Controlled and Fleeing


Rules Discussion


Lets say I demoralize my enemy and get a critical success with Terrifing Retreat. I then cast Dominate and I have my enemy Controlled for a round. When its the enemy's turn, do they automatically flee or would the Controlled condition override it?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Good question. I'd say fleeing takes precedence. The controller may get to control the target's actions, but that doesn't lift any restrictions on what actions the target can perform.


I'd agree with SuperParkourio. From reading over the two conditions, it seems to me that Fleeing mandates that the only action that can be taken is for the person fleeing from the person who made them afraid.

So, IMO, while you could control how they moved away from you, you could not make them do anything other than flee.


Same agree with SuperParkourio.


I agree that's the correct RAW interpretation. Dominate doesn't change what Fleeing does.

That said, if you view this as a "two effects are both trying to assert control over the target" situation (like when two people both Dominate the same target), then you could get a case where you effectively have to try to counteract your own Fleeing to get Dominate to work. In that case your control is so strong that you effectively overrule their fear. Fail? Too bad, they're fleeing and your control means nothing.

That's not the RAW way to run it, but IMO it's the more narratively interesting way to run it... especially since it opens up a case where a friendly player could cast Dominate on them to try and stop them from fleeing by taking control of them.

Dark Archive

Would the situation change if instead of Dominate the player had cast Possession and the enemy crit failed the will save?

Personally, I'm of the mind that Controlled would supercede Fleeing in most cases, but open to hearing more thoughts.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Possession is a weird one, but I'd say in that case Fleeing doesn't apply at all because it's a mental effect on the possessed target which doesn't affect the possessor. The possessing creature uses their own mental stats/effects while they use the controlled body's physical ones:

Possessed Trait wrote:
A possessor loses the benefits of any of its active spells or abilities that affect its physical body, though it gains the benefits of the target’s active spells and abilities that affect their body. A possessor can use any of the target’s abilities that are purely physical, and it can’t use any of its own abilities except spells and purely mental abilities. The GM decides whether an ability is purely physical or purely mental. A possessor uses the target’s attack modifier, AC, Fortitude save, Reflex save, Perception, and physical skills, and its own Will save, mental skills, spell attack modifier, and spell DC; benefits of invested items apply where relevant (the possessor’s invested items apply when using its own values, and the target’s invested items apply when using the target’s values). A possessor gains no benefit from casting spells that normally affect only the caster, since it isn’t in its own body. The possessor must use its own actions to make the possessed creature act.


That's right. The possessor can't even use self targeting spells since they aren't in their own body.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Controlled and Fleeing All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.