| Balkoth |
So we have the sorcerer with Sorcerous Potency:
"Because of the magical power inherent in your blood, your spells that hurt or cure are stronger than those of other spellcasters. When you Cast a Spell from your spell slots that either deals damage or restores Hit Points, you gain a status bonus to that spell's damage or healing equal to the spell's rank. This applies only to the initial damage or healing the spell deals when cast. An individual creature takes this damage or benefits from this healing only once per spell, even if the spell would damage or heal that creature multiple times."
So you toss out a Fireball, it does extra damage equal to its rank, simple.
But what about Weapon of Judgment which creates a weapon that attacks only when a specific trigger condition is met?
Does the first strike from the Weapon of Judgement deal extra damage? The first strike that HITS? Or does it not benefit at all due to "This applies only to the initial damage or healing the spell deals when cast?"
And what about Blessed Boundary that only deals damage if/when creatures move through it?
Does that deal damage on the first time an opponent tries to move through? Does it matter if the first move is a critical save? Does Sorcerous Potency not even apply due to "This applies only to the initial damage or healing the spell deals when cast?"
| shroudb |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
You are correct that in both cases, the limitation of "initial damage WHEN CAST" would bar them for benefiting from damage they deal after you've cast the spell.
But for Blessed Boundary in particular, Sorcerous Potency WOULD apply on the initial cast if you put it right on top of an enemy ("The shell deals 7d8 force damage to each creature who intersects with the shell when the sphere's created").
So:
Weapon of judgement: No
Blessed Boundary: If you catch some people on it when you cast it only.
| NorrKnekten |
Courageous Anthem is a bonus to all damage rolls. In most cases this will just keep applying to the same spell on subsequent turns without an issue.
The exception is for abilities such as Force Barrage which states that damage from multiple 'hits' is combined before applying any bonuses and penalties.
The Elite Template however is weird, Its not a bonus per say but rather just an increase to the base damage of all offensive Strikes and Abilities. I'm unsure how this applies to Force Barrage specifically as if it is intended to be a bonus added after combining the damage or before, I personally play it as a bonus.
| NorrKnekten |
Correct, it "applies only to the initial damage or healing the spell deals when cast." and "An individual creature takes this damage or benefits from this healing only once per spell"
So it would not apply to any damage rolls after the Cast a Spell action is complete, Nor would it apply to any Persistent Damage or instances of repeated damage.