Clinging Bubbles


Rules Discussion


Hello, I have a question about Clinging Bubbles.

Quote:
You dip the wand in the solution and blow on it. An improbably large cloud of bubbles emerges in a square adjacent to you. This cloud travels in a straight line, moving 10 feet at the end of your turns. The bubbles are thick and sticky, and any creature who enters the same space as the bubble cloud becomes shrouded in them, taking a –5-foot circumstance penalty to its Speed. A creature covered in bubbles can use an Interact action to pop the bubbles and remove the penalty.

If the cloud travels and moving in the space of the creature, does the creature take a -5 foot circumstance penalty to its Speed ?

Thanks for your future answer.


I expect that it should. But that isn't strictly what the rule says.

The technical language would only have the effect work when a creature moves into the space of the bubbles. Not when the bubbles move into or through the space of a creature.

But that doesn't really match the narrative of the effect very well.

A lot of spells and effects use language like 'if a creature moves into the area or starts their turn in the area'. But that is a lot of words to use.

'any creature who enters the same space' sounds like it is supposed to be equivalent. I would have the effect work on creatures when the bubble cloud passes through their space too.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Clinging Bubbles All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.