| Waldham |
Hello, I have question about Bloodrager archetype.
Bloodrage :
When you Cast a Spell that requires a spell attack roll while raging, apply the additional
damage from Rage to that spell, even on a failure.
Split shot :
You fragment a ranged spell into a pair of smaller shots. If your next action is to Cast a Spell without a duration that requires an attack roll against a single target and has no effect beyond dealing damage, you roll a single attack roll and compare the result to the AC of two targets within the spell's range. The spell deals only half its usual damage to each target. This counts as one attack for your multiple attack penalty.
1/ Does the additional damage from rage to that spell divide in half for each target ? Or add to half its usual damage to each target ?
For example ignition does dealing 2d4 fire damage on a hit.Target 1 : 1d4 fire + 1 (additional damage from rage) or 1d4 + 2 (additional from rage)
Target 2 : 1d4 fire + 1 (additional damage from rage) or 1d4 + 2 (additional from rage)
2/ So if the character failed on a spell attack roll, but not a critical failure, the spell does the additional damage from Rage, is it right ?
3/Rising blood magic :
In addition, when you Cast a Spell from your repertoire and you are at least drained 1, increase the extra damage dealt by that spell from Rage by 1.
Surging Blood Magic :
In addition, when you
Cast a Spell from your repertoire and you are at least drained 2, increase the extra damage dealt by that spell from Rage by an additional 2 (for a total of 3).
1 (from Rising Blood if at least drained 1) + 2 (from Surging Drained Blood if at least drained 2) = 3, is it right ?
4/ Exultant Blood Magic :
In addition, when you Cast a Spell from your repertoire and you are at least drained 2, double the extra damage dealt by that spell from Rage instead.
Additional damage from rage : [8 (greater specialization) + 3 (surging blood magic and at least drained 2)] * 2 (Exultant Blood Magic, at least drained 2) = + 22
Is it right ?5/ So with a Spell that requires a spell attack roll while raging, even on a failure : 22 damage guaranteed on a target, is it right ?
6/ Does the additional damage from Rage have a type or no ?
Thanks for your future answer.
| TheFinish |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
Lets see:
1) First off, Split Shot was changed in Player Core 2, it now only deals half damage to the 2nd target, the 1st target still takes full damage. Archives of Nethys hasn't yet updated the feat, so keep that in mind.
I'd treat Rage Damage as Sorcerous Potency in this case: add it first, then halve. And per the rules, if you halve damage, you don't split the dice. You'd roll 2d4+2, halve the result (round down, minimum 1) and apply it. You don't split it into two rolls of d4+1.
2) Yes, plus anything else that would apply on a failure. For example if you cast a first rank Live Wire and miss, you'd do d4 electricity + your rage damage.
3) Correct, Surging Blood Magic is 1 extra damage if you're Drained 1 and Rising makes it 3 extra damage if you're Drained 2 or more.
4) No, Exultant Blood Magic has an instead clause. So instead of Rage+3 from Rising, you get Ragex2. So for a Bloodrager at that level, it'd be +9 Damage (8 from Spec + 1 from Surging) if they're Drained 1, and 16 (8 from spec x 2 from Exultant) if they're Drained 2+.
5) If you're Drained 2+ and have Exultant Blood Magic, you will deal 16 damage on a failure, yes. If you're Drained 1 you will deal 9, and if you're not Drained you will deal 8.
6) It doesn't say anywhere, I'm afraid. I'd personally run it like Sorcerous Potency and make it the same damage type as the original spell.
EDIT: Also, since you seem interested in Bloodrager, keep in mind they got a few clarifications in the "Alternate Mythic Rules" PDF. You can find the PDF here https://downloads.paizo.com/PZO12006AlternateMythicRules.pdf
The Raven Black
|
If a bloodrager uses Ferrous Form and can cast needle darts as an innate spell; the casting is reduced from 2 actions to 1.
Does the additional damage from Rage apply or no with needle darts as an innate spell ?
It does because Blood Rage does not specify that it applies only to spells from your repertoire.
However, you will still need a way (like Moment of Clarity) to cast your innate spell while raging.