| Tridus |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
A staff only has charges if you prepare it. To prepare it, you must have at least one spell in the staff on your spell list. You can Cast a Spell from a staff only if you have that spell on your spell list, are able to cast spells of the appropriate rank or higher, and expend a number of charges from the staff equal to the spell's rank.
Divine Font does not give you a spell list if you don't already have one (it relies on preparing spells to function), so no, it doesn't let you do anything.
Being a Cleric does however, since both Heal and Harm are on every Cleric's spell list. In fact, every spell in a Staff of Healing is on the Divine list, so a Cleric can activate all of them (as can an Oracle and Divine Sorcerer, for example).
Unless you're somehow getting Divine Font on another class that can't normally cast Heal, this won't ever come up in practice.
| Finoan |
It depends on what is giving the Healing Font ability and what type of spells it is considering them to be.
Staff of Healing, like most staves, uses Cast a Spell Item Activation. It also has rules for how to get charges on the staff in order to be able to activate it.
So there are a few gotchas in here.
If you don't have any of the spells on the staff in 'your spell list' (however that happens to be defined), then you can't prepare the staff to put charges on it.
If you don't have a 'Spellcasting class feature' then you can't activate the staff using Cast a Spell activation.
The most notable way to be able to cast a spell that is on a staff without meeting those requirements is with Innate spells. The ability to cast Innate spells and Focus spells does not by itself give you a 'spellcasting class feature'*.
So, if you are getting Healing Font as innate spells, then no - you wouldn't be able to use a Staff of Healing. If you are getting Healing Font as regular spell slot spells, then probably. And if you get Healing Font in addition to something that says that you gain a spellcasting class feature, then yes - you can use a Staff of Healing.
*: Focus spells wouldn't be put onto a staff, so that is less relevant. Also there is debate on when a multiclass archetype gives the spellcasting class feature, but it is clear that Focus spells and Innate spells do not grant the class feature.
| Kelseus |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
Its not healing font its under the 20tth level celistial rebirth you get 2 7th level heals as inate spells. So I guess y question is can inate spells actuvate staffs if the staff is prepared.
No. Innate spells are not the same thing as a spell from spell slots.
Innate spells don't let you qualify for abilities that require you to be a spellcaster—those require you to have spell slots.
To cast a spell from a staff you have to prepare it, and to do that you have to be able to cast spells from spell slots and have a spell list, neither of which are provided through innate spells.
A staff gains charges when someone prepares it for the day. The person who prepared a staff can expend the charges to cast spells from it. You can Cast a Spell from a staff only if you have that spell on your spell list, are able to cast spells of the appropriate rank or higher, and expend a number of charges from the staff equal to the spell's rank.
| Tridus |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Its not healing font its under the 20tth level celistial rebirth you get 2 7th level heals as inate spells. So I guess y question is can inate spells actuvate staffs if the staff is prepared.
Innate spells do not count as having a spell list and can't be used to prepare a staff. So, no, you can't use them for this purpose.