
lonodor88 |
The following is written - "You can't cast fire spells or use actions with the fire trait underwater. As normal for how traits work, any part of the effect that's unrelated to fire still works. For example, an attack with a
flaming battleaxe could still deal its physical damage, just not its fire damage." Cast. But nowhere have I found that it is impossible to create a fireball on a bridge and launch it into the water.I understand that this implies indirectly, but maybe there are specific examples of other effects?

Tridus |
4 people marked this as a favorite. |

The following is written - "You can't cast fire spells or use actions with the fire trait underwater. As normal for how traits work, any part of the effect that's unrelated to fire still works. For example, an attack with a
flaming battleaxe could still deal its physical damage, just not its fire damage." Cast. But nowhere have I found that it is impossible to create a fireball on a bridge and launch it into the water.I understand that this implies indirectly, but maybe there are specific examples of other effects?
The rules don't tend to spell this out because they're not written as a technical manual where anything not explicitly stated must work because it's not explicitly banned.
But if the spell/effect doesn't work if you cast it underwater, it probably also doesn't work if you cast it above water and try to launch it into the water. You've ended up in the same place: the spell is underwater. What's the justification for why it works underwater in one case and not the other aside from "the rules don't explicitly prevent this?"

Easl |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |
But nowhere have I found that it is impossible to create a fireball on a bridge and launch it into the water.I understand that this implies indirectly, but maybe there are specific examples of other effects?
See "Aquatic combat." https://2e.aonprd.com/Rules.aspx?ID=2438
I would guess that most GMs would use the last bullet to say no to what you're suggesting: At the GM's discretion, some ground-based actions might not work underwater or while floating.

Nelzy |

lonodor88 wrote:But nowhere have I found that it is impossible to create a fireball on a bridge and launch it into the water.I understand that this implies indirectly, but maybe there are specific examples of other effects?See "Aquatic combat." https://2e.aonprd.com/Rules.aspx?ID=2438
I would guess that most GMs would use the last bullet to say no to what you're suggesting: At the GM's discretion, some ground-based actions might not work underwater or while floating.
Firstly im not sure how i stand on this topic.
but have 2 things to point out.
why did they bother with saying that both ranged attack "used by an underwater creature or against an underwater target" and not use the same wording when talking about fire traits and spells.
Also why would they bother with "You gain resistance 5 to acid and fire."
if there is no way to cast fire traits things into the water?
------------------------------------------------------------------
Kinda unrelated also, Fireball is not a projectile in its description in pf2 its just a targeted blast that appears at the target location.

Errenor |
Also why would they bother with "You gain resistance 5 to acid and fire."if there is no way to cast fire traits things into the water?
Yes, at least two were mentioned above. Also hypothetically effects could exist which don't have fire trait but do fire damage. High temperatures aren't forbidden under water, just open fire. And damage from high temperature is represented by fire damage in the game.

NorrKnekten |
There are a few things one probably should note, First is that First Edition actually did explicitly state that water blocks line of effect for all fire effects.
Second is one would expect wall of water to block all fireeffects, but it doesn't, Only counteracts.
We do have a few things that can deal fire-damage without being firetraited, Shadowblast for example. I also have memories of poisons/curses that deal firedamage and those wouldn't be removed underwater.
Overall, this is a really weird one to consider.

Finoan |

Also why would they bother with "You gain resistance 5 to acid and fire."
if there is no way to cast fire traits things into the water?
That entire list of bullet points is for battles that happen 'in water' as well as 'underwater'.
The acid and fire resistance is for when you are at the surface of the water - Combat while swimming or wading in deep water, but not underwater. At that point you gain the acid and fire resistance, but enemies can still use fire attacks against you above the water's surface.

