Do Psi Strikes work with Ranged Weapons?


Rules Discussion


Hi all,

I couldn't seem to find a definitive answer in the forums/online but does the Psi Strikes feat work with ranged weapons? For instance, if my Psychic casts Shield and then uses a longbow to make a ranged attack, does that attack get the +1d6 force damage on a success?

Thanks for you help.


I would rule yes


So Psi Strikes says-

"You siphon residual psychic energies from your spell into one weapon you're wielding"

- So if you have your bow in your hands, you can put that energy into it.

"The attack deals an extra 1d6 force damage until the end of the current turn."

- Compare the Flaming Rune's text of " The weapon deals an additional 1d6 fire damage on a successful Strike". While it's weird that Psi strikes says "attack" not weapon (probably because it applies to unarmed strikes which are not weapons) I would say that if Psi strikes applies to like "a staff you're holding" (which it should) then it should also apply to a bow you're holding because the question I have about the feat's wording is "when is a weapon an attack" rather than "can I apply it to a ranged weapon."

If they're going to remaster Dark Archive, I would suggest changing the text of Psi strikes to (bold represents changes) "You siphon residual psychic energies from your spell into one weapon you're wielding or one of your unarmed attacks and when you unleash your mind, the energies flare to match. Successful strikes with this weapon or attack deal an extra 1d6 force damage until the end of the current turn. If your Psyche is Unleashed, this benefit instead lasts until your psyche subsides.


Thank you, Nicholas Storm and PossibleCabbage. I thought that the answer might be yes but wasn't sure if I was missing some other interaction that would make it no.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Do Psi Strikes work with Ranged Weapons? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion