Knicknevin
|
Hi
I can see earlier topics on this discussion but I'm still struggling to understand the wording used and would appreciate confirmation from rules team or a developer on the intended use of this ability please.
Fire at Will (Gunnery Phase, Push) You can fire any two starship weapons, regardless of their arc. Each attack is made at a –4 penalty.
I'm reading this as the gunner can attack an enemy with two weapons attached to the ship regardless of their arc. So I could attack a ship that is in the forward arc with weapons that are not in that arc (hence the regardless of arc text). However, elsewhere on this forum it's stated that it doesn't work that way, and it's would have to be two attacks into the arc those guns are positioned (which, to me, is not regardless of arc as you have to honour the arc placement).
The penalty is the same as a Full Attack so I can see how it might be thought to be that way, and most examples I see used are saying you can attack with a turret weapon and a weapon in the arc facing the enemy starship - but turrets already allow you to act regardless of arc so it's not really saying how this is regardless of arc.
I can also see this as escalation of difficulty for attacking into an arc - a normal attack from an arc to an enemy ship facing that arc is made at +0, a broadside attack has to be into the same arc but fires all weapons in that arc at -2, while Fire at Will allows 2 attacks regardless of arc at a -4.
Any official support on this would be appreciated.
Taja the Barbarian
|
Hi
I can see earlier topics on this discussion but I'm still struggling to understand the wording used and would appreciate confirmation from rules team or a developer on the intended use of this ability please.
Fire at Will (Gunnery Phase, Push) You can fire any two starship weapons, regardless of their arc. Each attack is made at a –4 penalty.
I'm reading this as the gunner can attack an enemy with two weapons attached to the ship regardless of their arc. So I could attack a ship that is in the forward arc with weapons that are not in that arc (hence the regardless of arc text). However, elsewhere on this forum it's stated that it doesn't work that way, and it's would have to be two attacks into the arc those guns are positioned (which, to me, is not regardless of arc as you have to honour the arc placement).
The penalty is the same as a Full Attack so I can see how it might be thought to be that way, and most examples I see used are saying you can attack with a turret weapon and a weapon in the arc facing the enemy starship - but turrets already allow you to act regardless of arc so it's not really saying how this is regardless of arc.
I can also see this as escalation of difficulty for attacking into an arc - a normal attack from an arc to an enemy ship facing that arc is made at +0, a broadside attack has to be into the same arc but fires all weapons in that arc at -2, while Fire at Will allows 2 attacks regardless of arc at a -4.
Any official support on this would be appreciated.
I'm assuming this is a SF2 playtest question and flagging it to be transferred to an appropriate forum.
Knicknevin
|
Knicknevin wrote:I'm assuming this is a SF2 playtest question and flagging it to be transferred to an appropriate forum.Hi
I can see earlier topics on this discussion but I'm still struggling to understand the wording used and would appreciate confirmation from rules team or a developer on the intended use of this ability please.
Fire at Will (Gunnery Phase, Push) You can fire any two starship weapons, regardless of their arc. Each attack is made at a –4 penalty.
I'm reading this as the gunner can attack an enemy with two weapons attached to the ship regardless of their arc. So I could attack a ship that is in the forward arc with weapons that are not in that arc (hence the regardless of arc text). However, elsewhere on this forum it's stated that it doesn't work that way, and it's would have to be two attacks into the arc those guns are positioned (which, to me, is not regardless of arc as you have to honour the arc placement).
The penalty is the same as a Full Attack so I can see how it might be thought to be that way, and most examples I see used are saying you can attack with a turret weapon and a weapon in the arc facing the enemy starship - but turrets already allow you to act regardless of arc so it's not really saying how this is regardless of arc.
I can also see this as escalation of difficulty for attacking into an arc - a normal attack from an arc to an enemy ship facing that arc is made at +0, a broadside attack has to be into the same arc but fires all weapons in that arc at -2, while Fire at Will allows 2 attacks regardless of arc at a -4.
Any official support on this would be appreciated.
No, sorry this is a 1st edition question
Taja the Barbarian
|
Taja the Barbarian wrote:No, sorry this is a 1st edition questionKnicknevin wrote:I'm assuming this is a SF2 playtest question and flagging it to be transferred to an appropriate forum.Hi
I can see earlier topics on this discussion but I'm still struggling to understand the wording used and would appreciate confirmation from rules team or a developer on the intended use of this ability please.
Fire at Will (Gunnery Phase, Push) You can fire any two starship weapons, regardless of their arc. Each attack is made at a –4 penalty.
I'm reading this as the gunner can attack an enemy with two weapons attached to the ship regardless of their arc. So I could attack a ship that is in the forward arc with weapons that are not in that arc (hence the regardless of arc text). However, elsewhere on this forum it's stated that it doesn't work that way, and it's would have to be two attacks into the arc those guns are positioned (which, to me, is not regardless of arc as you have to honour the arc placement).
The penalty is the same as a Full Attack so I can see how it might be thought to be that way, and most examples I see used are saying you can attack with a turret weapon and a weapon in the arc facing the enemy starship - but turrets already allow you to act regardless of arc so it's not really saying how this is regardless of arc.
I can also see this as escalation of difficulty for attacking into an arc - a normal attack from an arc to an enemy ship facing that arc is made at +0, a broadside attack has to be into the same arc but fires all weapons in that arc at -2, while Fire at Will allows 2 attacks regardless of arc at a -4.
Any official support on this would be appreciated.
Ah, so it is: It didn't look familiar, but we adopted the narrative starship combat rules pretty quickly...
My apologies.
If you can't find an official clarification on this, you are rather unlikely to get one now...
| Dragonchess Player |
To recap the Gunner Crew Actions for Starship Combat: Fire At Will is a distinct crew action from Shoot or Broadside.
Fire At Will - "You can fire any two starship weapons, regardless of their arc. Each attack is made at a –4 penalty."
Shoot - "You can fire one of your starship’s weapons. If you use a turret weapon, you can target a ship in any arc."
Broadside - "At 6th level, you can expend 1 Resolve Point to fire all of the starship weapons mounted in one arc (including turret-mounted weapons). Each weapon can target any vessel in that arc. All of these attacks are made with a –2 penalty."
Fire At Will seems to allow a gunner to fire two weapons, even if they are mounted on different arcs, but at -4. Shoot only allows the gunner to fire a single weapon. Broadside allows the gunner to fire all the weapons mounted in a single arc (or turret), but only targeting vessels in that arc.
What Fire At Will does not do is allow weapons to fire in different arcs than the one they are mounted (although the Gyrolaser, with the Broad Arc property, can fire in adjacent arcs).
| Dragonchess Player |
Knicknevin
|
To recap the Gunner Crew Actions for Starship Combat: Fire At Will is a distinct crew action from Shoot or Broadside.
Fire At Will - "You can fire any two starship weapons, regardless of their arc. Each attack is made at a –4 penalty."
Shoot - "You can fire one of your starship’s weapons. If you use a turret weapon, you can target a ship in any arc."
Broadside - "At 6th level, you can expend 1 Resolve Point to fire all of the starship weapons mounted in one arc (including turret-mounted weapons). Each weapon can target any vessel in that arc. All of these attacks are made with a –2 penalty."
Fire At Will seems to allow a gunner to fire two weapons, even if they are mounted on different arcs, but at -4. Shoot only allows the gunner to fire a single weapon. Broadside allows the gunner to fire all the weapons mounted in a single arc (or turret), but only targeting vessels in that arc.
What Fire At Will does not do is allow weapons to fire in different arcs than the one they are mounted (although the Gyrolaser, with the Broad Arc property, can fire in adjacent arcs).
Thanks for your response. Perhaps it's the terminology used but I can't see how that fully meets the definition of "regardless of arc" without ambiguity - I think I'm starting to understand where the disconnect is though - the game uses the term "arc" interchangeably for both the section of the ship the weapon is placed in and the area of space around that weapon. This ability is effectively saying it is "regardless of arc (section of ship)" and not "regardless of arc (area around the ship)" - Perhaps there should be some differentiation of these terms in future products if starship combat in 2nd edition will have similar complexities (section of ship is a quarter or quadrant while the areas around the ship maintain the arc terminology?). In any case, thanks again for the response
| Loreguard |
Regardless of Arc is referring to the fact you can choose to pick any TWO weapons and fire them.. it doesn't change what arc the target of said weapons can hit. But it does imply that the rolls to hit will be separate, and should be able to target different targets.
I think they were trying to differentiate between Broadside, multiple/all weapons, but only in one arc. And this which is two weapons, which can come from any arc, can be fired. Each one targeting a valid target for that weapon, with the given modifier.