| Slacker2010 |
| 2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |
I have seen this run two ways and I'm trying to see what way is correct.
1 - You throw the fire with a range touch attack vs the touch AC of the swarm. The issue with this way is a Spider Swarm (CR1, very common at low levels) has touch AC of 17. This is not easy to hit without a DEX based character. I have had times that we throw 6 fires without landing one. This can get expensive. Also at level one or two, this seems a little brutal. This is the way my group has run it.
2 - You throw the fire but because its a swarm you only have to hit the square it is in. This causes it to be AC 5. This is much easier and makes more sense. This was how a GM ran it at a convention I recently attended.
Which way is correct? I cant find anything backing up the 2nd method. I was really hoping that it would be the correct one.
Secane
|
As what Robert said, but here is some clarification:
You still have to hit a swarm's AC to actually HIT it. (as in method 1)
You can't HIT a swarm by just targeting the square.
Method 2 is just damaging the swarm with the Alchemist's Fire's splash damage. Which means you just need to hit the squares, which are AC 5.
If you have an Alchemist character around. He can rely on his throw anything ability to add his INT mod to his splash weapon's damage. This also ups the splash damage from such weapons to include his INT mod.
An Alchemist have a much better change of hurting a swarm via splash damage from a splash weapon.
Nefreet
|
I've encountered quite a few players (and GMs) that insist splash weapons are ineffective against swarms, because they can only ever deal 1 point of damage via splash. Others hold a variant view, that it's only 1 damage, but 1 damage per square that is splashed.
They stare at me in awe when I point out that an Alchemist's Fire deals 1d6+50% on a direct hit.
| Slacker2010 |
Thanks everyone for the response.
They stare at me in awe when I point out that an Alchemist's Fire deals 1d6+50% on a direct hit.
Issue with this is getting a direct hit is not that easy at low levels without a dex based character. Im of the mind swarms should not be in level 1-2 scenarios because of this.
Cascade
|
I'll apologize before hand if I'm derailing this thread...
But does a Grenadier's Alchemical Weapon ability do damage to swarms?
ex. Alchemist's fire applied to a melee weapon?
Alchemical Weapon (Su)
At 2nd level, a grenadier can infuse a weapon or piece of ammunition with a single harmful alchemical liquid or powder, such as alchemist’s fire or sneezing powder, as a move action. This action consumes the alchemical item, but transfers its effect to the weapon in question.
The alchemical item takes full effect on the next creature struck by the weapon, but does not splash, spread, or otherwise affect additional targets. Any extra damage added is treated like bonus dice of damage, and is not doubled on a critical hit. The alchemical treatment causes no harm to the weapon treated, and wears off 1 minute after application if no blow is struck.
Diego Rossi
|
I've encountered quite a few players (and GMs) that insist splash weapons are ineffective against swarms, because they can only ever deal 1 point of damage via splash. Others hold a variant view, that it's only 1 damage, but 1 damage per square that is splashed.
They stare at me in awe when I point out that an Alchemist's Fire deals 1d6+50% on a direct hit.
To one target, not to all target in a square. But a swarm don't take damage from targeted attacks.
RAI almost certainly is that you deal 1d6+50%, but RAW you deal only the splash damage to a swarm.
| Robert A Matthews |
A swarm is immune to any spell or effect that targets a specific number of creatures (including single-target spells such as disintegrate), with the exception of mind-affecting effects (charms, compulsions, morale effects, patterns, and phantasms) if the swarm has an Intelligence score and a hive mind. A swarm takes half again as much damage (+50%) from spells or effects that affect an area, such as splash weapons and many evocation spells.
It's either immune to the entire effect or it takes the additional 50%. It can't be both ways.
Not to mention that in 3.5 you could damage swarms with flaming weapons among other things (and I would still allow this in pathfinder too, even PFS). There wouldn't really be a reason for swarms to have an AC otherwise.
| fretgod99 |
born_of_fire wrote:I could be wrong....blahpers wrote:I was under the impression that the direct hit portion of a splash weapon attack counted as weapon damage rather than an area attack, making the swarm immune to it just as it would be immune to, say, a thrown rock or axe. Hmm.Boooooooo
Alchemist's Fire: A direct hit deals 1d6 points of fire damage.
