Is there lesser cover in this situation?


Rules Discussion


Hi everyone,

I would like to know if in this example, lesser cover is supposed to be applied to the defender.

A - Attacker
B - Defender
M - Minions allied with the defender.

All of them are medium-sized creatures.

A M
M B

If you draw a line between A and B, the line touches the corners of both minions. Reading the text from Cover in PC 424, it seems B should have lesser cover since both Ms are creatures and not "hard blockers" like a wall corner.

Is this correct?

Thank you!

Part of the Cover rules:
"Usually, the GM can quickly decide whether your target has cover. If you're uncertain or need to be more precise, draw a line from the center of your space to the center of the target's space. If that line passes through any terrain or object that would block the effect, the target has standard cover (or greater cover if the obstruction is extreme or the target has Taken Cover). If the line passes through a creature instead, the target has lesser cover. When measuring cover against an area effect, draw the line from the effect's point of origin to the center of the creature's space. See the diagram for examples."


It is a bit debated if a pair of creatures on a diagonal like those Mooks are considered as a contiguous impediment or not. Tables will vary, so talk to the GM about which way it is being run.

If it is ruled that attacking across the diagonal is considered to be invoking Cover rules, then yes - the appropriate amount of cover would be Lesser Cover.


I typically rule that in the case of diagonals like this the 'line' cannot be considered as passing trough a creature, Similar to as if it was soft corners that didnt extend to the whole square, Depends on GM and situation as previously mentioned.


Thanks for the help.

I am the GM of the group and so far I haven't invoked cover in this situation when it comes up for ease of play, but after reviewing the cover rules in PC I suddenly am not sure if RAW it should be applied.

If you run it that way technically you also have cover in this situation, which is a bit weird (line touches the corner of M):

A
M B


Sc8rpi8n_mjd wrote:
I am the GM of the group and so far I haven't invoked cover in this situation when it comes up for ease of play,

Then I would continue running it that way for consistency. It doesn't make a big enough difference to matter most of the time.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Is there lesser cover in this situation? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.