goes on to explicitly cite that bonuses without a type stacks with any bonus for magical effects which, based on normal English use would indicate that the latter (the second) over-rules the former (the first) by being more specific... except that the latter would invalidate the implication of the former and is (technically speaking) more broad than the former.
Thus, I suspect that the intent is that the same source does not stack, but the rules don't back that up at all. They kind of half imply it ("always stack unless they're from the same source") but they don't explicitly note that it's true, whereas they later explicitly note that bonuses without types always stack, by RAW.
What I mean by this is that, if something is the same source, so long as it doesn't have a type, if it's not a spell, it definitively stacks by RAW. If it is a spell, it's implied that it might not stack by RAW (as "always"/"unless" language), but it gives no hard-line ruling - only soft language implying that the case might happen (and leading me to guess that the RAI is that they do not stack).
But let's go on to quote the rest of the rules on pg 209. I'll restart with the stuff on pg. 208 because it's all one heading.
For the even more full text, mine has:
Special Spell Effects
Many special spell effects are handled according to the school of the spells in question. Certain other special spell features are found across spell schools.<snip "Attacks">
Bonus Types: Usually, a bonus has a type that indicates how the spell grants the bonus. The important aspect of bonus types is that two bonuses of the same type don’t generally stack. With the exception of dodge bonuses, most circumstance bonuses, and racial bonuses, only the better bonus of a given type works (see Combining Magical Effects). The same principle applies to penalties—a character taking two or more penalties of the same type applies only the worst one, although most penalties have no type and thus always stack. Bonuses without a type always stack, unless they are from the same source.
<snip "Bringing Back the Dead" and the subheadings under it>
Combining Magic Effects
Spells or magical effects usually work as described, no matter how many other spells or magical effects happen to be operating in the same area or on the same recipient. Except in special cases, a spell does not affect the way another spell operates. Whenever a spell has a specific effect on other spells, the spell description explains that effect. Several other general rules apply when spells or magical effects operate in the same place:
Stacking Effects: Spells that provide bonuses or penalties on attack rolls, damage rolls, saving throws, and other attributes usually do not stack with themselves. More generally, two bonuses of the same type don’t stack even if they come from different spells (or from effects other than spells; see Bonus Types, above).
Different Bonus Types: The bonuses or penalties from two different spells stack if the modifiers are of different types. A bonus that doesn't have a type stacks with any bonus.
Same Effect More than Once in Different Strengths: In cases when two or more identical spells are operating in the same area or on the same target, but at different strengths, only the one with the highest strength applies.
Same Effect with Differing Results: The same spell can sometimes produce varying effects if applied to the same recipient more than once. Usually the last spell in the series trumps the others. None of the previous spells are actually removed or dispelled, but their effects become irrelevant while the final spell in the series lasts.
One Effect Makes Another Irrelevant: Sometimes, one spell can render a later spell irrelevant. Both spells are still active, but one has rendered the other useless in some fashion.
Multiple Mental Control Effects: Sometimes magical effects that establish mental control render each other irrelevant, such as spells that remove the subject’s ability to act. Mental controls that don’t remove the recipient’s ability to act usually do not interfere with each other. If a creature is under the mental control of two or more creatures, it tends to obey each to the best of its ability, and to the extent of the control each effect allows. If the controlled creature receives conflicting orders simultaneously, the competing controllers must make opposed Charisma checks to determine which one the creature obeys.
Spells with Opposite Effects: Spells with opposite effects apply normally, with all bonuses, penalties, or changes accruing in the order that they apply. Some spells negate or counter each other. This is a special effect that is noted in a spell’s description.
Instantaneous Effects: Two or more spells with instantaneous duration work cumulatively when they affect the same target.
EDIT: See, the problem is that, despite the title being "Combining Magical Effects" and the use of "Spell or Magical Effect" within some parts of the text, much of the rest of it is explicitly limited to "spell" or "spells", despite the fact that several of these issues would apply to other magical effects as well.
A less standard use of English is that when several things are referenced and then, in the future, only one is referenced, it can be inferred that the latter elements apply to the formerly mentioned things just as much to the explicitly mentioned things but, in a RAW-based format, that doesn't work out as well.
I would suggest, again, that RAI is it's supposed to apply equally, RAW it doesn't, and it could be more clear.