Acid: A direct hit deals 1d6 points of acid damage.
It's all energy damage, not weapon damage. So no worries about swarms being immune.
| Rikkan |
Swarm subtype wrote:A swarm is immune to any spell or effect that targets a specific number of creatures (including single-target spells such as disintegrate), with the exception of mind-affecting effects (charms, compulsions, morale effects, patterns, and phantasms) if the swarm has an Intelligence score and a hive mind. A swarm takes half again as much damage (+50%) from spells or effects that affect an area, such as splash weapons and many evocation spells.It's either immune to the entire effect or it takes the additional 50%. It can't be both ways.
Not to mention that in 3.5 you could damage swarms with flaming weapons among other things (and I would still allow this in pathfinder too, even PFS). There wouldn't really be a reason for swarms to have an AC otherwise.
Actually Splash Weapons have a single target component and a splash component. Thus if we take an acid flask for example: swarms are immune to the 1d6 (single target) but still take the 1 splash (area) damage.
Yure
|
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Thrown bombs have a range of 20 feet and use the Throw Splash Weapon special attack.
Throw Splash Weapon
A splash weapon is a ranged weapon that breaks on impact, splashing or scattering its contents over its target and nearby creatures or objects. To attack with a splash weapon, make a ranged touch attack against the target. Thrown splash weapons require no weapon proficiency, so you don't take the –4 nonproficiency penalty. A hit deals direct hit damage to the target, and splash damage to all creatures within 5 feet of the target. If the target is Large or larger, you choose one of its squares and the splash damage affects creatures within 5 feet of that square. Splash weapons cannot deal precision-based damage (such as sneak attack).
A swarm is immune to any spell or effect that targets a specific number of creatures (including single-target spells such as disintegrate), with the exception of mind-affecting effects (charms, compulsions, morale effects, patterns, and phantasms) if the swarm has an Intelligence score and a hive mind. A swarm takes half again as much damage (+50%) from spells or effects that affect an area, such as splash weapons and many evocation spells.
Bombs and Alchemist Fire's (or other thrown splash weapons) are SPLASH WEAPONS. They not only do splash damage, they are considered splash weapons.
Under splash weapon rules we see that on impact the damage is done when the content SPLASHES. The direct hit damage is not caused by the impact of the container, it is caused by the splash or scattering of the contents.
A swarm is immune to individually targeting individual units in a swarm. Instead it has "mass" HP and a direct hit does not mean it is direct hitting 1 individual unit in the thousands that can make up the swarm. In other words a swarm is not immune to the direct hit of the splash weapon. And since they are classified as splash weapons they still do 50% more damage.
| blahpers |
blahpers wrote:born_of_fire wrote:I could be wrong....blahpers wrote:I was under the impression that the direct hit portion of a splash weapon attack counted as weapon damage rather than an area attack, making the swarm immune to it just as it would be immune to, say, a thrown rock or axe. Hmm.BooooooooAlchemist's Fire wrote:Alchemist's Fire: A direct hit deals 1d6 points of fire damage.Acid Flask wrote:Acid: A direct hit deals 1d6 points of acid damage.It's all energy damage, not weapon damage. So no worries about swarms being immune.
Energy isn't the problem; it's the specific targeting that causes an issue. You can't ray of frost a spider swarm either.
I'm not certain you can "hit" a swarm with any targeted weapon. Then again, while they don't have a CMD, they still have an AC, so presumably you can hit it with something. Maybe it is supposed to work.
| blahpers |
Quote:Thrown bombs have a range of 20 feet and use the Throw Splash Weapon special attack.Quote:Throw Splash Weapon
A splash weapon is a ranged weapon that breaks on impact, splashing or scattering its contents over its target and nearby creatures or objects. To attack with a splash weapon, make a ranged touch attack against the target. Thrown splash weapons require no weapon proficiency, so you don't take the –4 nonproficiency penalty. A hit deals direct hit damage to the target, and splash damage to all creatures within 5 feet of the target. If the target is Large or larger, you choose one of its squares and the splash damage affects creatures within 5 feet of that square. Splash weapons cannot deal precision-based damage (such as sneak attack).
