| syeven |
| 21 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Staff response: no reply required. 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
upon our adventures in golaria i happened to try to use a healing hex on an undead, the hex says that
A. a creature cannot BENIFIT from this effect more than once a day
B. this hex operates as per the spell cure moderate wounds(8th level witch)
my GM informed me that this cannot work beacuse technically the undeead arent "benifiting" from the effect so therefore they cannot be targeted by it in the first place.
he also said that i cant use it mulitiple times agaist a single undead beacuse it makes sense that it would work like the rest of the hexes, only once a day.
i could really use some help here
thanks.
| Blave |
It IS a bit hard to tell by RAW but...
Going with the whole which-with-herbs-and-potions-theme, I don't think the hex channels positive energy like the cure spells but instead uses other means to heal (think of instant regeneration or something along those lines). So, I agree with your GM and think it should neither harm nor hurt undead. And even if it culd hurt them, I'd still limit it to 1 time per day and target.
| Swivl |
I'd say it'd have no effect at all save to possibly heal the undead as the Hex is not stated as using positive energy. It uses the cure spell for mechanics, but it's not the cure spell.
Yeah, it does use the mechanics, but that's why it might actually work. It doesn't say the hex uses positive energy because it's in the spell mechanics. I'm not as convinced it doesn't work on undead, and at first read I'd have ruled that it does.
I do agree that, flavor-wise, it probably wouldn't, though.
Kabump
|
If it were at my table, I would allow it to work against undead. It would have the same effect if you cast cure light/mod on an undead, but you could only do it once per day per undead. Doesnt seem to game breaking to me, at least on an initial think through. Arguing over the semantics of the definition of "benefit" reeks of power-gaming loophole talk.
EDIT: I initially took your talk of the definition of benefit to be a means of using it unlimited times per day on an undead. A reread has me thinking it was just a way of determining if you could use it in the first place. I apologize.
| Dirlaise |
The hex acts as Cure Light Wounds (and Cure Moderate at 5th level). The hex description otherwise offers no mechanical explanations short of the fact that a creature can only benefit from the healing once per day.
Since it works as the spell, it will work as the spell. There is nothing in the description to suggest that you are meant to only take certain elements from the spell and apply them to the hex.
The confusion comes from the word 'benefit'. 'Be effected by' would've been a better choice of description. I don't think, however, that the inclusion of the word 'benefit' means that the spell works differently. It could just as easily suggest that, as long as a creature effected isn't benefiting, it can be used multiple times on a single target.
Houserule it in whatever way you wish. I'm all about maintaining desired flavor in a game. As far as what the books says, though, the spell operates as the cure spells - which in their description use positive energy and can be used against undead.
| Drawmij's_Heir |
The spell acts as a Cure Light Wounds, and so DOES in fact utilize positive energy to create a healing effect.
Since undead are powered by negative energy, they are harmed by this ability just as if they would have had a Cure Light Wounds spell cast on them.
However, the only thing is that any creature can only gain the "benefit" (or in the case of undead, the punishment) of this ability once in a 24 hour period.
Even though the Witch is a new class, her magic is still based on the same principles as the other casters. Cure spells use positive energy. Undead are undead.
James Jacobs
Creative Director
|
| 1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
This is a great question to tag for the FAQ. As I understand it and as I've seen it played, the healing hex CAN be used on undead, but only once per undead. In this case, "benefit" should be read as "effect" so that you can use your healing hex once per day per undead creature.
Anyway, I'll go click the FAQ flag on the original post and I suggest we all do the same; it's a good question!