cavernshark |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |
There are a few things one probably should note, First is that First Edition actually did explicitly state that water blocks line of effect for all fire effects.
Second is one would expect wall of water to block all fireeffects, but it doesn't, Only counteracts.
We do have a few things that can deal fire-damage without being firetraited, Shadowblast for example. I also have memories of poisons/curses that deal firedamage and those wouldn't be removed underwater.Overall, this is a really weird one to consider.
Tengu's Mariner's Fire ancestry feat allows the Tengu to cast Ignition underwater, but won't remove the 5 resistance the target will receive.
Blistering Invective is a spell which can do fire damage without having the fire trait. It does not have the Fire trait and is primarily mental spell with Auditory, Mental, Emotion, and Fear traits. It can be cast underwater and will apply Persistent Fire damage on all but a critical success from the target.
Under the rules for Assisted Recovery, a GM can decide that some things will "Automatically end the condition due to the type of help, such as healing that restores you to your maximum HP to end persistent bleed damage, or submerging yourself in a lake to end persistent fire damage," but this is an optional adjudication by a given GM. The 5 fire resist from being under water guards against any fire damage that can get through the usual restrictions and implications of fire underwater.
I think the intent is pretty clear that fire is meant to be mostly negated in a Water environment. There are some ways to get around that, and the resistance is in place for those instances.
For the specific question: if you detonate the fireball above the surface, I'd probably let it affect creatures in the water using the following rulings: if they are at the surface, I'd just give them the resistance; if they are submerged at all, I'd give them a +2 circumstance bonus to their saving throw due to Standard Cover in addition to the resistance, maybe going to +4 greater cover based on depth. If you detonate it under the water or at the water's surface directly, I'd probably rule it doesn't work.
This feels like the kind of thing that happens only occasionally in most campaigns (a GM might only have to deal with it once) or it'll happen all the time (you're in a heavily water/aquatic campaign), at which point if I'm your GM I'm probably asking why you picked Fireball in the first place over other options.

Easl |
This feels like the kind of thing that happens only occasionally in most campaigns (a GM might only have to deal with it once) or it'll happen all the time (you're in a heavily water/aquatic campaign), at which point if I'm your GM I'm probably asking why you picked Fireball in the first place over other options.
Hopefully it's not terrible for the PC. If they're a prepared caster they can swap it out next day, while if they're a spontaneous caster they can use the slot for other spells until they next level up and can change their repertoire.

lonodor88 |
That's interesting. Then I wanted to clarify if I understood the narrative mechanics of the fireball correctly. As I understand it, it works in approximately the following way. You see a target where you want to create a wave of fire. The target should not be blocked by anything in a straight line from the caster (it is from the caster or the object that directly creates the effect of the spell, the view from the familiar's eyes or other remote means of observation do not work). The grid, the creatures, and the cracks in the wall that you can see through don't count. You concentrate magic on a point, shout Ignis Tormento, and snap your fingers. At the place of concentration, a concentrated wave of flame and heat spreads over a huge radius, which burns everything that is well burned, but does not destroy either walls or doors. Not a grenade, but a flamethrower.

Easl |
That's interesting. Then I wanted to clarify if I understood the narrative mechanics of the fireball correctly.
The sum total of narrative mechanics we get from Paizo is "A roaring blast of fire detonates at a spot you designate, dealing 6d6 fire damage." That's it. Everything and anything else you add as a player or GM, is just your narrative add. Which is cool and great and should be encouraged...so long as the player doesn't take the additional narration as an invitation to argue for a change in the mechanics.
The OP's aquatic question is not 100% clear cut; a GM could let it work, or not. While I personally fall on the 'not' side, that last bullet I quoted simply says "at the GM's discretion."

Errenor |
That's interesting. Then I wanted to clarify if I understood the narrative mechanics of the fireball correctly. As I understand it, it works in approximately the following way. You see a target where you want to create a wave of fire. The target should not be blocked by anything in a straight line from the caster (it is from the caster or the object that directly creates the effect of the spell, the view from the familiar's eyes or other remote means of observation do not work). The grid, the creatures, and the cracks in the wall that you can see through don't count. You concentrate magic on a point, shout Ignis Tormento, and snap your fingers. At the place of concentration, a concentrated wave of flame and heat spreads over a huge radius, which burns everything that is well burned, but does not destroy either walls or doors. Not a grenade, but a flamethrower.
Vision don't come into this. You can throw fireballs blind or into darkness. Only line of effect is important. So, not 'you see a target' but 'you approximate a point' for the burst. And creatures in this game have a great eye for distances. Some GMs could impose restrictions for 'blind-flinging' but rules don't support this.
Also some inanimate things could be destroyed or damaged as decided by a GM.Plus what Easl said.