Quote:A swarm is immune to any spell or effect that targets a specific number of creatures (including single-target spells such as disintegrate), with the exception of mind-affecting effects (charms, compulsions, morale effects, patterns, and phantasms) if the swarm has an Intelligence score and a hive mind. A swarm takes half again as much damage (+50%) from spells or effects that affect an area, such as splash weapons and many evocation spells.Bombs and Alchemist Fire's (or other thrown splash weapons) are SPLASH WEAPONS. They not only do splash damage, they are considered splash weapons.
Under splash weapon rules we see that on impact the damage is done when the content SPLASHES. The direct hit damage is not caused by the impact of the container, it is caused by the splash or scattering of the contents.
A swarm is immune to individually targeting individual units in a swarm. Instead it has "mass" HP and a direct hit does not mean it is direct hitting 1 individual unit in the thousands that can make up the swarm. In other words a swarm is not immune to the direct hit of the splash weapon. And since they are classified as splash weapons they still do 50% more damage.
That's pretty convincing. I'll continue to run it as allowing the direct hit, but now I feel less like it's a house rule and more like it was intended that way--still a splash, but just that more of it affects the thing you "hit".
| Rikkan |
Quote:Throw Splash Weapon
A splash weapon is a ranged weapon that breaks on impact, splashing or scattering its contents over its target and nearby creatures or objects. To attack with a splash weapon, make a ranged touch attack against the target. Thrown splash weapons require no weapon proficiency, so you don't take the –4 nonproficiency penalty. A hit deals direct hit damage to the target, and splash damage to all creatures within 5 feet of the target. If the target is Large or larger, you choose one of its squares and the splash damage affects creatures within 5 feet of that square. Splash weapons cannot deal precision-based damage (such as sneak attack).
Quote:A swarm is immune to any spell or effect that targets a specific number of creatures (including single-target spells such as disintegrate), with the exception of mind-affecting effects (charms, compulsions, morale effects, patterns, and phantasms) if the swarm has an Intelligence score and a hive mind. A swarm takes half again as much damage (+50%) from spells or effects that affect an area, such as splash weapons and many evocation spells.Bombs and Alchemist Fire's (or other thrown splash weapons) are SPLASH WEAPONS. They not only do splash damage, they are considered splash weapons.
Under splash weapon rules we see that on impact the damage is done when the content SPLASHES. The direct hit damage is not caused by the impact of the container, it is caused by the splash or scattering of the contents.
A swarm is immune to individually targeting individual units in a swarm. Instead it has "mass" HP and a direct hit does not mean it is direct hitting 1 individual unit in the thousands that can make up the swarm. In other words a swarm is not immune to the direct hit of the splash weapon. And since they are classified as splash weapons they still do 50% more damage.
A splash weapon is a ranged weapon that breaks on impact, splashing or scattering its contents over its target and nearby creatures or objects.
This means, the single target damage is applied to the target and the splash damage to the nearby creatures or objects.
A swarm takes half again as much damage (+50%) from spells or effects that affect an area, such as splash weapons and many evocation spells.
You missed the part I bolded here. The swarm is immune to the single target damage of splash weapons and takes 50% extra damage from the splash part.
Yure
|
The swarm is not immune to target damage. It is immune to individual target spells. As in disintegrate affects 1 creature. The 1 creature gets disintegrated but the majority of the swarm is still there. Where as the direct hit of the bomb or splash weapon targets the BULK of the swarm. Hence why it has an AC and hit points. The bomb is still a splash damage weapon type. Swarms take more damage from swarm weapons.
| Robert A Matthews |
Under that interpretation swarmbane clasp becomes an absolute requirement for every character that can't cast area damage spells. Splash weapons become pretty useless when you apply that interpretation to them. It doesn't work that way and if it did there would be a lot more dead characters in PFS.
49 alchemist's fires = 980 gold
Don't have 49 alchemist's fires? Sucks to be you, you can't escape them.
| fretgod99 |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
It doesn't say "effects that affect an area, such as splash damage from splash weapons", it says "effects that affect an area, such as splash weapons".
