| Skysquish |
I am hoping to get some one from paizos input on this. I am looking at building a kineticist. If I take a dual gate fire and metal. Then take two element infusion and expand the portal to have the fire junction impulse. Dose the junction apply at all since you uses a fre action to combind the elements befor the blast. The damage becomes d8 at a range of 60 feet. If I do a one action blast so if I do 2 since the dice do fire damage sould they be d10?
| Easl |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Unofficially, I would lean towards "no" because the rules for impulse junction say "This happens before the other effects of the impulse, unless noted otherwise."
So in my mind, the order of operations is:
1. You select a 2a fire EB.
2. The junction increases the die size to d8 (this happens before any other effects).
3. As a free action you use Two Element Infusion to mix it with metal. This gives you 'best of both', so best of 30' or 60' and best of d8 or d8. Half the damage will be fire, the other half p or s.
To get to d10s you'd have to switch the order of steps 2 and 3, but then the impulse junction is going after everything else instead of before it.
| Skysquish |
Unofficially, I would lean towards "no" because the rules for impulse junction say "This happens before the other effects of the impulse, unless noted otherwise."
So in my mind, the order of operations is:
1. You select a 2a fire EB.
2. The junction increases the die size to d8 (this happens before any other effects).
3. As a free action you use Two Element Infusion to mix it with metal. This gives you 'best of both', so best of 30' or 60' and best of d8 or d8. Half the damage will be fire, the other half p or s.To get to d10s you'd have to switch the order of steps 2 and 3, but then the impulse junction is going after everything else instead of before it.
Yes it gose befor the other effects of the impulse but that is not what is in question. The Infusion happens befor you make a blast. It states if you take any action other then a blast the combination is lost. So there completely separate.
| Easl |
Yes it gose befor the other effects of the impulse but that is not what is in question. The Infusion happens befor you make a blast. It states if you take any action other then a blast the combination is lost. So there completely separate.
It sounds like you already have a conclusion in mind, and Paizo rarely gives answers, so I would just play it the way you've chosen in that case.
I doubt it will unbalance the game. We are talking about 5 points extra damage at L17. Also because kineticists have many ways to do higher damage for 2 actions. For example, at L6 your 'double bumped' 2d10 EB is doing 15 average damage to one target while using those two actions for blazing wave would average 22-23 to multiple.