Leaving my backpack open


Rules Discussion


CRB wrote:

Change; Hands; Action

...
Retrieve an item from a backpack 3, sack, or similar container; 2 hands; Interact
...
Retrieving an item stowed in your own backpack requires first taking off the backpack with a separate Interact action.

Actually taking off the backpack doesn't seem to be required anymore, though it still takes 2 actions to get a stowed item.

PC wrote:

You can use the Interact action (page 416) to:

...
Retrieve a stowed item from a backpack, pouch, or similar container (or put one away). You'll often need to Interact to open or close the backpack or container.

Is there any consequence to just leaving the backpack open?


3 people marked this as a favorite.
SuperParkourio wrote:
Is there any consequence to just leaving the backpack open?

Only ones that the GM imposes because you are trying to exploit a loophole. Such as having random things fall out when you get hit or Stride.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
SuperParkourio wrote:
Is there any consequence to just leaving the backpack open?

Whatever the DM wants: you could drop everything in it whenever you fall, get knocked prone, fail a ref save, or whatever else the Dm wants. As there is NO detriment to wearing items instead, it's best to do so for things you'll potentially need: the only things that need to go in a container are those you wish to get a bulk reduction for and don't need to quickly Draw.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Leaving my backpack open All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.