Net Questions - Holding multiple nets


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

Assumed feats: Net adept (making net a 10ft reach weapon); Combat reflexes; Equipment trick [Net]; Improved dirty trick; quick draw

1) If I have multiple nets on my belt, and an opponents provokes within my threatened range, can I throw nets as AOO since it is a melee reach weapon?

2) Let's say with combat reflexes I throw 4 nets at 4 different opponents, and succeed on my opposed STR checks. I then control the trailing rope for multiple nets? Is there a limit? Is there a penalty after the first?

3) When controlling the trailing rope, you still have control of the weapon, so can you perform a dirty trick with it? What if you lost the opposed STR check, does that mean you dropped the rope/weapon and can no longer perform the dirty trick?

4) If you fail an opposed STR check to control the rope, can you pick it up the next round and try another opposed STR check?


in general go and read up on Combat - Attack of Opportunity.
You have to attack with a ready weapon that threatens...
 > weapons not drawn (on your belt) and stowed weapons are of no use for AoOs.
 > the weapon in hand has to threaten the square the provoker is in.

Exotic Ranged Weapons
Nets... 20gp Dmg(S):— Dmg(M):— Critical:— Range:10ft.(projectile) Weight:6lbs. Type:— Special:— Category:Ranged Proficiency:exotic WpnGrp:thrown.
Description: Ranged touch attack with MAX Rng:10ft! and tgt entangled. no reach, doesn't threaten, useless for an AoO. Net Adept feat does give a Net 1hnd reach:10ft so one in hand can be used for AoOs but if you hit the weapon is generally stuck on that target. IF you had a net in each hand then two-weapon fighting penalties apply, -6, -10.
If you control the trailing rope by succeeding on an opposed Strength check while holding it, the entangled creature can move only within the limits that the rope allows. If the entangled creature attempts to cast a spell, it must make a concentration check with a DC of 15 + the spell’s level or be unable to cast the spell.
An entangled creature can escape with a DC 20 Escape Artist check (a full-round action). The net has 5 hit points and can be burst with a DC 25 Strength check (also a full-round action). A net is useful only against creatures within one size category of you.
A net must be folded to be thrown effectively. The first time you throw your net in a fight, you make a normal ranged touch attack roll. After the net is unfolded, you take a –4 penalty on attack rolls with it. It takes 2 rounds for a proficient user to fold a net and twice that long for a non-proficient one to do so.

ADVICE:
Exotic wpn prof feat, Net Adept(BAB +1), etc.
Entangling a foe within 10ft is not such a smart idea, they're only -2 to hit you... The concentration check is easy.
you're investing a lot in a one trick weapon that gets stuck on targets and with Str Check DC 25 it'll be over by 6th level where most foes will hit 50% breakout. At best with an unseen servant handing you folded nets from a handy haverersack you're expending 20gp a round to make an attack that does no damage and several spells totally shuts this line of attack down.
Get a better weapon. An alternative like a cestus springs to mind.


A net is a one handed weapon which means you cannot throw multiple nets and control the trailing rope without using the hand that threw it. To do this with more than one net will require you to use two weapon fighting with all that entails, and you will be limited to two nets. You could throw multiple nets without controlling the trailing rope.

The description of the net in the core rule book specifies that you have to succeed at the opposed STR roll to control the trailing rope. If you fail the check you cannot do anything else to the target including the dirty trick. Since failure of the opposed STR roll means the entangled character can move outside the area of the rope that seems to indicate that a failure means you cannot try next round.

Also, each net that you are trying to control requires its own opposed STR roll.


Feats: Net adept allows you to use a net as a one-handed reach weapon instead of a two-handed ranged weapon. So yes, now you can threaten with it and use it for AoO.
BUT looking at Net and trident , the obvious implication is that Net adept does not allow you to use it as a one-handed ranged weapon (you didn't throw it), you treat it more like a whip that entangles on a hit.
Thus, net adept + combat reflexes would let use the net just like a melee weapon: you whack a provoker, then whack the next provoke, and so on. <However, as your desire for multiple nets make clear, this doesn't end up with multiple people entangled, just whomever you hit last. This can still be desirable, as using to force concentration checks on multiple spellcasters could be great, and keeping them entangled isn't really required after you squelch their spell.>

With Net adept and/or Net and trident you could at best use two at any given time (with TWF penalties).

So, 1) If you are wielding a net or two, you can use it as a one-handed reach weapon for AoO, but could not use it for a second (or third if dual-wielding) without removing the entangled condition from the previous hit.

Quickdraw does not allow you to draw outside your turn (barring some other ability), so you can't use that for AoOs outside your turn.

2) You are still bound by number of hands. Normally, only one net can be used because it is a two-handed weapon. Net adept and net and trident would permit two nets because you can now have one in each hand.

3) a)Yes, with equipment trick (net) binding trick (imp dirty trick). B) does look like you drop the trailing if you fail the opposed check, and the equipment trick requires you to control the trailing; however, Net trickery allows within reach or with control.

4) Sorry, unclear RAW to me. As GM I would probably allow a touch attack (vs entangled creature's touch AC) that provokes.

Edit: Double Ninja'd

Shadow Lodge

Thanks for the clarification. I think not being able to use multiple as an AOO seriously brings back the balance to this character and being only able to control one rope makes sense when you consider it a melee weapon. I appreciate everyone's time and response =)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Net Questions - Holding multiple nets All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.