Several developers have gone on record as stating that they don't want the rules to be a legalese-based inviolable codex, despite having strong opinions on how they are intended to be used - something that (on the surface, at least) doesn't seem like a terribly great dynamic to me, but then again the guys work really hard on this stuff, and have to deal with pedants and sophonts (such as myself) soapboxing about, "If this were me..." with precious little genuine experience there; further, I can see the desire to ensure that the rules are malleable to the whims of a given GM. I may suggest that such goals be set about in different ways with different wordings, but it's certainly an admirable goal (encouraging people, "Rule it in the way that works best for your table.")
If anyone of you developers are reading this, since I have your attention (maybe), allow me to soap-box and say, in the future, you may wish to define "spells and their effects" under the heading "magical effects" and then use "magical effects" instead of spells, as that covers a broader category of elements. It may be worth noting that "subject to GM discretion" certain magical effects, such as some constant supernatural abilities, might not be subject to all of these rules" or something similar when dealing with things like dispel magic (akin to magic item suppression). But that's just me throwing something out there without having your publication and editing pressure, so take it with a grain of salt. You guys do, in fact, rock hard, even when I disagree with you. :D
James Risner
Owner - D20 Hobbies
|
Does this rule apply to bonuses from anything other than spells?
There are pedantic people that take that stance, but to do so you must ignore the fact the rules are purposefully not written to be interpreted that way and the developers have expressed frustration when interpretations ignore this fact.
So to confirm, all magical effects are bound by the combining effects rules. Not just spells. This has been confirmed by many devs, but it is not explicitly described that way in the books to a level that the pedantic readers accept.
| Thomas Long 175 |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Precedent was set when they ruled that Dexterity bonus couldn't be added to cmb twice if you use fury's fall and agile maneuvers wouldn't stack.
That would be an exactly instance of them ruling that basic attributes such as dexterity are also considered a "source" so even if they came from different feats, you cannot stack the same attribute twice.
Belafon
|
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
That's a pretty good point, Thomas.
Do you have links/citation for this thread to clarify for this specific conversation?
With the usual "James is the Creative Director, not a Designer" caveat:
Modifiers from ability scores aren't actually bonuses, strictly speaking. If they are, they're untyped bonuses—which means they stack with all other bonuses except themselves. Thus, if you have multiple things that say "Add your Dex modifier to this roll," you only get to add your Dex modifier once.
So, to answer the actual question:
1) Nope; it's not a typed bonus. It stacks with all other modifiers, but can't stack with itself.
2) If you have Fury's Fall and Weapon Finesse, you've basically got two feats with overlapping effects. You don't get to add your Dexterity modifier more than once to CMB if it's already been included due to any other effect. SO! If you have Weapon Finesse... you'll only want to look at taking Fury's Fall if you're expecting to be using weapons you can't modifier via Weapon Finess to make trip attacks. Otherwise, Fury's Fall is a waste for you.
Belafon
|
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Do Luck Bonuses stack if they're from a different source?
Example -
Halfling +1 to all saves is a racial luck bonus.
Clerics Divine Favor (1st level spell) is a Luck Bonus.
Clerics Prayer (3rd level spell) is a Luck Bonus.
Although the racial trait is called "Halfling Luck:"
Halfling Luck: Halflings receive a +1 racial bonus on all saving throws.
So the Halfling ability doesn't factor in with the rest of those spells. If it did matter, racial bonuses are called out in TacticsLion's first post as specifically stacking.
Luck bonuses do not stack, so divine favor does not stack with prayer. Note, however, that when two bonuses of the same type overlap you take the higher of the two. So a CL 9 divine favor would give you +3 to weapon attack and damage rolls. A CL 9 prayer would give you a +1 to attack, damage, saves, and skill checks. If your character was under both you would have +3 attack, +3 damage, +1 saving throws, +1 skill checks.
| Tacticslion |
Tacticslion wrote:That's a pretty good point, Thomas.
Do you have links/citation for this thread to clarify for this specific conversation?
With the usual "James is the Creative Director, not a Designer" caveat:
James Jacobs wrote:Modifiers from ability scores aren't actually bonuses, strictly speaking. If they are, they're untyped bonuses—which means they stack with all other bonuses except themselves. Thus, if you have multiple things that say "Add your Dex modifier to this roll," you only get to add your Dex modifier once.
