Acid Grip clarification


Rules Discussion


I was wondering if someone could give me clarification how the new remastered spell Acid Grip works.

It says the spell has a duration of 1 minute & is a Concentrate spell.

Does this spell work like Spectral Hand where you can move the Grip to a new target within the 120 feet range?

Does the Persistent acid damage only continue as you Concentrate?

Does the spell make an attack every round on same target as long as you Concentrate?

Thank you to anyone who can assist!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Concentrate Trait doesn't mean you have to concentrate to keep it up, it's the Trait for casting the spell (as an example, while in Rage, barbarian can't use Concentrate actions)

Now, as far as the spell goes:

You target the enemy, he rolls a saving throw.

If he critically succeed nothing happens to him, the spell is over.

If he succeed he takes half damage, you move him 5ft, the spell is over.

If he fails he takes full damage, he's moved 10ft and he also starts getting persistent damage. As long as he takes persistent damage he's hindered (reduced speed).

From your part, the spell is over. For the target, every round he checks to see if persistent is still up or not, OR in 1 minute later, it automatically ends.

If he crit fails, like failure but double direct damage and moved 20ft.

---

For pf2, the duration you have to keep spending actions/effort to keep up every round is called Sustained.

Concentration is just "a Trait". (You can read the traits and how they change/what rules they have)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

As an example of a spell that does have a Sustained duration, check into Animated Assault.

When the spell is first cast (on the caster's first turn, for example) it will do 2d10 damage to everyone in the targeted area. And if the caster does nothing more, that is all that the spell will do and it will end at the end of the caster's second turn (and no longer be available to Sustain).

If, on the next round the caster Sustains the spell, then the spell will do another 1d10 damage in its area and the spell will continue past the caster's second turn and end at the end of the caster's third turn - unless the caster uses Sustain again during their third turn for that spell again.

It is also possible to have multiple spells with a Sustained duration active at the same time. A caster could cast Animated Assault during their first turn, then Sustain Animated Assault and spend their remaining two actions casting Dancing Shield. Then on their third turn they would need to use Sustain twice - once for each of the two spells that are active. Any spell that has a Sustained duration that is not Sustained will end at the end of the turn as scheduled.


Awesome thank you both for your clarification! :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Acid Grip clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.