grapple vs huge creature and crit fails


Rules Discussion


hey i have a question i currently have a Minotaur Guardian that is a grapple monster and am wondering how things work with me crit failing a grapple. if i crit fail a grapple check on a small or smaller creature can it choose to grab me even though im more than a size larger than them?


Yes, even though the creature couldn't normally attempt to Grapple your Minotaur, because Grapple's Critical Failure says it just happens then it's a valid choice for them to pick grabbing you when you get a crit fail.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Grapple wrote:
Your target can either grab you, as if it succeeded at using the Grapple action against you, or force you to fall and land prone.

If the creature doing the grapple is not capable of succeeding because of a size difference and lack of any feat overriding that, then I don't think it is going to work. The critical failure effect is just an auto-succeed of the Grapple action. The Grapple still needs to have its requirements met.

I would allow the other option to force landing prone. It doesn't say that you are tripping the opponent, so the size requirements of trip don't apply.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / grapple vs huge creature and crit fails All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.