
![]() |
Hello,
If I wield a two-handed weapon and the Shielded Arm spell is cast on me, can I use the Raise a Shield action without having to change my grip on the weapon?
Also, please take Rules As Intended into account, because I asked on Reddit, and my GM says that people interpret it according to RAW, and they are all wrong.
Thanks!

YuriP |

RAW: Yes
RAI: Yes!
Besides the fact that the spell doesn't mention anything about the grip or free hand, it's not the first or only shield spell that doesn't care about your hand.
Shield, Glass Shield also don't have this limitation.
The only shield spell I remember that has an interpretation that requires a hand is Fire Shield because of the phrase "You can Raise a Shield with the fire shield as a normal shield to gain a +1 circumstance bonus to AC", which implies that if it works like a "normal shield" then it needs to be held as such.