Grapple ended by forced movement


Rules Discussion


A fellow Pathfinder was Grappled and I recommended he Reposition the Grappler to end the Grapple. All the other players and the GM retorted that the restriction on the Grappler moving only applied to move actions performed by them; forced movement didn't count. I thought this was only the case for reactions triggered by movement. Does forced movement against the Grappler end the Grapple?


Here's how a table I played at handled this.

* Doing a grapple provides no protection against being moved around yourself

* If you no longer are able to meet the requirements for an action, like being too far away to continue to grapple, then that action/effect ends.

Therefore, moving someone away from their Grappled target is a great way to aid the grabbed creature by ending the grapple.

------------------

However, someone being grabbed is usually unable to use Reposition to help themself. Reposition requires the foe being moved stays within reach. This means that you must have a longer reach than the thing Grappling you for that to work. Note that Shove is right there as an option, though.

For our table, the Kin's Tumbling Lumber has been the "get off me" tool that created the discussion.


Grab in the Bestiary used to say it ended if the monster moved away. Now monsters use Grapple, which just says "you move."


1 person marked this as a favorite.

"you move" is different than "you make a move action".

When someone is forcefully moving you, you still "move", even if involuntarily.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Wow, totally forgot that "unless you move" clause was in Grapple.

That's really bizarre, and might add some weird edge cases.

Either way, that does seem to make this even more clear.

As shroudb echos, there's no real RaW argument for a monster to use Grapple, be moved from it's square, and still maintain that Grapple.

This is a lot more important now, as monster Grab uniquely allows for auto-success sustaining of Grapples.

If the Grapple's not broken by movement, they can keep a Grapple going for as long as they wish to spend actions on it.


shroudb wrote:
"you move" is different than "you make a move action".

If that's true (which I probably could accept) then what is the definition of "you move"? Do you need to change square? Or is moving within your square enough?

Also I realized that Reposition doesn't mention anything about range or reach (like Strike does), that seems like quite a big miss tbh. I mean logically you need to be in physical contact with someone to move them but that isn't actually specified.


Thezzaruz wrote:
shroudb wrote:
"you move" is different than "you make a move action".

If that's true (which I probably could accept) then what is the definition of "you move"? Do you need to change square? Or is moving within your square enough?

Also I realized that Reposition doesn't mention anything about range or reach (like Strike does), that seems like quite a big miss tbh. I mean logically you need to be in physical contact with someone to move them but that isn't actually specified.

Check Reposition's degrees of success. It's there.


Thezzaruz wrote:
shroudb wrote:
"you move" is different than "you make a move action".

If that's true (which I probably could accept) then what is the definition of "you move"? Do you need to change square? Or is moving within your square enough?

Also I realized that Reposition doesn't mention anything about range or reach (like Strike does), that seems like quite a big miss tbh. I mean logically you need to be in physical contact with someone to move them but that isn't actually specified.

this is probably best handled with the gm of the game, but for me, anything that changes your square without being a teleport effect is a move, as well as everything with the move trait itself.


SuperParkourio wrote:
Check Reposition's degrees of success. It's there.

Yes, Reposition very clearly says how far you can move the opponent if you succeed on that action. But that wasn't the question (I might have been unclear with my question though).

The claim was that the "you move" requirement for ending a Grapple was different (less stringent?) than "you make a move action". So my question then is, if you have another creature Grappled, just how much do you have to move to count as having fulfilled the "you move" requirement that would end the Grapple?


shroudb wrote:
this is probably best handled with the gm of the game, but for me, anything that changes your square without being a teleport effect is a move, as well as everything with the move trait itself.

Well that's a quite clearly defined line at least, not a bad choice.


Thezzaruz wrote:
SuperParkourio wrote:
Check Reposition's degrees of success. It's there.

Yes, Reposition very clearly says how far you can move the opponent if you succeed on that action. But that wasn't the question (I might have been unclear with my question though).

The claim was that the "you move" requirement for ending a Grapple was different (less stringent?) than "you make a move action". So my question then is, if you have another creature Grappled, just how much do you have to move to count as having fulfilled the "you move" requirement that would end the Grapple?

I was talking about the reach requirement. Each degree of success states not only how far the target moves but also that they must stay in your reach throughout the movement.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Grapple ended by forced movement All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.