Can't act mid-action


Rules Discussion


If you are using the Cast a Spell action to cast, let's say, a 2-action spell, but before you finish, you suffer an effect that says you can't act, does your spell fail to take effect as thought it were disrupted? Do you also lose the spell slot as though the spell were disrupted?


One, this is a really rare scenario to encounter. The only place I can think of it happening is if a reaction causes Stunned (which includes Can't Act as part of its effect). And the only thing I can think of that would do that is someone using Ready to use Flurry of Blows improved with Stunning Fist as a reaction.

Two, this is going to run into the same unanswered questions we have about orders of effect resolving when dealing with reactions that we have had on these forums repeatedly. It comes down to if the reaction that gave you the Can't Act effect happened before or after your action to to cast a spell.

I'm not sure that we need another discussion to fail to answer that same question.


>Readying Flurry as an example
a-are you trying to trigger me?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Baarogue wrote:

>Readying Flurry as an example

a-are you trying to trigger me?

Do you want to be triggered now, or after three forum pages of heated arguments?


Finoan wrote:
One, this is a really rare scenario to encounter. The only place I can think of it happening is if a reaction causes Stunned (which includes Can't Act as part of its effect). And the only thing I can think of that would do that is someone using Ready to use Flurry of Blows improved with Stunning Fist as a reaction.

Unconscious prevents you from acting, too. An archer could Ready a ranged Strike for when an undetected wizard reveals himself. As the Stealth breaking would happen before the casting finishes, so would the Readied Strike. Basically, any reaction that causes damage could result in this scenario.

I don't want to argue over whether the reaction actually resolves first. We've done that enough. I just want to know if the reaction resolving first would prevent the effects of the spell and/or squander the spell slot.


SuperParkourio wrote:
I don't want to argue over whether the reaction actually resolves first. We've done that enough. I just want to know if the reaction resolving first would prevent the effects of the spell and/or squander the spell slot.

This sounds like well-trod territory in which I'm not expert, but my naive reading of the Disrupting Actions rules on PC p415 would seem to indicate yes to both. Quote:

When an action is disrupted, you still use the actions or reactions you committed and you still expend any costs, but the action’s effects don’t occur. In the case of an activity, you usually lose all actions spent for the activity up through the end of that turn. For instance, if you began to Cast a Spell requiring 3 actions and the first action was disrupted, you lose all 3 actions that you committed to that activity.

So if your table takes the position that a reaction resolves before the Cast a Spell action resolves, and the reaction counts as a disrupting one, then the caster loses the spell slot, loses the full amount of actions that casting the spell would have required, and doesn't get the spell effect. Oof.

Moral of the story: target the sniper targeting your wizard. ;)


Easl wrote:
Moral of the story: target the sniper targeting your wizard. ;)

Ok, before the wizard has a chance to reveal himself, the druid summons a purple worm to eat the archer, then convinces the worm to flee underground and stay there. The end.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Farien wrote:
Baarogue wrote:

>Readying Flurry as an example

a-are you trying to trigger me?
Do you want to be triggered now, or after three forum pages of heated arguments?

*reeeeeeeeee*

lol yeah might as well get it over with now


Baarogue wrote:
Farien wrote:
Baarogue wrote:

>Readying Flurry as an example

a-are you trying to trigger me?
Do you want to be triggered now, or after three forum pages of heated arguments?
*reeeeeeeeee*

Aaand? That's all?

I disappoint.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Errenor wrote:
Baarogue wrote:
Farien wrote:
Baarogue wrote:

>Readying Flurry as an example

a-are you trying to trigger me?
Do you want to be triggered now, or after three forum pages of heated arguments?
*reeeeeeeeee*

Aaand? That's all?

I disappoint.

Yeah, sorry. Low effort rage today. Refer to my post history for previous rants on the topic I guess


Baarogue wrote:
Yeah, sorry. Low effort rage today. Refer to my post history for previous rants on the topic I guess

LOL. Same. It happens.

Dark Archive

I missed out on the previous kerfuffle on single action activities. For shame.

Also for shame, the remaster, to my reckoning, doesn't clear things up at all. "Activity" is still never properly defined.
"A category of action that typically takes more than a single action"
and
"usually take longer and require using multiple actions..."
and
"....typically involves using multiple actions to create an effect greater than you can produce with a single actiong or combining multiple single actions to produce an effect that's different from merely the sum of those actions. In some cases, usually when spellcsating, an activity can consist of only 1 action, 1 reaction, or even 1 free action"

But it never hard defines what an activity IS. Just what they typically are. So frustrating.

Sovereign Court

I don't think the distinction between "action" and "activity" is supposed to be all that significant. It's more that they have natural-English sounding ways to describe things, than that they meant to allow/block some things based on the distinction between action/activity.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Can't act mid-action All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.