Crafter's Fortune Formula


Pathfinder Society

Scarab Sages

I've looked up all the salient rules: Crafter's Fortune is NOT PROHIBITED in Organized Play. Alchemists CAN make stuff with Craft (Alchemy) between adventures.

The question, then: Especially since the in-game time between Pathfinder Society adventures is indeterminate, can a Pathfinder Society alchemist with the Crafter's Fortune formula use it to get a +5 bonus to ALL his Craft (Alchemy) checks to make stuff (I know he can't use it on Day Job rolls)?

Scarab Sages

*bump*

Grand Lodge 4/5 *

You'll probably have to wait until Mike is back from Kublacon (probably Tuesday) for any kind of official answer.

Scarab Sages

bump

Scarab Sages

(teehee). I've been watching this one too ... But, KublaCon isn't until this weekend, so, Mike's not back in the office until *next* Tuesday. .... The 5th, I believe.

4/5 ****

KublaCon ended on the 28th but Mike may need a bit to recover.

Shadow Lodge 4/5 **** Venture-Captain, Michigan—Mt. Pleasant

I believe Mike posted earlier this week that he was on his way to Origin

Scarab Sages

Sorry ... My mistake. I thought it was Origins and then KublaCon. I had the order backward. But, yes, he's not back in the office until the 5th.

Scarab Sages

another bump, boy this looks sad.

Scarab Sages

one more for good luck

Grand Lodge 4/5

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber

Tell me what you're looking to do with it specifically? I know you want to know if you get a +5 to all your crafting rolls, but what is it you are trying to accomplish?

Scarab Sages

Just making alchemical items in between adventures, per the special rules by which a PFS Alchemist can. In Organized Play, this would be the reason an alchemist would take the Crafter's Fortune formula.

Grand Lodge 4/5

6 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber

Yes, the spell can be used to gain the bonus for making alchemical items between adventures.

Grand Lodge 1/5

On another note, Mike, would Crafter's Fortune work for day job check?

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/55/5 **

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Aeshuura wrote:
On another note, Mike, would Crafter's Fortune work for day job check?

No

PFS Guide pg 17 wrote:
Permanent bonuses from equipment, feats, racial bonuses, and traits effect your Day Job check as they would any check for the rolled skill, but temporary bonuses such as those granted by spell effects do not contribute, as the duration over which the Day Job check is made is undefined and represents a longer amount of time than a spell’s duration would permit the bonus to remain.

Grand Lodge 1/5

Thanks Dragnmoon, they were asking because it had a duration of days and I didn't know if that fell into that particular instance.

The Exchange 4/5

Well, that answered my question.

The Exchange 4/5

Aeshuura wrote:
Thanks Dragnmoon, they were asking because it had a duration of days and I didn't know if that fell into that particular instance.

I noticed that it is only good for your NEXT craft skill check.

"The target is struck by inspiration and gains a +5 luck bonus on its next Craft skill check."

Liberty's Edge 4/5

Crafter's Fortune has a duration of 'days per level' though... it seems like it should work... if you are making multiple checks it could be recast for each... I'm not sure how this wouldn't work in this situation... unless, to create the earnings for the day job, you are making multiple short term checks. (multiple checks per day) Since most craft checks actually take 'days' to complete... I'm not sure where the short term checks come in.

Shadow Lodge 4/5 **** Venture-Captain, Michigan—Mt. Pleasant

Mike has clarified that Crafter's Fortune does work for day jobs.

The spell ends after 1/day per level or when used. It can be used for Day Job rolls.

Liberty's Edge 4/5

Cool. Thanks that makes much more sense.

Dark Archive 4/5

Any chance of having that listed to the clarifications thread, if it isn't already there?


Eric Clingenpeel wrote:

Mike has clarified that Crafter's Fortune does work for day jobs.

The spell ends after 1/day per level or when used. It can be used for Day Job rolls.

I know this goes back a little ways, but as Mike has said Crafter’s Fortune ‘can’ be used for Day Job checks, am I to assume correctly that you need to have created that extract for the scenario you make the Day Job in (i.e. leave a slot open for Crafter’s Fortune)?

I guess the question is ‘when’ is the Day Job done (Golarian time)? Could you say it was done the next day, when you can re-create your extracts?

Grand Lodge 3/5

This spell was specifically mentioned in the new Guide. The answer is yes, but if you haven't looked at Guide 5.0 you should. There are changes in there that all players should know about.


I have scanned over 5.0, especially the larger changes, but have not seen the part on Crafter’s Fortune yet. Will look at it tonight when I get home.

Thanks.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Crafter's Fortune Formula All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society