Whether we want to quibble about potentially arguably ambiguous wording, the intention was clearly to allow full damage on the targeted hit from splash weapons, including Bombs.
| Rikkan |
It doesn't say "effects that affect an area, such as splash damage from splash weapons", it says "effects that affect an area, such as splash weapons".
Whether we want to quibble about potentially arguably ambiguous wording, the intention was clearly to allow full damage on the targeted hit from splash weapons, including Bombs.
Disagree, it clearly states it is just in reference to area damage, thus clearly only the area damage part applies.
| blahpers |
It doesn't say "effects that affect an area, such as splash damage from splash weapons", it says "effects that affect an area, such as splash weapons".
Whether we want to quibble about potentially arguably ambiguous wording, the intention was clearly to allow full damage on the targeted hit from splash weapons, including Bombs.
Regardless of what's right, "clearly" clearly isn't the word to use here. : D There is perfectly understandable confusion on the subject.
Yure
|
The swarm is only immune to single target spells. Such as those that don't go against AC, because they target a single unit within the swarm... which does nothing to the multitude. A bomb is a splash damage weapon and still does damage because you are still targeting the MASS which has it's own AC and HP.
Yure
|
I don't know why this is so hard for you to understand stand. It is immune to something that targets a specific bug from the swarm. Because one out of the mass is miniscule compared to thw whole. The swarm itself though still takes damage especially from splash weapons which affect the whole mass which has an AC and it goes against that AC.
| Rikkan |
That is your opinion. An opinion that, in my experience, isn't shared by very many at all. Can't say that I've been to one table where I've seen a GM rule that way.
It is not my opinion, it is what the rules say. The rules are crystal clear in this case.
I think most people just read splash weapons and assume the entire weapon does area damage. But sadly it does not. Similar to how url=http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/spells/acidSplash.html#_acid-splash] acid splash[/url] is a weapon and has 'splash' in the name, but still does not do area damage.
Diego Rossi
|
The swarm is not immune to target damage. It is immune to individual target spells. As in disintegrate affects 1 creature. The 1 creature gets disintegrated but the majority of the swarm is still there. Where as the direct hit of the bomb or splash weapon targets the BULK of the swarm. Hence why it has an AC and hit points. The bomb is still a splash damage weapon type. Swarms take more damage from swarm weapons.
A swarm is immune to any spell or effect that targets a specific number of creatures (including single-target spells such as disintegrate), with the exception of mind-affecting effects (charms, compulsions, morale effects, patterns, and phantasms) if the swarm has an Intelligence score and a hive mind. A swarm takes half again as much damage (+50%) from spells or effects that affect an area, such as splash weapons and many evocation spells.
Your line of thought would be valid it the swarm subtype didn't specify that the swarm is immune to targeted effects, not only spells.
The second part I bolded make it explicit that a splash weapon count as an effect (as it isn't a spell) for this ability.
If you decide not to threat the damage from a splash weapon as an effect it would not benefit from the 50% increase. But the example explicitly call for splash weapons.
So we have an effect that deal a kind of damage to a single target (a direct hit from a splash weapon don't affect a square, it affect a target) and another to an area.
A swarm would take only the area damage.
I don't see a RAW way to say that the direct hit damage would affect the whole swarm.
It doesn't say "effects that affect an area, such as splash damage from splash weapons", it says "effects that affect an area, such as splash weapons".
Whether we want to quibble about potentially arguably ambiguous wording, the intention was clearly to allow full damage on the targeted hit from splash weapons, including Bombs.
And what affect an area in splash weapons?
A hit deals direct hit damage to the target, and splash damage to all creatures within 5 feet of the target.
Only the splash damage.
Regardless of what's right, "clearly" clearly isn't the word to use here. : D There is perfectly understandable confusion on the subject.
Agreed. RAI almost certainly is that the swarm will be affected by the targeted damage, like a swarm should be fully damaged by a burning torch or the energy damage part of a flaming weapon, but RAW it don't work that way.
It is not hard to understand, yes the swarm is immune to the direct damage and takes damage from the splash. That is not hard to understand at all.
So what you areare saying is ALL swarms are immune to sword damage because it attacks the single mass? Yeah that makes sense.
