What reach does a minotaur PC has?


Rules Discussion


We have a rule discussion ongoing in our group.
Has a Minotaur PC natural reach of 10ft or 5ft as a large creature?

The core book clearly states, that a tall large creature has "typically" reach of 10ft.

HotW says, that a Minotaur is a tall large creature. ("tall" is not a trait but stated in the description)

But HotW also says, that large PCs do not gain automatically "additional" reach. And to be more confusing it gives an example of additional reach by mentioning the minotaur ancestry feat which got an errata to become a stance. So "additional" reach seems to be something different than "typical" reach.

Additional the minotaur hunter of the monster book is a lvl 4 creature with 10ft reach

So does a minotaur have reach of 10ft or 5ft ?

Also no site which tracks differences between the remastered and previous versions mentions anything about a change in size and reach rules.

Thanks for any clarification with sources.


5 people marked this as a favorite.

Large PC rules is the rule to use for PCs, you will not find any rules regarding large PCs because naturally large ancestries just didnt exist back then.

This overrules the rules that are typical for large creatures as those mostly apply to monsters, but even they say that monsters of this size USUALLY or CAN HAVE longer reach.

A large PC has a reach of 5ft from any one of their squares unless they have an ability that says otherwise.

Which means a minotaur can reach any adjacent square just like any other non-tiny PC. But due to their size this means 'threathen' 12 squares and can hit targets 10ft up into the air. Essentially any 5ft cube adjacent to their own space.


On what source is your conclusion based?
Unfortunately, 'additional' and 'typical' have never been clearly defined. Especially the example with the ancestry feat — which has absolutely nothing to do with standard reach — is extremely confusing.

The other possible interpretation is, that a large PC does get his normal 10ft but nothing else - like tail or wing attacks - which may have a greater reach originally.

And a medium minotaur with enlarge person gets reach, which seems utterly strange, when same size minotaurs get different reach.


8 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

The rules for Large PCs on page 9 of Howl of the Wild that were already linked (the same book minotaur is in) make it very clear that they only have 5ft reach, without even having to explain that the table of typical reaches is not used as a default like that.

Quote:
Large PCs occupy a space that is 2 squares long by 2 squares wide by 2 squares high. This means that they can, for example, Strike a creature that is flying 10 feet above the ground (or 15 feet above the ground when using a reach weapon). However, Large PCs do not automatically gain additional reach, though some Large ancestries (such as minotaurs) have ancestry feats that grant them additional reach. A Large PC is also big enough that they provide standard cover instead of lesser cover to Small or smaller creatures.

There's not a matter of interpretation left.

Cognates

2 people marked this as a favorite.
arch3r black wrote:

Also no site which tracks differences between the remastered and previous versions mentions anything about a change in size and reach rules.

Thanks for any clarification with sources.

The large PC rules are from howl of the wild, a post-remaster book. There are no pre-remaster rules for this, as PCs that are by default large did not exist until howl of the wild.

Liberty's Edge

3 people marked this as a favorite.
arch3r black wrote:

On what source is your conclusion based?

Unfortunately, 'additional' and 'typical' have never been clearly defined. Especially the example with the ancestry feat — which has absolutely nothing to do with standard reach — is extremely confusing.

The other possible interpretation is, that a large PC does get his normal 10ft but nothing else - like tail or wing attacks - which may have a greater reach originally.

And a medium minotaur with enlarge person gets reach, which seems utterly strange, when same size minotaurs get different reach.

An enlarged medium Minotaur also gets Clumsy 1, as opposed to a naturally Large Minotaur.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / What reach does a minotaur PC has? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.