Antipaladin level 11 Destructive Vengeance interaction help needed


Advice


So I have a player who is playing a level 11 Antipaladin of Gorum and she is loving it but I have come across a ruling that I need a second opinion on. Her divine smite states that a creature damaged by her Destructive Vengeance reaction takes persistant spirit or void damage equal to her charisma modifer her choice, simple enough but its her exalt that is tripping me up. It states:

When you use Destructive Vengeance, each enemy within 15 feet of you other than the triggering creature takes half the damage you deal to the triggering enemy, of the same damage type you chose.

So does this mean that all creatures that took damage also take the persistant damage from the divine smite?

I have currently ruled they do and she lives to be surrounded so she can mini nuke everything in 15ft.

Was curious as to how to properly read the rule as well.


I'm seeing it the same way with both the level 9 and level 11 upgrades both happening. The Exalt effect causing all enemies within 15 feet to also take half the initial damage from Destructive Vengeance, and the Divine Smite ability causing them all to take persistent damage as well.

It might be best to fight the gazebo alone. Or at least from more than 15 feet away.


Follow up if you don't mind, for Destructive Vengeance do you role the d6's once or twice?

Bloodshed begets bloodshed as you drag your enemy toward oblivion. You increase the amount of damage you take by 1d6, and you deal 1d6 damage to the triggering enemy, choosing spirit or void damage to deal to the enemy each time you use this reaction. In addition, until the end of your next turn, your Strikes against the triggering creature deal 2 extra damage of the type you chose.

I have ruled only once in my game.

Thoughts?


Which d6's?

The d6 extra damage you take, and the d6 damage that the triggering enemies and possibly others take?

I would run it that since the d6 damage that you take is added to the damage that the enemy deals to you, that the enemy rolls that along with the rest of their damage. And its value is not recorded or used for anything else.

The d6 damage that your ability does to them and others is rolled by you and is the same base value applied to everyone that takes that damage.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Advice / Antipaladin level 11 Destructive Vengeance interaction help needed All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Advice