Swarm Traits: A swarm has no clear front or back and no discernable anatomy, so it is not subject to critical hits or flanking. A swarm made up of Tiny creatures takes half damage from slashing and piercing weapons. A swarm composed of Fine or Diminutive creatures is immune to all weapon damage. Reducing a swarm to 0 hit points or less causes it to break up, though damage taken until that point does not degrade its ability to attack or resist attack. Swarms are never staggered or reduced to a dying state by damage. Also, they cannot be tripped, grappled, or bull rushed, and they cannot grapple an opponent.
Yure
|
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
Swarm Traits: A swarm has no clear front or back and no discernable anatomy, so it is not subject to critical hits or flanking. A swarm made up of Tiny creatures takes half damage from slashing and piercing weapons. A swarm composed of Fine or Diminutive creatures is immune to all weapon damage. Reducing a swarm to 0 hit points or less causes it to break up, though damage taken until that point does not degrade its ability to attack or resist attack. Swarms are never staggered or reduced to a dying state by damage. Also, they cannot be tripped, grappled, or bull rushed, and they cannot grapple an opponent.
That's exactly my point if by the way you guys are debating it, tiny creatures swarm would be immune to ALL damage, since the weapon is targeting ONE target/creature.
To say that the direct hit of a thrown splash weapon does not do damage to the creature makes no sense. You are basically saying that the KILL ZONE of a grenade is less effective than the wounding range. That makes NO sense at all.
| Ghost6442 |
Swarms are dangerous, really really dangerous.
There are reasons why swarms have the immunities they have. lets look at that first. Why are swarms immune to any spell or effect that targets a specific number of creatures. Well thats rather simple.
"A swarm of Tiny creatures consists of 300 nonflying creatures or 1,000 flying creatures. A swarm of Diminutive creatures consists of 1,500 nonflying creatures or 5,000 flying creatures. A swarm of Fine creatures consists of 10,000 creatures, whether they are flying or not. Swarms of nonflying creatures include many more creatures than could normally fit in a 10-foot square based on their normal space, because creatures in a swarm are packed tightly together and generally crawl over each other and their prey when moving or attacking. Larger swarms are represented by multiples of single swarms. The area occupied by a large swarm is completely shapeable, though the swarm usually remains in contiguous squares."
lets say a swarm has 49 hp, it is made up of tiny creatures so EACH creature has 0.16333 repeater hp (round down rule anyone?) so we can see that even if you targeted a swarm with disintegrate it would only hit 1, so after using disintegrate 10 times you would have done 1hp worth of damage to the swarm as a whole... where an Area of effect spell might hit more then just one.
Now lets look at weapons. Weapons are not spells, nor do they seem to be effects, so they are not effected by those immunities. in fact the paragraph before deals with weapons which we will label as an 'attack'
"A swarm has no clear front or back and no discernable anatomy, so it is not subject to critical hits or flanking. A swarm made up of Tiny creatures takes half damage from slashing and piercing weapons. A swarm composed of Fine or Diminutive creatures is immune to all weapon damage. Reducing a swarm to 0 hit points or less causes it to break up, though damage taken until that point does not degrade its ability to attack or resist attack. Swarms are never staggered or reduced to a dying state by damage. Also, they cannot be tripped, grappled, or bull rushed, and they cannot grapple an opponent."
Ok so that makes sense in relation to the math we did. (49/15000 = 0.03266r)
So how do you fight swarms? With Area of effects, for the non-caster types you have splash weapons, and this is where the arguments will start.
"Throw Splash Weapon
A splash weapon is a ranged weapon that breaks on impact, splashing or scattering its contents over its target and nearby creatures or objects. To attack with a splash weapon, make a ranged touch attack against the target. Thrown splash weapons require no weapon proficiency, so you don't take the –4 nonproficiency penalty. A hit deals direct hit damage to the target, and splash damage to all creatures within 5 feet of the target. If the target is Large or larger, you choose one of its squares and the splash damage affects creatures within 5 feet of that square. Splash weapons cannot deal precision-based damage (such as sneak attack).
