Cursebound rules


Rules Discussion


Sorry I was unable to find how the rules work for Cursebound when archetyping into Oracle. I am currently level 11, would that allow me to go up to Cureebound 3? Would level 17 allow me to go to Cursebound 4?

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

no, you stay at maximum of 2


Dr. Frank Funkelstein wrote:
no, you stay at maximum of 2

This is correct. Specifically the "Major Curse" class feature is what increases it to 3. Oracle Archetype never grants you this class feature, so you don't get it's benefits.


Ohh shoot, interesting, thanks guys!

One question, when im Cursebound 2 that means I have both the first curse and the second correct?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
The Total Package wrote:
One question, when im Cursebound 2 that means I have both the first curse and the second correct?

Assuming that you are meaning the stage levels of the Curse. Yes. They are cumulative.

Oracle: Curse wrote:
Your oracular curse lists the specific effects of being cursebound, which are cumulative as your curse progresses.

Meaning that if you are Cursebound 2 you have the effects of both the Cursebound 1 stage and the Cursebound 2 stage.

Many of the Curses have redundancies (redundant Conditions or typed penalties) and the rules for redundancies still apply. So Ash Curse giving Fire Weakness 2 at Cursebound 1 and Fire Weakness 5+level at Cursebound 5 would not stack (redundant Conditions), and Bones Curse giving -1 Status penalty to Fortitude saves at Cursebound 2 and a -2 Status penalty to fortitude saves at Cursebound 4 also do not stack (penalties of the same type).

Tempest Curse giving Electricity Weakness 2 at Cursebound 1 and a -2 circumstance penalty to ranged attacks at Cursebound 2 would both take effect.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Cursebound rules All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.