So, to answer the actual question:
1) Nope; it's not a typed bonus. It stacks with all other modifiers, but can't stack with itself.
2) If you have Fury's Fall and Weapon Finesse, you've basically got two feats with overlapping effects. You don't get to add your Dexterity modifier more than once to CMB if it's already been included due to any other effect. SO! If you have Weapon Finesse... you'll only want to look at taking Fury's Fall if you're expecting to be using weapons you can't modifier via Weapon Finess to make trip attacks. Otherwise, Fury's Fall is a waste for you.
Ah, I thought he meant an actual FAQ or Errata, not James' statements about his own rulings.
| seebs |
Precedent was set when they ruled that Dexterity bonus couldn't be added to cmb twice if you use fury's fall and agile maneuvers wouldn't stack.
That would be an exactly instance of them ruling that basic attributes such as dexterity are also considered a "source" so even if they came from different feats, you cannot stack the same attribute twice.
Only, that's not a ruling, and directly contradicts the examples the FAQ has given of what is a "source".
So to confirm, all magical effects are bound by the combining effects rules. Not just spells. This has been confirmed by many devs, but it is not explicitly described that way in the books to a level that the pedantic readers accept.
Sorry, maybe I wasn't clear enough.
The only place in the books that the "same source" restriction occurs is in the section on combining magical effects. This is in the special section on interpreting spell effects, which is also where we see a redefinition of "attack" to mean "any offensive action", while in most of the game it tends to imply an attack roll has to occur.
So it would be plausible (though I think probably contrary to intent) to interpret this additional rule about "same source" as applying only to magical effects, and not applying to non-magical effects such as feats or non-supernatural class abilities.
Given that the SRD had this wording in the introductory material, and the PRD doesn't, it looks like an intentional change, but that seems... surprising.
| graystone |
Don't forget that James Jacobs contradicts himself in that quote and his logic only tracks if you make logical leaps not in the rules.
#1 "Modifiers from ability scores aren't actually bonuses, strictly speaking.: He starts off by admitting that they aren't bonuses( and I haven't found any rules for stacking modifiers...)
#2 "If they are, they're untyped bonuses:" : They aren't, but lets say they are so we can use the rule for bonuses...
#3 "if you have multiple things that say "Add your Dex modifier to this roll," you only get to add your Dex modifier once." and "If you have Fury's Fall and Weapon Finesse, you've basically got two feats with overlapping effects." : The first quote, even if true, isn't what is happening in the second. The first is stacking the exact same ability (Add your Dex modifier) and the second is adding your dex modifier and adding a bonus equal to it.
Really, even if same source affects all bonuses in the game, stat modifiers aren't bonuses so the only issue would be adding two bonuses equal to the same stat together...
| seebs |
I would also state that a stat is not a "source", because the only real examples we have of the FAQ calling something the "source" of a bonus, it's class abilities, rather than stats, that are the "source".
I am wondering, though. There was a thread a while back where someone was talking about invisibility's +20 to stealth, and someone had tried to double-dip it, taking the +20 to stealth results (which set perception DCs), and then also the +20 to perception DC. And that seems like it's not supposed to work. And I wonder if James just didn't fully read through the feats, and interpreted it as each of them adding the same bonus, and thought it was a pair of feats that had genuinely overlapping functions.
Like, say you had two feats:
Example Feat One: Your dexterity improves your combat ability. Add your dexterity bonus to melee attack rolls when your shoes are on fire.
Example Feat Two: Your combat ability is improved by your dexterity. Add your dexterity bonus to melee attack rolls when any item of clothing you are wearing catches fire.
If you had those two feats, I might well say "yeah, you aren't getting both of those at once".
The reason I'd let you stack agile maneuvers with a thing that lets you add dex, or the boon of erastil with zen archery, is that one is adding a modifier, and the other is replacing one modifier with another. They're doing different kinds of things.
| graystone |
The reason I'd let you stack agile maneuvers with a thing that lets you add dex, or the boon of erastil with zen archery, is that one is adding a modifier, and the other is replacing one modifier with another. They're doing different kinds of things.
This is it for me. I wouldn't even look at it twice because it's doing two different things. Now if it was two adding, I'd have to look at the sources. Even then, I'd have a hard time wrapping my head around seeing the stat as the source. I understand some think that way, but I can't see it.