You can instead target a specific grid intersection. Treat this as a ranged attack against AC 5. However, if you target a grid intersection, creatures in all adjacent squares are dealt the splash damage, and the direct hit damage is not dealt to any creature. You can't target a grid intersection occupied by a creature, such as a Large or larger creature; in this case, you're aiming at the creature.
If you miss the target (whether aiming at a creature or a grid intersection), roll 1d8. This determines the misdirection of the throw, with 1 falling short (off-target in a straight line toward the thrower), and 2 through 8 rotating around the target creature or grid intersection in a clockwise direction. Then, count a number of squares in the indicated direction equal to the range increment of the throw. After you determine where the weapon landed, it deals splash damage to all creatures in that square and in all adjacent squares."
Ok so the first thing we notice is a splash weapon is a Ranged Weapon not a spell or effect, and as it doesn't deal piercing or slashing damage it should deal damage as normal except against a swarm made up of Fine or Diminutive creatures as per the wording of the text.
Splash damage now becomes the interesting thing, swarms are hard to hit. But by targeting the square or grid intersection you can deal splash damage.
"Splash damage affects creatures within 5 feet of that square / if you target a grid intersection, creatures in all adjacent squares are dealt the splash damage"
Well the targeted square is withing 5 feet of it's self... But wait what is this?
"splash damage to all creatures within 5 feet of the target"
ALL Creatures? Well! Isn't that a nice piece of info? If taken as writen it means splash weapons are instant kills vs swarms made of tiny creatures, as "A swarm composed of Fine or Diminutive creatures is immune to all weapon damage" But wait, splash damage isn't a weapon attach, it's an effect caused by one and doesn't target any one creature!
Splash vs swarm = insta-kill with rules as written. for swarms that take up more then a 5 foot square and are partially effected by a splash weapon would only loose that percentage of their hp.
But lets not get stupid here. letting splash weapons instantly kill swarms removes the challenge of the thing and thus most of the fun to be had with it. So this is where we need to lay down some house rules as Paizo (bless them) seems to have forgotten to add a section detailing ways to deal with swarms, or we just didn't find it, otherwise we wouldn't be arguing it.
First I would rule that splash weapons deal their weapon damage as splash damage vs swarms. Swarms are hard to hit at the best of times and take very little damage when they do get hit. If your casters have the right spells, they can deal some damage but leaves the rest of the party standing their unable to do anything except absorb damage and eventually die, So a bit of 1d6 damage here and there doesn't break the game.
Bludgeoning damage does 50% damage to the smaller swarms as Tiny swarm creatures takes half damage from slashing and piercing weapons but not bludgeoning, so smaller then tiny should still take some damage.
Thirdly: A creature covered by a non-airborne swarm my drop prone and roll about flailing. this deals 1d8+str damage to the swarm per round and provokes AoO (but swarms don't make AoO's).
This rule came about after the caster ran out of spells and the rogue out of acid and there was a swarm between the party and not throwing up their hands and going home. The barbarian got really angry, jumped the chasm and proceeded to belly flop and roll about on the swarm trying to deal with it. Such innovation should be rewarded!
There should be lots of ways PC's can deal with swarms, spray them with oil and ignite them. swinging a torch at them might keep them at bay. many swarm creatures are scared of bright light, daylight spell to scare them off. Heck the alchemist could invent pesticide! and spray cans!
This is a game, and thus should be fun. GM's have fun by fielding challenges for the players and watching them work it out. Players have fun by overcoming these challenges, more so when they got really creative about it.
If your not having fun, Leave. Though discuss it with your GM/Players first.
This has been Ghost6442's interpretation of the rules as written combined with his 2 cents. Thankyou for reading and have a fun game :)
| Ilja |
The second part I bolded make it explicit that a splash weapon count as an effect (as it isn't a spell) for this ability.
I agree. That's clear.
So we have an effect that deal a kind of damage to a single target (a direct hit from a splash weapon don't affect a square, it affect a target) and another to an area.
This however is changing things around a lot. As by your quote above, a splash weapon is an effect. It explicitly is an effect, singular. It is not two effects.
It is an effect, it does not target a certain set of creatures, it deals area damage. Everything is enhanced by 50%.